3.4

Created with Sketch.
96 reviews
53%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

EXCELLENT FOUNDATION! I have bought the 1.2P (pink tones) and 1.2N (neutral/warm), both in serum and full coverage and love, love them! I have so many foundations (expensive and cheap) but this is by far the best, foolproof and easy. For this review I’ll only mention the serum. Apply a pea sized amount with a damp beauty blender and bounce/ roll on skin for good results. Excellent pigmentation blends seamlessly to my skin tone, doesn’t show up pores or lines. It’s ME only even toned and flawless ‘tick’! Despite being very liquid in consistency (as predicted for a serum) it still provides a gorgeous, light and satisfying coverage. When I’m feeling lazy I’ll mix it on the back of my hand with Mecca sunscreen and an illuminating product and blend away. (The full coverage version is perfect for this). A very, very good foundation, only for the price point (which is, let’s face it, always a waste of money if the product is bad (no matter how cheap). It’s so good I’ve got 3 bottles of each formulation and the 2 tones and hope they don’t stop

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen



3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

It's not the best light coverage foundation out there but it's not bad either. I think it settled weird on my face but I haven't used it with a primer yet. The coverage is buildable but it didn't really give my face the healthy glow I was hoping for. It's nice for when you don't feel like bothering with makeup but I wouldn't rely on it on special occasions. It's really liquidy in texture so you don't have to use much.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Relaxed, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Shade: 1.0P The good things about this foundation: wide shade range, easy-to-use pump packaging, fragrance free. Now that's out of the way - this foundation is rubbish. It advertises itself as a light coverage "serum" but is really more of a med-full coverage traditional foundation. The formula is poor, with patchy/streaky application, foundation catching on any texture, and poor longevity - it separates into powder and liquid on the skin after a few hours. I usually do not have trouble with longevity, so this was surprising to me. Even for the price, it's not good. Try any other drugstore foundation. The shade 1.0P was slightly darker than my skin tone (NW10) and required a white mixer to correct.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I am currently on my third bottle, that is how much I love this. It is inexpensive yet feels and works like a high-end foundation. I have been sworn to wear only high-end foundation from the very first foundation I used but this is a game changer. I've used both serum and coverage but prefer the serum as I pretty lightweight makeup base. It does not oxidise for me and the shade is perfect. I use the 2.1Y and I am the following shades in other foundations. Illamsqua skin base shade 13, Nars shades Tahoe and Syracuse, MAC NC42, TooFaced Born This Way shade Sand.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

OMG I SO WANTED TO LIKE THIS PRODUCT but alas, it was just utterly DREADFUL. The product is a lightweight foundation that has light coverage but is buildable. The price is amazing, which is the only good thing about it if I am honest. It goes on very watery, which I guess is a given as it is really lightweight and it is quite nice to begin with however it doesnt really set, it kind of just sits on top of my skin. I set it with powder but it doesnt feel nice and lasts about an hour before my face looked like a I drenched it in grease. I tried priming my skin better but still didn't work. I also tried doing the trick where you put on setting powder before the foundation and still didn't work. It just wasn't good. I think it just doesnt set properly, which makes it mix with my natural oils more. I think if you had dry skin, this would be good and for the price it is a steal but if you have combo oily skin. A definitely no go!!!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

This is a nice, affordable foundation. It's a very thin, watery formula. It's light to medium coverage and you can layer it for more coverage without it getting cakey. I would call this foundation average. It's nice but not anything amazing. It looks decent on the skin. It doesn't blur my pores but it doesn't make them look bad either. It minimally sinks into my fine lines, no more than any other foundation. I think this would be best for normal skin. I'm dry/combo and it works for me.But it's not moisturizing even tho it's a serum foundation. Pros: Super affordable. Good shade range. Good light to medium coverage. Looks smooth on the skin. Wears a good 6-8 hours when set with powder. Cons: Packaging. I don't know if it as just I got a dud but the pump leaked badly. Nothing amazing about it. Just average on my skin. It's definitely worth a try. And I do think it's good especially considering the price.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

I absolutely love this foundation! I feel like I've been on the hunt for the perfect foundation for the past 25 years. I've never found one better than this! The coverage is really good. I have rosacea, so I have lots of redness that this product covers perfectly. The texture of it is amazing. It just glides on the skin like water. It doesn't cake or flake at all. It looks so natural, like real skin. The best part is it doesn't break me out AT ALL, which is amazing in itself. As for the shade, I usually wear the lightest in every brand. I'm a natural redhead and wear MAC nw15, Revlon buff, Bareminerals Fair, Covergirl Ivory. I purchased 1.1P and it's almost perfect. I would still like to try 1.1N, 1.0N and 1.0P, but 1.1P is really nice. Not too dark, not too pink, not too yellow. It's a good starting point if your coloring is similar to mine.

