3.7

Created with Sketch.
21 reviews
71%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I loved this when I first bought it and started using it. I thought it was exactly what I needed. Like many women in their 40’s, I started having a bit of excessive white peach fuzz on my face. So this was this answer. And it was working perfectly. I would use it once every two-three months. Then I began to notice really bad infectious looking acne in places I never had issues with break outs before. Also never had any serious infectious looking acne before. These were big, painful, very red and took a while to clear up. I couldn’t figure out what was going on. Early menopause symptoms?? Then I got a big staph boil on my face. NEVER HAD THIS BEFORE IN MY LIFE! I am healing from a third one now. The second one landed my in Hospital at Christmas. Using Finishing touch within a week of each of these. That’s the only thing that was different. Yes I clean it. Yes I replaced the head twice in less than a year and NEVER shared my Finishing Touch. Anyone else have any issues like this?

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Started out loving this product BUT will not buy again. On first use I was both amazed and in love with this little thing. Plucking always took so long and there was always that odd hair that I couldnt see while in my bathroom but outside in sunlight, they were very obvious. This thing took care of that and I felt more confident.. For the 1st two weeks. However, after two weeks, I started to notice an increase in spots under my chin and along my jaw line. These spots lasted forever and left horrible scars as the scabs got ripped away when i next used the product. It took about another month for me to suspect the cause and sure enough its now four weeks since I last used it and while the scars have remained, I havent had a single new spot appear. I will not return to this product and I cannot recommend.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Wow! I am one hairy gal (PCOS) and I am so glad I bought this trimmer/shaver. If you read my other reviews you'll see that I have been around the hirsute block a few times. I still use my Emjoi epilator for the beard and I still am a coward to let it rip out my lady 'stache. It just hurts too freakin' much on the upper lip! Anyway, I had the old Finishing Touch straight edge trimmer for years for my upper lip; it broke and I went with the Noxema beauty wand and that was discontinued and couldn't replace the blades; so here we are. I went weeks with a Cantinflas mustache (seriously, the edges grow out darker and thicker on me) while I tried to decide between using Nair again or the facial hair buffer. Well I couldn't find a buffer so I bought the Flawless shaver and hip, hip, hooray! I am so impressed by the little disc head. It truly is painless. It didnt take long to trust it. The warmth of the head made me a little nervous though. The insert does state that it will warm up and it is normal. The light is ok, only helpful if the lighting is bad. I would rather turn it off than have it glaring in my eye. I am happy to report no more Cantinflas bigote (bigote = mustache in español). My upper lip hasn't been this smooth in years. I ended up trying it on my beard and it was ok but those hairs might be too course and wiry. I got all the peach fuzz from the sides of my face. When I opened the hair collecting chamber, I chuckled because the hair in there reminded me of the beginning stages of cotton candy. I cleaned it out with the brush and had a nice little dust bunny to show for my new hair removal device. I almost took a pic of if to post on here but thought better of it. So the verdict is that if it works for me and my PCOS hair growth, I don't k ow why it wouldn't work for anyone else. No, it's not perfect. I too had to go over the same spot a couple of times. I dont like that it gets warm and I definitely don't like how loud it is. I mean, no discretion Is afforded here. The device looks discreet but once it is on, you will wake up the family and they will either wonder what the heck you are doing or they will know exactly what you are doing. My hubby has seen me at my hairiest and God bless him for loving me the way I am. But I still dont want him to catch me in my hair removal routine. No his and hers shaving sessions. It doesn't help that my sink and vanity are not enclosed in the restroom with the toilet and shower, so, you know I am trying to take care of my hairy business as quickly as possible while he is in the shower. My epilator sounds like a weedwacker and this device isn't much quite. But it is effective. Let's hope the replacement heads aren't expensive. But, as if now, I am so glad I have it. I can't stop caressing my upper lip! It's so nice and smooth. I worry about the hyperpigmentation another reviewer mentioned...I hope that doesn't happen! Yikes! But over all I am satisfied with this purchase.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Started out loving this as an alternate option to dermaplaning, because it's easy to use, neat with no messy clean up, simple to clean and the process is quick. All perks! But the one major deal breaker? Hyperpigmentation on my upper lip from using it there. Started to notice it after only a few uses as I only used it weekly. Took me several weeks to get it back to normal but it's been back in its package since then. Darn shame cuz I really liked it. Reminded me of the Zeno for acne that came out over a decade ago. It used infrared light to zap pimples but I couldn't use it due to the darkened areas it created on my face.

About reviewer (451 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

It's pretty but fails to be effective. I purchased this because I have a lot of small short hairs under my chin and plucking was quite time consuming. I wanted something quick and effective. I purchased this after someone on MUA said they used it for facial hair removal. I've never heard of this product before but was interested. Firstly, when I turn it on it's very loud. It sounds like a nose trimmer. You use it on your skin, in circular motions. It's very gentle, that's a plus, it will not cut you. However it does take a while to remove hair, going in circular motions I had go over the same area a couple of times. For a product that works so loud it has weak hair removing power. I tried it on the hairs under my chin..to test- also on my arm and under my nose. It seems to work like a razor. Under my chin it shaved the hair off but after I was done I still felt hair stubble like the shave wasn't close enough, and I like a completely smooth finish. Running my hand under my chin I still felt spiky hair. I understand this isn't an epilator but maybe it's too gentle to fully offer a close shave. I use a razor to shave my legs and after shaving I don't feel stubble. Cleaning is easy. You twist to open and with the provided brush you just remove the hair from the small compartment. Light I do not like, it's actually too bright/blinding and makes it harder to see some hairs ...you also cannot turn it off. I would not purchase this again or recommend it only if you have very fine hairs under your chin. I paid $30 for this product..still debating if I should return it.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This little gadget is a game-changer for me now that I'm in my late 40s (perimenopause + rogue hair growth everywhere). I've been getting dermaplaning done at the spa about once per month, but it's not enough to stay ahead of the peach fuzz. I need weekly upkeep. This shaver gets the job done, doesn't take that long per session, and doesn't nick or irritate my skin. I just changed the battery for the first time after about two months of weekly use, and it's as good as new. Haven't replaced the shaving head yet but will after the third month as recommended. Very happy!

About reviewer (393 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was shopping at CVS three weeks ago & passed by this...I thought about it as I was shopping & decided to get it...I am so pleased with it as it takes away my peach fuzz & facial hair...it is easy to do & the packaging looks good...I am so happy to have my finishing touch...

About reviewer (408 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I have way too much facial hair, from peach fuzz to wiry little hairs all over my chin and neck. I tweeze the wiry hairs as soon as they've grown enough for a tweezer to grab them, but there is way too much peach fuzz (finer, white hairs all the way from my ears down to my neck). I purchased the Finishing Touch Flawless at Bed, Bath & Beyond. It was $19.99 and I had a 20% off coupon. I think it works very well on my peach fuzz. I gently use it in a circular motion and it shaves it right off, very close to my skin. I don't get any irritation; it moves over my face very smoothly. I love the fact that the hair is contained in the razor head, and it's easy to pop off and clean. It's a little larger than a lipstick tube; it's very comfortable to hold. It's a great improvement over my old finishing touch razor which had a straight blade and was rougher on my skin while not giving a very close shave.

About reviewer (203 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I actually don't use this myself, but I've bought it for my husband. Somehow Ulta only carries it in white, but there ARE actually other colors - I've seen them at BedBath&Beyond. I like this, but not for myself. I only heave peach fuzz on my face, which this just doesn't work well on. It manages to shave off my peach fuss in some smaller patches, but mostly, it just skips it all - even above my lip, where the hairs are slightly thicker. I have sensitive skin, and because of the skipping issue, I had to go over the same area over-and-over, which actually caused me a little bit of irritation. For shaving my face, I prefer disposable Twinkle razors, which actually easily get rid of my peach fuzz with no irritation. However, I didn't buy this for myself; I bought this for my husband, who always has some rogue hairs that his face shaver absolutely refuses to grab, even if he goes over it 20 times. I bought this little shaver to use in those areas where these rogue hairs are... and it works fabulously! It lifts those hairs easily and cuts them off without tugging. It's a plus that the shaver is very easy to clean - just screw off the top part (the "ridgy" part), and you will find the hairs collected in a little compartment under it.

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I stumbled across this at Ulta and I figured I would give it try due to it's high reviews. If it didn't work out, I would be able to return it. I'm happy to report that it works, doesn't cause to break out, and does not change the texture of my skin overtime. I have been using it consecutively for the past four months. I will update if I have a change of heart or it stops working for me. I would repurchase.

About reviewer (887 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us