3.5

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
44%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range
$40.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a month ago

The Milk foundation was a game changer for my blemish-prone skin. I’ve never found a foundation that lets my skin breathe until I tried this one. It is formulated without common cosmetic ingredients such as copolymers, carbomers, and silicones that have a “slicking” function on the skin but can trap bacteria, sebum, sweat, etc in pores and hair follicles leading to acne. Fantastic coverage w/ a light feel...never heavy or greasy. I can’t say enough about how lovely this product is...simply stellar.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

4 stars for packaging because I prefer pumps. It is a little pricey but Milk does sometimes offer sales and coupons that can cut down on the price. As others have said, it is very full coverage but must be worked with quickly. I haven’t had an issue with cakiness others have mentioned but I have oily skin at times when I’m not using retinoids, and when I’m dryer I make sure to apply oil free moisturizer and primer before this foundation. I love that it is gluten, paraben and cruelty free. I like supporting vegan companies and am willing to pay a bit more for them. I decided to try out Milk after KVD used her platform to promote anti vax as a vegan alternative. I think the formula is probably only extremely drying for dry skin types because I really don’t get that problem. If anything that I can complain about the product there’s some oil separation in the formula probably due to the plant ingredients and you need to make sure to mix it together with your foundation brush for the formula to work properly. It took me samples of like ten or so brands to find my new foundation after Maybelline Fit, my foundation for years, began to cause me to have perioral dermatitis. This product has not aggravated that either so I can recommend it for sensitive skin.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

https://youtu.be/825ikFa5_RI I don't hate this foundation, but I don't reach for it very often, and I think it's super overpriced. The packing is great! After applying the foundation, It did stick in my pores a little bit, and the coverage wasn't that great. It seems to sit on top of your skin instead of sinking in. It picks up texture and comes off throughout the day. I didn't feel super greasy, but it doesn't wear very matte, either. After 12 hours you do feel pretty slick and oily. Super meh for $50 and it tends to emphasise things that you'd expect your foundation would blend away like texture.

About reviewer (306 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this because I thought it was cruelty free, vegan and the packaging was easy to squeeze out the most product possible without waste. It also is important for me that it LASTS LONG and MATTIFIES super oily and dry skin. The smell was tolerable, coverage was full and it didn't oxidize on the skin. It didn't affect the amount of acne on my face although it felt super greasy and it may have clogged my pores. It felt like my t-zone had more blackheads and white heads as usual. However, it easily smudges and streaks, its hard to blend even with powder... i used primer, powders, setting powders, mattifying powders, setting sprays... its just not natural looking. if I touch my face, the product comes off almost completely. My face looks the most greasy, it looks HORRIBLE with the flash in photos. I got comments on how shiny and "sweaty" I looked a couple of times. I wore this to my wedding and I almost cried looking at the pictures because everyone was kissing me on the cheek and I wasn't touching up my makeup often enough, so I looked a mess!

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My dry skin hated this. It was cakey, didn't set properly, accentuated texture and just generally looked thick and bad. The color match seemed okay for me initially but it oxidized on my skin. I don't usually love matte foundations and I know with dry skin I'm probably not the target demographic for this, but I have tried other matte liquid foundations that were a much better fit. This, for me, was a fail - especially at that price point.

About reviewer (361 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I just don’t get this product. It laid on top of my skin in a really weird way, like mineral sunscreen that would never sink in. And it felt absolutely awful, like my poor pores were smothering to death. :(

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am really on the fence about this foundation, and experiencing a love/hate relationship with it! This is full coverage but doesn’t feel like it, it goes on quite thick and takes some time to blend, which must be done quick before it starts to set. I have only worn it a few times, but have noticed that even when set with powder and setting spray, it starts to wear off and break down after about 8 hours. The thickness of the product makes blending a challenge, I have learned to work one area of my face at a time and only squeeze out what I need for that area rather than leave product on the back of my hand for dabbing, or dab in spots all over my face and blend out, once it starts to dry and set it is really patchy and hard to blend. It also wants to settle in areas where I experience fine lines, so I have to really dab these areas to push the product in. Not sure the product is worth the effort it takes to apply and blend, especially since it isn’t as long lasting as I would prefer and hate when a foundation breaks down and my concealer stays intact and looks splotchy.

