MAC Cosmetics Next to Nothing Face Colour

MAC Cosmetics Next to Nothing Face Colour
Next to Nothing Face ColourNext to Nothing Face ColourNext to Nothing Face ColourNext to Nothing Face Colour

3.0

25 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 3/12/2019 10:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I actually love this product for its light weight and coverage BUT I am allergic to latex. I have been experiencing a reaction that I realized is dermatitis. When reading the ingredients there is NOT anything latex but an ingredient often found in deodorant. When I logged in to Mayo Clinic for triggers:
Personal care products, such as deodorants, body washes, hair dyes, cosmetics and nail polish.

Sadly I need to find a new liquid foundation.



on 12/10/2018 4:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I actually really like this product. I tried it at the store and I really loved it so I purchased the shade light. It matches perfect with my skin tone. About me NW20 or below, blonde hair, green eyes, very cool undertones for reference. On top of that I have enlarged pores my skin is combination and I do not have acne or any other skin issues. So for me this product is perfect because it evens out my skin and it seems to blur minor imperfections. I like this because I was looking for something with very minimal coverage. For me being combo I haven't had any problems with it my skin doesn't get super oily or anything.

To me this is the perfect no makeup,makeup product. This makes my skin look even and luminous. Since I do not have a lot of skin problems this works very well at giving my skin a flawless appearance. I could not see this working for anyone who wants true light coverage. This is lighter than a tinted moisturizer I think but it blurs and makes my skin look so pretty. So it has coverage but it's more an evening out while blurring minor imperfections. For me it makes my sin look perfect and I love with the colder months that this is moisturizing.

I like this product a lot and I haven't had any oxidation or breakouts. I think if you're looking for something just to even out your skin while making it look so pretty this is a great product to try. If you are looking to hide acne this will not work. If you want really pretty no makeup, makeup skin this is a great product to use.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/12/2018 7:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This amounts to a silicone-based primer with a transparent wash of color in it. You can expect from it the same effects that a primer delivers. My skin felt smothered, making this intolerable for me to wear. I am not a fan of primers. It's far better to get a good serum to perform the same function as a primer with the benefits a serum offers. The product also balled up during application. I tried it with only moisturizer underneath and on top of bare skin, and it made no difference. There are far more comfortable finishes out there. This just didn't do it for me.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was so excited for this product as it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for; something sheer, dewy and easy that just evened out my skintone a tad. Sadly the product seemed to weirdly oxidize on me and turned quite orange which I could somewhat stand since it's sheer, but what sadly ruined the product for me was the piling on the skin. I could wait 30-60 min for my skincare to really sink in and it would still find a way to pile like crazy.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A truly terrible product that piles like there is no tomorrow.
Good only for the dustbin.......

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recived a generous sample of this. The MAC artist decided to try Medium/ or Medium Plus on me. For reference I am NC41 in studio fix powder, and in the summer NC42 (end of summer) I am a Medium Deep Golden Shade.
Other colors I wear : Bobbi Brown stick foundation between shade 4.0 and 4.2 and on my forehead 4.5-4.75 My forehead is naturally darker then the rest of my face. I also wear Cover Fx in shade golden 40+
So today I tried the Medium and the shade is seems quite natural. I feel like this is almost the Glossier version for Women of color. I have glossier skin tint in Medium and it reminds me of that perhaps with a little more pigment. I find that this is great for a casual look or a very natural daytime look. I think (and I have dry skin) that it needs to be set w/ a powder because of the slip it has.
One option you might consider instead of purchasing this is using the MAC face and body foundation (a very watery natural foundation) and mix it with a bit of luminance. For example I often mix my foundations with the soap and body blurring luminzer or the benefit pink liquid luminzer. not a lot - just a small drop or two.I could see myself using this as a primer or mixing it in with a foundation or using it in combination with my BB stick foundation.
So far it looks very nice. I think if you have sigifanct discoloration or very deep under eye circles you will need to spot correct those issues. I also have sensetive skin that is easily irrated. So I find applying this with my fingers and then just blending it in and setting it with a mildly damp beauty blender prevents some of the piling people complained about while blending it in. If you have very oily skin you will definitely need a strong primer and setting powder to make this work and probably touch up with powder through out/or maybe just forgo this one because I don't think its geared toward those skin types. But I have pretty dry skin that is also mildly senstive (just a little bit shiny in the t-zone)
I feel like this would be absorbed by a beauty blender similar to the way glossier skin tint could be. Over all it just creates a luminous soft coverage. I think that would be good for a natural pulled togather day look if you are having fatigued skin (for me working till 1 am and then returning 730 am at the hospital but still having to try and look pulled togather and polished but exhausted as heck) I will purchase but I will need to get color matched for the powder.


on 4/7/2018 3:32:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I actually have a bit of a heavy heart writing this review... I am an avid fan of Mac and love both their face and body foundation and their studio waterweight, where the first is still the markets most versatile foundation and the latter a perfect your skin but better foundation. As I am always however on the hunt for that perfect foundation/tinted moisturiser that you can just slap on that will not look like makeup but will still make your skin look it’s absolute best - I was so excited for the next to nothing launch and hurried to the Mac counter to by my bottle of goodness. Or at least so I thought... It’s been about a year now since this launched, and I have made countless attempts to make this thing work, at all... Because as you probably have read here or seen elsewhere this product pills like crazy on the skin. It balls up on anything you put underneith and even on just plain skin moisture if you are oily. And apart from it looking gross when you have to remove skin coloured peels from your skin it also renders the product to set very unevenly.

I have tried this product on myself and on other people with different skintypes compared to mine, (I am dry, mature, slightly textured skin aka enlarged pores due to age). And I can confirm that this product behaves exactly the same regardless of skintype. I am therefore quite a bit surprised whenever I read a positive review of this product, since I find it hard to beleive this will not pill on everybody. Because it does! However some of us may be less bothered by pilling even if I find also that a bit hard to believe... The pilling is worse however if you use more powerful moisturisers underneith that are either water- or oil based. If you can use it on bare skin or on top of a silicone heavy moisturiser like Hydration vaccine from Niod as a ref.
then it still pills but not as aggressively. Also you cannot build this one up or try to fill in gaps where it has pilled. (This is in accordance with the company description of this product). The end result will however always look a bit uneven if examined closely. From afar since this virtually gives no coverage the unevenness might not show up as much, but that is not due to any blurring properties of the product but more due to it not showing anything but a slight red based sheen. (The light plus shade).

Looking at the ingredients, this is a compound consisting of several different heavy silicones of the dimethecone type, polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol (today questioned ingredients due to their inability to break down in nature but very commonly used mainly in plastics). The perhaps most interesting ingredient in this is aluminium starch (An ingredient I have never seen in makeup before but more frequently found in deodorants to make you prevent sweating). Water is not the first ingredient in this.
As much as I still really love love love the idea of creating a foundation that looks invisible on the skin and makes your skin look just a tad bit better than if wearing nothing. I think Mac should have let this product go back to the drawing board once they realised the pilling problem was so severe, (because of course they know!) I have heard numerous equally comic tips from Mac reps on the counters and also in their pr clips on YouTube about all kinds of precautions needed to make this work the way it should... Now none of them work by the way, since this product behaves the same regardless and the pilling will always be there. Because it is there due to the mixture of ingredients. Of course I know time is money and creating new formulas for foundations cost a lot of time and effort and money. But it is so sad when something that could have been so good turnes out so bad... I think (of course not knowing) that the biggest problem in this compound is the mixture between silicones pegs/ppgs and aluminium starch that imo must create a product that wants to set and also build some kind of a film that does not allow moisture to come out. I don’t know but perhaps the reaction would be similar if one would try to prime a face with a deodorant and then put on a silicone based foundation..? Apart from irritating the h-ll out of the skin, I assume pilling would be there...;) Anyhow the pilling begins when the product begins to change consistency and start to set.