About reviewer (486 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I've been using this foundation for a while now and would recommend it, unless you have very oily skin. The Ordinary also have a Coverage Foundation which is meant to be great but I haven't tried, mostly because I've been trying to move towards a lighter coverage foundation (a hard habit to break when you're used to full coverage!), and away from heavy matte ones. I've tried shades 2.0N and 1.2N. Here's what I think are the pros and cons of this foundation: Pros: - The coverage is good for such a light foundation! As my skin has generally got clearer with age, I find I don't need such a heavy covering, however I only use one or two pumps of this and it still does have decent coverage. I apply it more so in areas where I do have some acne scarring and it does a good job. - They seem to have a good range of colours and it's easy to find the right one for you as they differentiate between yellow, pink, and neutral bases. Both of the shade I tried were neutral (N). - Like all of The Ordinary products, their foundation is incredibly cheap!! They are about £5.45 each. The Ordinary use high quality ingredients but strip back on things like jazzy packaging or fragrances in their products, so you're getting a premium item for much much less, which is great. - The bottle comes with a pump already fitted for easy and clean application. - The Ordinary is cruelty free which is hugely important. Cons: - Although I wanted to move away from heavy matte foundations, I think my skin may be a touch too oily for this to sit well for a long time. I do need to touch up and re-powder over T-zone, however I also think this foundation reacts to whatever you have on your skin underneath. E.g. I've found it lasts much longer if I don't put moisturiser on underneath, or am much more sparing with moisturiser and avoid the oily spots! - These do oxidise quite a lot in the bottle! I learnt my lesson on this with the first shade I bought - 2.0N which got dramatically darker in the bottle as the weeks went on, at least two or three shades darker. After I purchased a lighter shade - 1.2N (partly to mix with the darker, and partly for when I'm not wearing any fake tan), I decided to put it back in the box after each use. That seems to have really made a difference and it hasn't changed colour at all I don't think. So that's a tip if you do decide to try! Overall this is a nice, buildable coverage foundation that's not too heavy and for the very cheap price it's worth trying.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Other

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm basically happy enough with my skin to go bare faced a little powder and no foundation. I won't toss this in case I need a full flat face for something. The texture is just too matt for my taste, I'm not wanting glowing or greasy skin but this is not a daily wear for me. Even adding the oil and mixing colors I prefer my unmade up skin. And at 58 I'm ready to delete steps in the morning, but I still need to look good for work! This time of year trying a new foundation can be tricky. January dry skin. I'm trying a cocktail of The Ordinary products and so far no break outs will post reviews of other products. The Serum Foundation is working for me with a few tweaks. I bought the palest of the pale and think I should try 1.0N with next order but 1.0P is a close match for my tone. This is very watery, half a pump to back on hand is enough for full face, very pigmented, dries fast work quickly to spread. First attempt I put way to much on, looked dry and flat and I added Laura Mercier finishing powder big mistake for me. Second day tried without powder but still used too much. Today I added a drop of The Ordinary Rose Hip Oil (RHO) and applied with fingers, using a bit more only on pink spots one healing break out spot been around a while!), around nose and corners of eyes. Buffed out with flat large brush. With a better color match (and this really isn't off by much) I think this may be my new foundation. Love the price! Packaging: pump seems to get a bit messy, I do like that it locks which should work for travel I might add a strip of tape to keep in place.. I have been shaking bottle upside down very well prior to use. Finish: dried to a nice powder not quite my skin but better look, with the RHO my face is still a bit tacky an hour later, but I am trying not to touch my face, so that helps, my hair does not stick to my face! This didn't oxide or disappear on me, around my nose was slightly pink but that is probably more sniffy nose than make up issues! I'm not a reapply mid day, what get puts on in the am is it. I do a double cleanse when I use this oil remover first than LaRoche Posay cream cleanser after. I think the RHO a healthy addition and I'm surprised this RHO didn't break me out as a Sprouts brand did. None of my bottles arrived broken or leaking but I did order direct from Deciem not Amazon or other vendor. If you are on the fence and can afford I say try this and give it a few different attempts to find what works for you at this price point you really don't have much to lose. I get absolutely nothing for posting this review!

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really wanted to love this foundation but my face is rejecting this thing, it’s like my body telling me that this is not for me, I have some hive on my face after 2-3 hours wearing. it’s kinda cakey looking too, after watching lots of youtuber I thought it’s supposed to be lightweight foundation and I only used half pump for my whole face so it’s gonna last me forever. I still want to give this guy another chance so I might buy this again maybe in the coverage one.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Other

EyesBlack