3.2

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
48%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range
$39.50 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

For my oily/combination/dehydrated skin type this was fantastic when I used it during the summer - just enough hydration without the need for another moisturizer layered on top, however I don't find it moisturizing enough for the winter season so will put to one side for the next few months. It's a bubbly, pink colored lightweight gel which comes in a convenient pump dispenser so you can see exactly how much product is left, without having to dip into a jar like their previous Moisture Surge hydrator which I tried. It absorbs pretty fast into my skin, leaving a slightly tacky layer behind which is not that noticeable. This isn't at all oily, nor does it make my skin oilier in any way. There is a form of Vitamin C in here which is what probably imparts the slight glow I notice when using this. The rest of the ingredients are pretty good for the most part: sodium hyaluronate, aloe, Vit E, rice extract etc. Also some not so good: Benzophenone-4 and Chlorphenesin - both of which are thankfully far down on the ingredients list. Overall I feel the good outweighs the not-so-good, and along with the benefits I notice in my skins' hydration levels (although certainly not for 72 hours as Clinique would like us to believe!) I would re-purchase, albeit only for use in warmer weather when my skin isn't as dry. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a month ago

Girls, I dont know. I first got this as a sample and loved it. Then I decided to buy a big size but came here to check the ratings. Ratings were crap so I was like should I buy it, did it really work for me? I should mention that I only check reviews on makeupalley I trust nobody else. Anyways, I bought it and I ‘think’ it’s great but I just don’t know anymore if the product is really performing or not. I live in a humid country, this goes on very fresh (apply it after a water spritz), leaves my skin a bit tacky but kinda firmed, almost like a mask. Which for some weird reason with this product i dont mind. I feel like I like it better than any face cream but maybe I would feel the same about any other gel not just clinique. When i dont add the spf i dont feel like this dries my skin out and after that tacky feeling is gone i do feel moisturized. But again, I just dont know with all these face creams and gels anymore - what really does perform and what is just ok since it doesn’t break you out. I think that in the end all these companies have basically the same products with small, insignificant, variations.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrown

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a month ago

I've been using this product for a few months now, and used up about 2/3 of the bottle. The directions aren't clear on how it's supposed to be used, or what it's actual purpose is....but I use it in place of an essence or serum, under the Clinique Moisture Surge Intense cream. In the fall and winter months I find I need a little extra boost of hydration along with just my regular moisturizer, and this suits my needs perfectly. It's unscented, the pump top is handy dandy and convenient, the pretty pink bubbles are fun to look at, it's never irritated my skin in the slightest, and it creates a nice (slightly tacky) base for layering moisturizer over top. I suppose if you had very oily skin, you may be able to get away with using only this product...but for me and my dehydrated combo skin (dry and sensitive in winter) I would never attempt that. So if you have dry skin and you're looking for just one product to quench your skin...this ain't it. But if you're willing to shell out the extra bucks for an extra hydration boost BEFORE your moisturizer...this is a very good product for that

About reviewer (322 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a month ago

I got a mini size of Clinique Moisture Surge Hydrating Supercharged Concentrate in my Clinique advent calendar. I tried it yesterday and I got a strange reaction from it. My skin turned bright red and I could see bumps forming on my cheeks! It was scary, luckily the redness and bumpiness completely disappeared after a few hours. I'm not saying this is a bad product; I love Clinique Moisture Surge overnight mask and the 72 hour hydrator... but there's something in this particular product that doesn't work for my skin at all. If you have sensitive skin, please do a patch test first!

About reviewer (87 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

I have very dry and sensitive skin. I thought this was okay but not marvellous. I prefer the tub, which I use under a normal moisturiser. This one did not seem as effective! It does add some moisture, but it doesn't do enough. While I liked the idea of the packaging a lot - so much more hygienic - my tube is always getting blocked and I have to keep running hot water through the lid, which means it is no longer hygienic. Now it's clogged seemingly permanently and I have to take off the lid and try to bang out the rest of the product. So between performance and packaging problems, I'm not really a fan.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I've had used this as a moisturizer for about a year or so.The texture and hidratation are great,it soaks into your skin although sometimes it gets sticky. My skin has been showing some pimples and acne lately and more oil. I checked the inci in skincarisma and nothing seems hurmful. Maybe it is just my skin changed, so I'm no longer using it. My husband is also using it (dry, sensitive skin) and he still loves it because it is so light and refreshing.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Normally my skin is pretty combination - a bit more on the oily side, but the last couple of winters have made my skin much more dry this time of the year than ever before. I decided to try this and it's so nice! Now, for me it provides just enough extra hydration, but I really think if your skin leans dryer, this won't do a whole lot for you. The 72 hour hydration claim is a bit laughable - but so many companies pull those bs claims. One thing I especially love about this is that if I had to, I wouldn't feel completely awful running out of the house with just this on. This leaves little to ZERO shine - so obv I won't look like I have makeup on (eek!), but I don't look like a grease monster either. I have found so far it's about the only moisture product I could wear and just add some mascara and concealer and I won't look completely scary :P It's pretty scentless and I do feel like my skin looks a bit more glowy than usual. I love the gel consistency, it blends in very easily/dries fairly quickly but what remains is a slight tackiness that I personally don't mind. If I wear this during the day with makeup, I think it works so well as a primer for my foundation. I have known about Clinique for years and often overlook it because it's not super trendy or flashy, but most of their products are so nice and at a fair price point. I am going to try and remember to repurchase every winter.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It’s an okay product, not nearly as good as some reviews claim it to be. Recently my usually normal/combo skin got quite dry due to air conditioning at my workplace, so I had to invest in some heavy duty moisturizers. I like Clinique Moisture Surge range- a nice basic lineup for folks who need hydration. But hydration wise, this product is lackluster comparing to jar moisturizer. I was expecting that “supercharged concentrate” will be extra moisturizing, but it’s more suitable for people with combo/oily skin. I had to use another moisturizer on top of it. Pros: absorbs quickly, doesn’t leave greasy residue, packaging (I wish the classic moisturizer also came with a pump), it’s fragrance free, non irritating, suitable for sensitive skin. Cons: it’s not moisturizing enough, I ran out of it pretty quickly. Overall, not worth the price, not the best value. Next time I’ll go for the classic Moisture Surge.

About reviewer (237 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is was my first experience with a gel moisturizer, which at the time I thought was decent if unremarkable. Having since tried 3 other gel moisturizers I realize this one succeeds where others fail. This is a great summer moisturizer for combo-oily skin in that it is light, sinks in fast, and doesn't leave skin looking shiny like most gels do. It plays very well with all my serums and treatments, no pilling or streaking. It is NOT a heavy moisturizer and will not be enough for dry or thirsty skin (though it might be a good hydrating pre-moisturizer serum for those folks). In that sense the name is misleading, so I understand some of the negative reviews from folks who didn't get what they wanted. I would not have purchased it if the sales assistant hadn't told me it was the one to pick for lightweight oily skin hydration. She was right!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’ve been using this as a serum in the mornings under moisturizer and before sunscreen. It’s not super moisturizing on its own, but I find that it has helped my dehydrated skin normalize out (its undoing some damage I did to myself with a few of The Ordinary products that were not a good fit for my sensitive skin). I still think I prefer the moisture surge intense cream as I could use it on its own for better effect, but layered under a moisturizer this is pretty nice. It also does not irritate my skin at all.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.