About reviewer (317 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm surprised there aren't a lot of reviews for this product. It's actually quite good, almost HG for me. For the record I have oily to combo skin with yellow undertones. I have some hyper pigmentation, acne scars, and redness in some areas. I was deciding for the longest time on getting a high end foundation. It was a toss-up on getting the Fenty or this. The Fenty foundation sample I got was good, and kept me matte without separating too much. However, it started to look pretty cakey as the hours went by. After watching a video review from one of my favorite makeup gurus, I decided to try the Milk Blur foundation. The shade I got is Medium Light, which is a good match for when I lose my summer tan. Be warned:The foundations are all kind of on the yellow side. The original price is $40, which is pretty darn pricey for a foundation with such cheap looking packaging. Luckily, I had a 20% off coupon so I wasn't too mad. Although it claims to be matte, the foundation is more demi-matte and that's fine for me because the dry winter is coming up. There's a slight citrus smell to it which is quite unique for a foundation, but it quickly goes away. Texture-wise it is slightly watery. The coverage can range from medium to full and has a skin-like finish. A little goes a long way, so build small layers at a time until you get the coverage you want. Now there was some trial and error when I first applied this foundation. If you don't properly exfoliate or moisturize your skin; this foundation WILL accentuate dry patches. I made the mistake of trying to over mattify my skin and it only made the texture look worse. Also PLEASE SHAKE THE BOTTLE BEFORE USING IT. The formula tends to separate, so it's important that you give it a good shake before you apply. Since this foundation is silicone-free and oil-free, I suggest you don't use a silicone/oil based primer otherwise it will start to separate. When I didn't use any primer, only moisturizer, it looked so much better than the first time I applied it. I tried using both a foundation brush and a damp beauty blender, and I find the beauty blender works the best to help fill in the pores. After baking with powder and using UD all nighter spray, it stayed in place for hours even as I went clubbing. I only had to blot once or twice. Pros: -Skin-like finish. Made me look air-brushed. -Decently long-wearing -Great coverage -Light weight, which is surprising for a full coverage foundation -Doesn't settle into lines -No oxidizing as far as I can tell -Great for multiple skin types -Good for winter, since it's not drying -Packaging, although cheap-looking, makes it easy to control the amount I want and is travel friendly Con: -Can accentuate dry patches if you don't prep your skin well -Not compatible with silicone/oil based primers, since this is a water-based foundation. And honestly I don't think a primer is necessary since this already has a bit of a blurring effect. Baking with powder and setting spray made it last just fine. -Not transfer-proof -Not matte like it claims. Skin will still get oily, but not horribly so. -Shade range could be better. The foundations run on the yellow side. Need more shades for really pale or really dark-skinned people. -Probably not good for summer -EXPENSIVE Overall 4/5. I would re-purchase again, since it's the best foundation I used so far. However, that price can be a bit of a turn-off.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This foundation is almost perfect. The coverage is beautiful. It covers imperfections but still looks like my skin. It is more demi-matte than matte which I prefer because my skin is more combination. This foundation last all day. I wore it for a wedding and slept in it (makeup sin!) and it was all still on in the morning when I woke up. I like the packaging because it's easy to control the amount that comes out. I took off a star for two reasons. 1.) Shade range. The lightest shade is still a tad too dark for me and the shades don't go very deep either. 2.) Separation. This foundation doesn't separate when on the skin but in the tube. You must shake first or it will come out very liquid and the ingredients won't be together. Overall I love this foundation!

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is the foundation that I've been looking for my entire life!!!! I've been using L'Oreal True Match for the last decade because all other foundations I've tried either had waaaaay too many silicones and broke me out, or weren't the right color, or looked white in photographs with flash... this one is perrrrrfect! I have oily skin that is usually acne prone. I love that this foundation is matte without being TOO matte (like 80s matte foundations). I put it on with a silicone makeup sponge because this stuff is expensive compared to what I'm used to and I don't want to lose precious product in makeup brushes or regular makeup sponges. It goes in almost greasy at first and then it takes a few minutes to "set" and dry but once it does it doesn't look chalky or powdery. It has a nice dewy matte finish (I know that's an oxymoron but it's true). I feel like I definitely need less concealer now because the coverage I get from this is so good. I got the Medium Tan and it's the perfect color for my skin right now. I highly recommend trying this if you hate heavy silicones in foundations and break out easily and want a nice finish that looks great in pictures!

About reviewer (252 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Tan, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us