4.1

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I received this in the Fair shade in one of my Birchbox boxes (the subscription itself was a gift). Turns out I really like it and have repurchased it twice already. It provides light/medium coverage and is an excellent match for my fair, warm-toned skin. It doesn't settle into my pores, and sets to a natural, soft-focus finish on my skin. I use it over my regular sunscreen (Elta MD UV Clear) because I don't use this product all over my entire face. After the Elta MD sets, I stipple this on over my T-zone and my cheeks. It covers up my rosacea pretty well without looking too artificial or foundation-y. (I can't stand skin that doesn't look like skin.) It doesn't oxidize to a different color over time. It is very gentle and has never broken me out or irritated; I use C serum in the morning and Retin-A at night, so everything else I use has to be very gentle and calming. No scent or smell that I can detect. The Sunscreen Simulator says this provides decent protection on its own. I don't know that I've ever relied on just this for sun protection since, like I said, I don't wear it all over my face. But my rosacea is very sensitive to sun and will flare up immediately if I'm outside on a sunny day; this sunscreen blocks all that and helps me avoid those flare-ups. All in all, this is a nice substitute for foundation for somebody who really doesn't like foundation. I don't have the time to fondle and coax foundation on in the mornings so I like that I can just basically slap this on and it looks pretty good, does no harm, and provides some sun shield benefit. It is very pricey IMO--I paid $22 per tube--but a little does go a long way, so it's a decent value.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Not bad at all, considering I got this for next to nothing as part of a marked-down Christmas gift set. This gives nice, consistent but light coverage that lasts well all day . (Would that I could say that about the infernal highway robbery that is my $70 Vapour Organic Atmosphere Foundation Stick.) Anyhow, the City Tinted Cream is perfect for the winter; I switch it up to Marcelle's Golden Glow BB cream in the summer. Lippie docked for two reasons: a) I like a slightly dewier finish to my skin products and b) the product does tend to separate (i.e. you need to give it a good shake). I'm a NC 20-25 and use light medium. A decent little product--and Canadian, to boot! EDIT: I'm getting So. Many. Compliments. This is a staple! I may never wear foundation ever again!

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm a little undecided about whether or not I'd purchase again. I know it's a moisturizer so it can be used on its own after face wash and toner, etc., but I don't feel like it spreads well on my skin and gives full coverage. I use it as a foundation, over my moisturizer. I love that it has SPF and if I use it this way, it gives me much better coverage. My full review is on YouTube here: <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/X8_VCRN69xo"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/X8_VCRN69xo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this in a gift set that included with the City Concealer, Translucent Loose Powder and Ultimate Fringe Effect Mascara in addition to the Tinted Cream (all in a large makeup bag that is the perfect size for holding skin care, makeup and other toiletries in your luggage) that was on sale 50% off so it was less than $18 CDN. Talk about a total score! The cream usually costs $20 CDN on it’s own so this was an amazing value. There is a decent amount of coverage, although less less than Marcelle’s BB cream, it is good if you are looking to just even out skin tone and have a natural finish to your skin. It’s the kind of base I like for casual days where minimal makeup is required but provides enough to the skin that you won’t be mortified if you are running an errand and having to show your face in public. It also provides extra moisture to those of us with dry skin and doesn’t really set down like a typical BB/CC cream or foundation would. As per the picture, it comes in a squeezy tube but there is no pump, just a tiny but pointy nozzle end which allows you to squeeze out as much or as little as you like. I don’t know that I would purchase this full price but for the deal I got I would say it’s worth it.

About reviewer (950 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was worried that Marcelle's Tinted Cream would clog my pores and cause a break out. I am not a fan of putting lotion-type products on my face. However, my fears were for naught, as the product was very gentle. I used POREfessional as a primer then Marcelle's Tinted Cream. It was acceptable. My only complaint with the product is that the coverage is minimal. However, I will continue to use the product until it is gone, because I'm cheap like that. :-)

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I picked this up on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart in the colour Light to Medium. I love Marcelle - love that they're a small CANADIAN company with some pretty good products that are affordable but just as good as some of their pricier competitors. But, I'm a little bit on the fence with this product and a bit confused by it as well. I've loved Marcelle's CC cream since it launched. It has a higher level of sun protection and better coverage than this so I'm wondering why I should even be bothering with it. I can't imagine using it as a base (since 90% of the time, what I'd be putting on top - IT or Marcelle CC cream) contains sunscreen and offers better but still natural looking coverage. I'm not wild about the packaging - no pump (unlike their BB and CC Creams) and I don't really know just how much is the &quot;right amount&quot; to use. I also don't like that you can't see how much product is left in the tube (which seems quite small - I had to double check to see that it is actually a full ounce). I also need to store this in the box with the lid UP, otherwise way too much product leaks out when I open the lid. Having got all those negatives out of the way, this isn't a bad product at all - basically a nice tinted moisturizer, with SPF - very much like Laura Mercier's but at a fraction of the price.

About reviewer (1490 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I was on the fence with this tinted cream because I thought why would I spend money on a tinted moisturizer when I can get a foundation with a better coverage boy was I ever wrong! 1. Coverage - This has a beautiful light to light-medium coverage. It is also quite radiant and makes you look like you had a very good skin day. 2. Finish - A very flattering natural finish. It is not overly dewy and not matte at all. Perfect for the not so very cold days. 3. Primer - This is where the product shines through. I am someone who suffers from old pitted acne scars and trust me when I tell you that this product glided onto my pores and fine lines. Something about the formula that makes me want to return my MAC Lightful C Tinted Cream. It is so beautiful on the skin and it did not impact the way I applied my foundation on top of it. I used my EX1 foundation in shade 2 4. Shade: I am between NC 20-25 and the shade light medium matches me perfectly. Overall, this is an excellent product from Marcelle. I suggest you get this now while they have the $5.00 off coupon floating around the internet. You can get this at Walmart, Shoppers and Rexall. This is a must have and will def repurchase!

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am always looking for an all-in-one product to sport during the weekdays as I need to be out the door by 6:15 am, so I don't have time to put on layers of moisturizer, spf, primer, foundation. This goes on right after my lotion, and it does all three, so I just lightly set with a foundation powder before proceeding to the rest of my makeup. Now this actually doesn't have very much coverage at all so the Light Medium shade works for my NC 30-35 complexion, but it does even my skin tone and pores and feels like another moisturizer going on. I apply and blend into my skin with fingers, not streaky at all. I am always weary of TM cuz my acne prone skin is fickle af but I haven't broken out from this. This does last through a work day for me without a primer or setting spray but setting it would be wise. One star off for ONLY offering UVB protection, come summer I will layer a stronger SPF but its okay for the dark morning commutes to an office setting. I cannot attest to the pollution protection claim either as I have only had this for a week, but I also live in a smaller city in Canada. PRO: Easy to blend, not heavy, light coverage CON: Only UVB protection Currently there is a coupon for $5.00 off this on the Marcelle website, regular price is $20 CAD.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown