3.8

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
78%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Nubia [metallic bright amber gold], Zakiya [matte pumpkin], Osun [chrome ivory pink], Kesi [matte latte], Zuba [metallic pink-with-gold-flash], Wana [matte tawny], Boronu [metallic honey bronze], Kogi [matte orange/red], Faso [shimmering ice blue], Aja [shimmering pine green], Vai [shimmering silver], Yemoja [shimmering gunmetal], Ife [matte indigo], Yara [shimmering mint green], Buzo [metallic emerald green] and Yejide [matte royal blue]. The colour story for the Magic palette is inspired by the African goddesses of the moon and sun , so there is a even spilt of 8 warm tones and 8 cool tones - a unique colour story and I've never seen anything similar anywhere else. Considering the very reasonable prices of the brand and the generously sized pans, I wasn't expecting really good formulas, but the formulas hear can stand next to the likes of Urban Decay and KvD without any issues; easy to apply and blend, with little fallout. The shades all wear the entire day, with no detectable fading. Yejide feels a bit drier in comparison to everything else in the palette, but it isn't difficult to work with - It just takes a little bit more time spent on applying it, building it up. Apart from that one niggle, I've got no complaints with any of the formulas. Another niggle is thinking about how helpful a lighter cool-toned matte shade would have been for increasing the versatility when viewing this as a one-and-done palette - but hey, there's no rule that says that every palette has to be a one-and-done deal. The quality is great, the colour story is unique and the price is very reasonable = if you want to explore colours that add interest to your looks, yet aren't too bright, then I highly recommend this palette, as the shadows are easy to work with and you have a nice mix of warm and cool shades to play with. It'll also make a fabulous gift for people you know, who like to experiment with their look. Unless you are a mua or you don't own many eyeshadows, I'd recommend waiting for Juvia's Place to have one of their frequent sales, so that you can pick up the 'mini' version of the Magic palette; the larger palette contain blusher-sized pans that are double the size of the 'mini' version of the palette which actually contains regular size pans - I had a quick look online, but couldn't see the amounts anywhere.

About reviewer (1451 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Coarse

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I just bought this palette and I'm enjoying it so much, I heard from the beauty gurus that this brand is so good and have a great pigmentation and they're right! The mattes are so smooth and blend out nicely, also de shimmers are super bright and super pigmented. The deep purple who's on the low left corner is not as deep as it seems but the color is beautiful.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Bought this for my 14 year old who really wanted it while we were in Ulta. It is mid priced and to me, mid quality. Not bad and not high end. Lots of colorful choices and decent pigmentation. The deep teal/blue is very pretty for a "cut crease" look. A few of these shades are too garish for me - but for a 14 year old? Perfect.

About reviewer (2440 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I hate saying palettes are good or bad for certain prices. I think palettes should be rated simply based on how they perform. That being said, I do expect a high rating for more expensive palettes and expect less of cheaper ones. I've been trying some indie brands lately and I've been really disappointed by some. But this is one that I have been very pleasantly surprised by. For the price, this palette performs far better than I expected and far better then many far more expensive palettes. I currently have three Juvia's Place palettes and the quality and performance is shockingly consistent between all the shades in all the palettes. This is the first brand that I have ever been excited and hoping for new palettes because I know I can trust they will be good. So for the Magic palette specifically, this is a huge palette. The shadows are the size of Sugarpill and old MUFE shadows, which personally I don't love and would prefer smaller pans but it is beautiful. The palette is magnetic and cardboard but has the kind of shiny finish you can wipe down easily. They are also brightly colored so they hide stains well. This is a colorful palette with a story. So many brands can only do neutral palettes or rainbow palettes. This is nice because it has lots of color but lots of variation in depth of color and finish. The formula for both the mattes and shimmers is dense and almost creamy/moist/clay like. Because of this you really have to work them in with dense brushes. The formula builds so a color may look sheer at first but you can easily build to full opacity with either a finger or a dense brush. However they are also a little smeary. For example, when I put o my eyeshadow and then black liner, sometimes shadow will transfer from my hooded lids to my eyeliner. It stays smeary so if you touch our eyelids you will get shadow on your fingers. And I’ve had some shadow on my nose somehow. But it still stays vibrant, doesn’t crease, and overall looks stunning. A lot of inexpensive formulas have trouble adhering to the lid and staying vibrant or adhering to itself so it can be built up or blended with other colors (hence they get muddy or disappear when blended). This formula does not have that problem. It easily builds on itself and the colors do not get muddy or blend away. With a primer (which I always use) they last all day and do not fade. You can have a little fall out if you go bonkers with the shades, but just tap off your brush and work in carefully and there is extremely little fall out. I'm really not differentiating between the formula for the mattes and shimmers because the perform shockingly similarly. I will say I didn’t find the shimmers chunky at all. And I didn’t find the mattes to be patchy, some needed working in and blending. As for shades: Nubia: this is a stunning yellow gold with glitter. The glitter makes it so sparkly and dimensional. Swatches do not do this one justice and I'm not a gold person. I was not excited for this color initially but it's one of my favorites in the pat Zakiya: matte fall red brown. nice basic. Osun: shimmery peach pink. It looks pink in the pan but it has some peach to it. It’s an amazing inner corner highlight. Kesi: haven't used it yet so I can't speak to it. Zuba: mid tone shimmery pink/gold. Like MAC expensive pink. Nana: great mid tone warm brown. Another good basic. Boroni: MAC amber lights dupe, very pretty Kogi: awesome red, more red and brighter than Zakiya. stunning with Nubia. Faso: think MUG backlight but more opaque. Gorgeous. I work it with Ife and Yejide mixed in the crease. Aja: blackish green with shimmer. Nice and deep but does look rather black. Not my most favorite because I have a difficult time making the green come out. Vai: gunmetal silver Yemoja: lighter silver with a hint of blue. Nice and bright. Really fun with Buzo Ife: deep purple. goes on sheer and light at first but you can build it up. I mix it with Yejide to make the perfect navy. Yara: medium teal green with a bit of gold. I did a halo eye with this and Yejide and spotlight highlight with Anastasia Helio from the Aurora palette and it was soooo pretty Buzo: Medium grass green. wore it in the outer V with the green in Douce palette on the lid. fun combo. Yejide: dark matte blue on the green side of blue but not green at all. I was most excited for both Ife and Yejide and initially I was disappointed in both because they applied sheer and light at first. But with a very dense brush I could build them up and they blended beautifully. I love and use them both now, often mixed because I love navy and this blue is on the teal end of the spectrum. But if you feel a shadow in this palette is sheer, but build it up. I have a friend who asked me what colorful palettes from Sephora I'd recommend. I thought about it a while and finally said none and pointed her to Juvia's Place. She ordered the Masquerade and the Magic so I'll see how she likes them. But personally I cannot wait to see what Juvia's Place comes up with next. I really hope for some colorful cool toned shadows. As for customer service, I know a lot of people have commented on that. I did have a kind of weird experience but it worked out fine. I ordered three palettes and they mixed up my order and sent me one palette I didn't order in place of one I did. I emailed them and they made me send a picture of the order slip (which is printed on the bottom of the box) and what I received. Then they made me send the wrong palette back before they would send me what I had actually ordered. It was kind of weird and felt like they don't trust their customers which rubs me the wrong way. But I got what I ordered and I love the product so I'll get over it. So if you are looking for fun eyeshadows that are different, I highly recommend looking and Juvia's Place and picking whatever palette tickles your fancy.

About reviewer (541 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a beautiful palette full of cool colours (for a change!!) that are buttery, frosty, and very easy to use. So far I have used 4 of the shades to add a shimmery accent on top of matte eyeshadow. I simply swipe the pan gently with my finger and pat on the centre of my lid, and the result is very pretty. The only negative aspect of the palette is its huge size. They probably could have made the pans slightly smaller and come up with a more reasonable/portable size.

About reviewer (66 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This palette pisses me off. Firstly, because I’m in Canada with shipping and because it was shipped by DHL - this was $65CAD all in. This wouldnt be so bad if the palette performed well. The mattes are patchy and the shimmers chunky. Not impressed. I so wanted to love this too.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

In an honest review of the Magic palette, it is simply magic. Personally, I find each color very pigmented, far better quality than a Morphe shadow and even perform as beautiful or better than a MAC or MUG eyeshadow. One thing I wanted to point out in a review posted by another, "palette made in China, with ingredients starting with Talc, Mica and Mineral Oil and parabens. Now, normally, I don't care, but I was a little pissed off that I spent $35 on makeup from China," those ingredients are indeed found in Chinese makeup, but even my Viseart palettes contain Talc as a first ingredient and they are by far the best eyeshadows on the market. Some people believe Talc is a concern, that is your personal risk, it is important to note, that Mica also is the pigment or reflective shadow that is used to create the stunningly beautiful sheen that the palette offers. Mineral Oil is another common ingredient. These are standard for almost every eyeshadow on the market, you cannot claim that this palette is "cheap Chinese makeup." I will admit that by the first glance, this eyeshadow palette isn't suitable for everyday wear. But, that is to be expected given that these are fun palettes, you are getting what you pay for. The box showed you the colors on the website and there are several reviews and swatches of the colors. They offer a Nubian One palette that is quite stunning as well and easier to create everyday wearable looks. I am by no means "attacking" this fellow reviewer, I just believe if you were reading honest product reviews you would like the truth as well. I have no quarrel with his/her inquiry about the eyeshadows, I would just recommend to read up on ingredients, and what they're used for, instead of falling into the category of mass hysteria like many unfortunately fall into. Going into more about the product, the price is right, these offer FAR more product in grams than most high-end makeup and I will allow this to compete at the high-end scale given the quality of these shadows. The packaging and artwork is beautiful but hard to travel with if you need to pop it into a suitcase. The palette will last, the eyeshadows last, the pigment is there, the price is right, overall, these shadows are truly the best I've ever spent $35 plus S&H on.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It's great...if you want to look like a clown. I don't know who would wear these colors to work or for every day. I live in SoCal, in a heavily populated, "Hollywood" area and I don't see any woman, wearing these colors. I think it's good for Instagram and then you'll need to wash it off immediately after if you want to walk out your front door. In addition, I noticed that the palette ingredients were completely different on the packing than what was on the website. Their website says "Mica, Talc, Magnesuim strearate, kaolin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, iron oxides, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Magnese violet, ultramarines,FD&C Red 40 Al Lake, FD&C Blue 1 Al lake, FD&C Red 40 Al lake, Yellow 5 Al lake. May contain : Mica and Titanium Dioxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide Net Weight : 57.6 G/ 2.03oz" What you get (and they take forever to ship -- I thought Colourpop was bad!) is a palette made in China, with ingredients starting with Talc, Mica and Mineral Oil and parabens. Now, normally, I don't care, but I was a little pissed off that I spent $35 on makeup from China, when I could have bought NYX makeup for a lot less. I then contacted the company for a refund and they refused to pay for return shipping. So why did I buy the palette? Because I thought I could make a lot of looks with it, but it's impossible if you have light skin to look anything other than a circus freak. I just re-read this review and it sounds like I'm a hater, but it's just honest. :-(

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Come check out my latest collab with the ever so Hot HauteMamasLive for the ever so hot brand Juvia's Place! It's just a hot time over here! (FitChickGlows) ???????? <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/1773GVHRfJ0"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/1773GVHRfJ0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesHazel