2.9

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
13%
would repurchase
3.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I've been using OC8 as my mattifier for years, it's my only HG really, but I'm having increasing issues buying it so I've started looking for an alternative. I've tried Hylamide's "Pore Control" (works well but is not enough for my oily skin) and "Matte 12" (also good but very thick - I find it quite difficult to apply) but was hoping "Pore Delete" would be my new HG. It's got the right consistency (= very easy to spread) and works pretty well on bare skin but I simply CANNOT find anything with the slightest hint of colour (e.g. tinted moisturiser, light foundation etc.) that this would work with. If I have anything on my skin before applying "Pore Delete" I end up with terrible white smudges or the product underneath starts pilling. It's a real pity as this definitely has the potential to work so I'll keep trying it with various other cosmetics till I run out...

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairGrey, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am writing a review for Hylamide Pore Control. I can't seem to find any reviews or pages on Hylamide Pore Control on MUA so I'm just going to write it on here. I've been using this product for a month now and unfortunately I don't think its performing what it claims on me. I only use this at night because I don't think my face will survive if I use it during the day. I would wash my face, apply my toner first, dropped 1-2 drops of Hylamide Pore Control and then lather a good amount of moisturiser. My t-zone is super oily while my cheeks are sensitive, so I only apply the product on my T-zone and the cheek areas near my nose. For the first few minutes after application, I can feel a bit of a tingle and skin tightening. No biggie and I fall asleep. Once I wake up, I be drowning in oil especially in my t-zone areas where I apply. At first I thought I achieved the glass skin effect and then when I touch it, its drips of oil. In terms of pore size, my cheek pores shrunk abit but that happens every time I wake up. Throughout the day, my pores open up from the heat and light. For people who wants to minimize their blackheads, yea this isn't going to work. My nose pores/blackheads are just as big as usual. I'm not sure how the serum works but it feels like its trying to suck all my oils and my skin compensates that by excreting more oil. Overall I will keep using it until it runs out. I'm praying there be some miracle but I'm also skeptical at the dependency of these products. Because of the bizarre oil flood happening the morning after, I stopped using it for a day or two. As expected my pores will come back just as big as usual... Like I get it, you have to use it consistently for results but why isn't there a product that permanently eradicates your skin problems.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is Deciem's most miraculous finishing product. The finish it leaves the skin with is spellbinding, and is vastly superior to that offered by Hylamide's HA Blur or Matte 12, or any primer from The Ordinary's line. Keep in mind: This is a finisher, not a makeup primer or a skincare product. It's meant to go on top of everything you have on your face, including your makeup. As with all incredible products, though, there is a catch. The catch here is that Pore Delete has a tremendously steep learning curve, and if you want to make it work for you, you'll have to commit to it. You'll have to experiment several times before you can step out with this product on your face - otherwise, don't bother. There is an even bigger catch. You cannot mess with your face once you have this on. Don't scratch, don't rub, don't bother re-applying sunscreen or makeup or anything. Otherwise, the film that Pore Delete forms on your face will be disrupted, and will create weird white patches on your face. It doesn't 'ball up', per se - it'll just leave patches and will take off all the layers of stuff you have underneath. Once you have this on, that's it - consider your face put under lock and key until you cleanse at night. You can blot, obviously, and if you have a sunscreen mist, you can reapply that way, but do not partake in anything that involves rubbing on your skin. This is a high-maintenance 'urban' product. It takes effort to put it on, and it takes a conscious effort to avoid disrupting the product. This is why I'm giving the product 4 stars. The way it makes the skin look is way beyond 5 stars - 6 stars, even - but this is an extremely finicky product. There's no telling if it'll work with your preexisting skincare, your sunscreen, your foundation, the rest of your makeup - it may or may not work. It may or may not leave you looking patchy and white. It may or may not ball up. Once you do manage to figure it out, though, it will look perfectly translucent, even transparent, on your skin. If your sunscreen won't work with this, use a different sunscreen. If your foundation won't work with this, use a different foundation. If you aren't willing to give up what works for you, swap the Pore Delete for the other finishers in Hylamide's line - namely HA Blur and Matte 12. Those are far more forgiving, from a user perspective. Personally, I found that this did not work with Glossier's Perfecting Skin Tint in Dark (middle shade) *at all*. I don't use foundation, but rather a sheer skin tint from Glossier instead, and putting the Pore Delete on top oxidised the Skin Tint so much that it turned a terrible shade of orange. If this is how the product reacts with the sheerest of tints, imagine it on top of full-coverage foundation - it'd be a disaster. The odds of this not working with foundation are pretty high. The Pore Delete is a milky-white, runny liquid. It's packaged in a screw-top squeezy bottle with a pointy dispenser. I know people are complaining about the packaging, but this is about as good as it will get. A dropper would make a tremendous mess and expose the contents of the bottle to air, and a pump would dispense way too much product. The liquid has reflective prisms in it that aren't visible when it's in its viscous state. However, if you were to have a light shining directly in your face, and if you were to rub your skin with Pore Delete on, you'll see the prisms glittering and bouncing light off in all directions like disco balls. It's a pretty surreal sight. With the Pore Delete, you have to dispense a tiny drop on a single fingertip - one drop at a time - and then gently pat that drop onto a specific area of your face. Say, your right cheek. Then repeat the process for your left cheek. Then for your nose, then for your forehead, and so on. To make the process more seamless, dispense a nice amount on a non-absorbent flat surface - like a palm makeup palette like the one used by MUAs - and then use the product directly from the palette instead of going through the hassle of squeezing out multiple drops from the bottle during a single application. Your skin will be mattified, but in a way that preserves your glow. You know when mattifiers make you look corpse-like leaving you too matte? This doesn't do that. In addition to the matte effect, your skin will be blurred beyond your wildest dreams. No, your pores won't 'disappear', that is a completely unrealistic expectation to have and you need to adjust your expectations, but the blur this product provides will make them vanish by at least 70-80%, tops. Your skin will be like a smooth canvas. Pretty much like a baby's butt. Because of the complications involved with making this product work, I seriously considered returning it. It took me weeks to figure this thing out. It is now a staple part of my routine. EDIT: I'm sorry, but I'm going back to the Matte 12. This is just too fickle a product. It's honestly heartbreaking, because the finish is so good, but UGH.... I need something that can perform every day, with minimal effort, and this is just not it. Like, you really have to struggle to put this on. I don't wanna struggle with my face every morning. Life is enough of a struggle!!! The star component in this product is the Adipic Acid, which is composed of little white spheres that reflect and bounce light off like disco balls. Adipic Acid is just difficult to handle and there's a reason why it's not in many products. Until Adipic Acid technology is more advanced, I think I'll lay off these products :/

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is the first DECIEM product that I utterly hate. I bought it couple of days ago and tested it once, now I'm looking to give it away! I wanted a finisher product that I can use over or under my foundation for mattifying and this product is acting berserk: I applied it over my foundation and it actually ruined my make-up, creating patches and dissolving the foundation. The only way you can use this product is without make-up, but even in that case it has an upleasant, sticky texture. Would not recommend!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I did not find this to be effective at blurring my pores when I used it over bare skin. I thought it worked better over foundation. I put a drop in my palm and patted it over my nose and the areas next to my nose. It definitely mattified but the blurring effect was only marginally better than using my regular primer (currently Smashbox) under foundation. I am going to put it aside until summer when I actually need a mattifier.

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have used this product only a few times and I know I hate it. The packaging looks quite cute, however it is really impractical. The product itself is so so runny that it leaks out of the dropper so fast it goes everywhere and gets on everything! It got all over my clothes and stained my jumper bright white. I would suggest dropping it straight onto a makeup sponge to apply it. The instructions on the box said to apply this over liquid foundation before powdering if using with makeup. I applied a couple drops and it ruined my foundation I had just applied! It created strange patches of dryness that weren't there before, and completely got rid of my foundation in some patches. It also managed to oxidise my concealer and made some areas of my face look orange. I tried to fix it by applying more foundation, and the foundation would literally stick to one place and would not blend out no matter what I did. I have also tried it bare faced, which I will say is the only way I would use this product. It really does mattify and blur pores, and makes your skin feel soft to the touch (albeit as it is drying it feels almost like a thin glue on your face). But I don't usually go out and about without some concealer (which this product also ruins). I haven't tried it under foundation, but from other reviews it seems this product does the exact same thing that I experienced when applying it over foundation. I would not recommend this product to anyone who wants to wear this with makeup. It just ruins your makeup.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Wow! This really works and makes my face look airbrushed. It's a bizarre texture; like a runny, sticky serum. I apply on top of my foundation and a little goes a long way. Dab it gently so not to disturb your makeup, it's better to build it up. My skin is really rather oily and I've tried many powders and mattifying primers but this is the first that's actually worked! Even after 6+ hours I'm relatively shine free - it doesn't last the entire day but I've found I'm not as oily as I was before using (and take into consideration a 12 hour stressful day). It is a little pricey but give it a go if you have oily skin and have exhausted the primers on the market, you won't be disappointed. I will 100% continue to buy this.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I havent seen a review for this on MUA so Im starting one. I purchased all the mattifying finisher products from Deciem/Hylamide so I can test them all and find which works best for me. This item rolls in at $18 USD for 30 ml. Very runny, looks like runny glue in the bottle (so milky white). Not much of a smell, nothing you'd think twice about. Claims : Mattifies/Minimizes pores/Blurs. Immediate blurring of pores, shine, and texture (like frosted glass). Continued use: Reduces signs of inflammation and redness instantly and refines surface appearance. My skin: clear of pimples (sensitive, acne-prone/cystic/redness), melasma, scars. Shiny oily skin that makes pores stand out big time from daily use of topical benzoyl peroxide gel after washing face. Top with daily moisturizer. Was looking for a product to help calm the shiny residue I get from BP gel. Do wear light foundation/BB cream M-F. First trial: With just my bare skin (over my BP and moisturizer but no makeup), I noticed immediately that it does blur (like a primer?) and totally mattifies. Because it does blur, it will make your pores appear less noticable but I dont think it really shrinks/minimizes them. Makes skin a little tacky. I applied my plain sheer powder over and it looked great for a no-makeup skin day. It did not make my skin too dry or flake. Downside: mattifying effect only lasted 2 hours MAX on my bare skin. My forehead and nose looked shiny and wet like normal, which was disapointing but this does not claim to keep you matte for an extended amount of time. It only says "immediate" which it does. Upside: I blotted the excess oil off and noticed the blur effect was still strong. Once blotted it looked amazing still. I then reapplied a little more and it went on fine - so this is something you can reapply like powder. I did not notice any white patches/cast on my skin after application that I've seen mentioned in Amazon reviews. I think if that's happening, you are definitely applying too much on an area. A little goes a long way. You can always dab in layers, not lots at once. But no white cast etc.. on my skin. EDIT: Tried this over the Ordinary High-Adherence Silicone Primer (love!) dabbed on my oily areas BEFORE I applied my NYX Total Control foundation (very light foundation). Uh, NO. I noticed immediately that my foundation stuck and dried immediately wherever I blotted it on my skin to blend it out. I mean, it stuck. I almost thought I wouldn't be able to blend it out but since I wear such little foundation, it wasn't that bad, but definitely do NOT recommend applying this under foundation - unless you have extremely creamy, oily foundation. Directions say to blot this OVER foundation, but I saw other reviews mentioning using it UNDER - nope. Don't. It grabs your foundation like glue. Again, I think powder foundation may work great OVER this product once a bit dry. As for keeping me matte, it's not bad! Working a little better keeping me matte with foundation vs. used on my bare skin. Overall, this wouldn't be my go-to for keeping me matte when it comes to the Hylamide finisher products (want to try the Matte 12 next). I do think that if you don't have super oily skin, but want something to dab to control oil for a few hours and blur - then you'll like this (or it might last all day for you if you have dry skin). For oily skinned folks, I'd use this on days where I want to grab a bite to eat or groceries and want a quick fix to mattify, but since it only lasts about 2-3 hours (2 bare, 3 maybe with foundation) - it's not a great mattifier for work days for me where I'd like 8 hours. Great for a night out or weekends. Can be reapplied and powdered over throughout the day. For me, this is almost like a glorified oil blotting sheet. Does about the same thing. Just wish it was more longlasting in the mattify dept.

About reviewer (432 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue