4.4

Created with Sketch.
133 reviews
80%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

Orb is a matte light pinky flesh colour very similar to the one in Naked Basics. I mainly use it all over rhe lid when in the mood for a classic cat eye and works perfectly for that. It's a bit less creamy than the UD though.

About reviewer (952 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a great, subtle highlight and/or lid color. For references, I’m between an NC35-NC41 and this plus a crease color is my everyday neutral shadow look. Beautiful with wedge or cork in the crease. My only slight complaint is the color payoff is a little underwhelming v other MAC shadows.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This shade is a great base colour for 'natural' look eye makeup. It isn't shimmery, but gives an even cream-coloured coverage on pale skins. I agree with some reviewers that it can be a little chalky, but it still blends in well. It can also be used as a brow highlighter when applied against other colours. For me this is a 'go to' everyday base shadow for office makeup and it’s the only MAC eyeshadow that I re-order when it starts to run low. A disadvantage is that for my complexion is that it's a bit too pale and sheer to wear on its own as a single colour, though this might not be the case on darker skin tones.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I really like Orb. I have a few MAC highlighters, but I find myself reaching for Orb quite often right now. Much more than Vanilla which surprised me. I got the pro pallet refill so the price was right at $8 CDN. I usually pair it with Soft Brown in the crease/transition and then use Print to deepen the crease and outer V. Then I blend. I place Telephone Number kohl on the top lash line, then Print over it and Soft Brown on lower lash line with a light hand. It's quite quick to do and it's such a nice subtle daytime look on me.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a peachy ivory hue that is useful for base and highlight. It subtly enhances blue eyes but looks nice against all skin tones and eye colors. I used up several pans of this over the years. It is one of MAC's Satins. It's been in the line since the nineties. They divide their shadows into different textures. Some of the Satins are overtly shimmery but Orb could easily be mistaken for a Matte as there is no frost or glitter to it. It's a basic shade that may not be as exciting as some of the brand's more wild colors, but this is one that gets used up. It blends easily and softens other shadows. I love the MAC single shadow packaging with the window in the flip top lid. It's easy to see which color you've picked up before you open the case. My only complaint is that MAC isn't cruelty free.

About reviewer (827 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

For reference, I'm pretty pale. This was not very pigmented or creamy. It was dry, applied sheerly so it really had to be built up, and the color just looked like I had put my face powder on my lids. I returned this (love MAC's return policy).

About reviewer (52 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I use it every day. Just brightens up the eye and makes me look fresher. Stays all day too.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This color has a great undertone that helps neutralize the red/purple that some people may have on their eyelids. Since eye primers tend to sting my sensitive skin, thus needing to be avoided, I rely on this color to help create a neutral color across my lids. Works like a charm :)

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This is one of my oldest M•A•C shadows, and I used to use it often as an all over color that made all my other colors more blendable. Unfortunately, I've since found that other similar shadows (like Makeup Geek Vanilla Bean) were creamier and faster to apply so I've left off this one for a while. It's still my go-to for a cooler neutral eye since Vanilla Bean is much warmer, but I have yet to perfect the application for Orb in such a way that I don't have to go over several times. Pros: * good for all over wash to increase blendability of other colors placed on top * great for a cool-toned neutral eye * long-lasting * fits well in many palettes (I purchased the standalone pan) Cons: * a bit dry * very sheer; color pay-off is not as great as other M•A•C shadows

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Use this or brule under my eyeshadow almost every day. This is peachier than brule for more warmer looks. Love it!

About reviewer (135 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us