Now if you have this and feel like me that it is pretty much unusable and live in a country where returning stuff is not that easy, then here is the only ways I have made this work:
1: As a primer underneith a foundation to give it a bit more glow. Under a foundation it’s unevenness doesn’t show up as badly and it does then also give a little extra glow to your foundation. It does alter the shade of the foundation you put in top a little, which might be important to consider. Light plus gives a bit of a pink/red glow through my foundation. If you need anything underneith the next to nothing when used as a primer I suggest trying a very silicone based moisturiser, since oils or water based moisturisers tend to make the pilling worse. Or at least wait a sufficient amount of time before adding the next to nothing allowing for the moisturiser to set properly. Using it this way will make your foundation to look a bit more radiant and perhaps ever so slightly more blurred.
2: It does allow itself to be mixed with a foundation before application rendering pretty much the same effect as using it as a primer. This method gives a bit higher tolerance to whatever you use on your skin underneith. The result is the same as above. But this is the method that renders the least risk for severe pilling. It seems the mixing breaks up what I describe as the film forming when setting and allows for application that does not set in the same way...

Now some of you may think you could get the same result from using something like strobe cream underneith your favourite foundation-and to that I can only say who am I to argue

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 12/7/2017 12:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

A tinted moisturizer sort of like Neutrogena's Hydroboost but lighter in weight and better colors. I bought light plus for my NC 20 skin tone and it was perfect. It just gives skin a slightly better look. It does pill a little on my chin and tends to fade by the 5 hour mark but since it's so sheer who can tell? It is definitely like wearing nothing so if that's your thing this is for you. I like the FEEL of nothing but need a little bit more coverage so I want that unicorn of foundations.

IT CC cream, EL Doublewear light, Chanel perfection lumiere, and Clinique CC cream are still my favorites.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 11/25/2017 10:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this sheer tinted moisturizer. This is the type of product that you will love or not care for . I have applied this on one side of my face with two coats and could not tell I had makeup on but the side with the Next to Nothing looked better and smoother. This reminds me of the Becca Luminous Skin colour a sheer foundation/tinted moisturizer that was discontinued about 4 years ago. I find Next to Nothing looks much better than the Becca product. This comes in 9 shades and I have shade light and light plus. Light is very pale with a slightly pinky peach tone and light plus is more of a light neutral beige.

I'm very pale around a NW 18 not quite NW 20 and NW 15 is a little to light for me. I bought light plus and loved the colour but it was a tad dark and went back and bought the light to mix the two shades together. Mixed this has to be one of the nicest shades I have ever tried. The light is just a little too light on it's own but mixed and used as a highlight makes my skin look radiant.

I have dry skin and use l'Oreal face oil with SPF first and then apply this. I usually do one coat with a brush and apply a second coat in a tapping motion so as to not move the product. You can still see redness but to cover that I apply a small amount of Kevyn Aucoin sensual skin enhancer around my nose and any redness. I also apply Maybelline Fit Me concealer under my eyes on top of Next to Nothing in light. The Fit Me blends in beautifully under my eyes. This is a makeup look I like for Saturday morning going for coffee and I want a very healthy natural skin complexion. On my skin Next to Nothing looks like fresh healthy glowing skin I had as a teenager. This does not settle into fine lines. This reminds me of the skin Kate Moss had from the early 90's in the Calvin Klein ads by photographer Mario Testino.

My everyday foundation is Lancome Teint Miracle in shade 2 Ivory C. it is the lightest shade with a cool tone but second lightest in the range. I also use Dior Air Flash on the weekends at night in shade 100. The Dior is a little dark for day use.

I really love this as a very natural skin complexion enhancer. Also if you like Mac Face and Body and need more coverage stay with F&B it gives more coverage. I like Face and Body on other people but it never looked that great on my skin. I had C1 and N1 but they were too dark and I had to mix it with the pure white shade. It never looked right. I think if you don't have to mix the white in it looks nice but the white changes the formula on me and makes it look dull. I also noticed this leaves my skin really soft after removing with my cleanser.

I hope MAC keeps this as a permanent addition.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I normally don't like the artificial look of foundations............
I am always in search for very light dewy moisturizing look rather than any sort of coverage.............
This product would have been Excellent if it wasn't for that horrible peeling off that occurs after u apply it.............
Yes you read that right , all of the sudden it peels and my face is covered with what looks like the peels of an Eraser (Rubber)!!!

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top