3.2

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
50%
would repurchase
3.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I’m surprised by some of these negative reviews! I have been using this foundation for over 2 years now and I love it. I get tons of people complimenting my skin and asking what foundation I wear. I have a bit of an issue with it wearing off around my nose at the end of the day, but I walk a lot outdoors doing a regular day so obviously this will happen. Will keep repurchasing this until I find something better at the same price point.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

The foundation sets quickly so you'd need to work one area at a time and blend using a sponge. It lasts the whole day though, in a tropical country where I am in, the oil on my face seeps through at 4-hour mark but can be fixed by blotting. The packaging is nice since it has a pump but the glass bottle is quite heavy for traveling.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

The first few times I tried this foundation (a month ago) it was great. I chose 091 light ivory and loved the color match - I wear L'oreal C1 for reference, and this was a better match for my winter skin tone - a nice fair pinkish foundation. It felt a little heavy at first and smells of SPF but as soon as I applied it it set quickly and I didn't feel it on my face. I had to work fast since it sets quickly and feels like a gel texture once it dries but it seemed to blend nicely and not cling to any texture at the time. It also wore very well throughout the day. But today I used it for the 4th time and it could not have looked worse. It was the usual liquid consistency in the tube but as soon as I got it onto my face it dried INSTANTLY (like I mentioned it did dry fast before but I had some time to blend it) and so sticky and heavy on me - I felt like I just dumped elmer's glue on my face. The formula did not budge when I tried to blend it and the foundation made every tiny pore on my nose by my eyebrows extremely emphasized and made my normal/oily skin look dry. I am not sure how this happened as the foundation still has a couple months before it expires and I always kept the tube closed (and it's perfectly runny in the tube). I will switch back to L'oreal Super Blendable because it feels thicker in consistency but blends effortless to cover my skin. Will definitely NOT repurchase this.

About reviewer (170 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Sales assistant suggested me to try another foundation and said this one is not a good choice for people with very dry skin but I insisted on getting a sample.well,she was absolutely right.this foundation is a no,no for dry skin,it clings to dry patches and after a while looks very dry and powdery.it's a pity because shade 103 (I think it's name was True Ivory) was a great match for my light skin(NC15-20) and I liked it's texture,not creamy and thick but not too liquid either (they say it has some sort of serum in it),it's really long lasting(of course not 25H !) and has a nice,semi matte finish (which also has a touch of radiance) with moderate coverage on the right skin.my sister has normal,slightly oily skin and she loved her.I'd better go with the one with blue cap which is better for my dry skin I like that it comes in a glass bottle with a pump and that's it's budget friendly(it's 7$ here)

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

am i in the minority here? i did not like this at all. It is nothing like ELDW whatsoever. this is light medium coverage on me, not full. I can layer it, but the thing with this foundation is, it does dry to a long lasting finish (wich feels very heavy on the face yuck!) , but i never actually sets. It remains really sticky, but in a dry kinda way if you catch my drift!! Not good. Colour kinda washed me out also.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I feel it heavy on my face. It gives me a cakey result. I think it is overhyped among the youtubers. Other drugstore foundies are way better. I will not buy it again. EDIT. With the damp sponge gives a way better result.

About reviewer (91 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

On me this foundation didn't last as long as the claims on the bottle said. I do have severe oily skin so I never blame the products. I just feel like my skin beats them all. It wears nicely everywhere except my t-zone. I still have to blot and powder during the day. I got the shade 'Soft Beige' which is a perfect match for me and it doesn't oxidize. It stays the same color as when I first applied. Not my favorite foundation but it was worth trying. It's an ok daytime foundation. I won't buy again though.

About reviewer (182 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Tan, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

OMG how is it that I had not tried this foundation. It is amazing...comparable to ELDW but at a drugstore price. It has great coverage and a beautiful finish. My oils come through after 8 hours but it still looks good. I'm shook lol. I swear I heard someone say it was being discontinued??? I've bought backups just in case.

About reviewer (77 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

(main reviews for this product are here: https://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=135449) I'm rewriting my review for this because it's become my HG foundation. I've been using it daily since 9/18/2017. I've tried tons of middle end to drugstore foundations and this has been the best foundation for my skin. It melts into my skin and looks like skin, which I haven't seen a foundation do for me EVER. I've tried Maybelline's Fit me, Cover Girl's BB creams and foundations, Revlon's Colorstay (no matter how hard I washed, it wouldn't come off and I can't use cold creams - break me out). Tried Tarte TM and foundation, Wet n Wild (is my HG summer foundation) -- this stuff is TOP for me. It makes my skin poreless. I mix this foundation with Rimmel's Match Perfection foundation (blue cap) because Match Perfection is a little more moisturizing (for winter) and it helps get me to the shade I need. I literally only use a couple of small dabs of each foundation on my face and blend them out with a damp sponge and it melts into my skin. I get a nice thin coverage (I don't use much) that brightens my complexion and doesn't get flaky etc.. This is a thick foundation, so I think it's awesome for a winter foundation. In the summer - I still use some of this, but instead of mixing with Match Perfection, I mix it with my HG summer foundation by WnW that is a drier formula for the humid summer months. Absolutely LOVE THIS stuff. I do have oily skin and get oily no matter WHAT foundation/primer I use, so I still blot twice during my work day, but nothing excessive. Works well with my under eye concealer (Maybelline Fit me) and I set it with any powder I have in my drawer with a powder poof, and then press the powder into my skin with my damp sponge. I get a poreless, flawless look. Only negative - get a pump or a squeeze tube, guys. The glass bottle is a pain. I have sensitive skin and no breakouts either! Other HUGE plus - washes off GREAT (unlike Colorstay)!

About reviewer (434 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this foundation as I have seen Lisa Eldridge using it in a few makeovers on her blog. I generally buy and use high-end foundations, I am an exigent customer, have combo skin with a nasty t-zone, therefore I need a long lasting foundation. I was a bit surprised to see it using by Lisa, but I said, if this is good enough for Lisa, it must be allright for me as well! Well, Lisa was right: This is a very good long-lasting foundation, well not the 25 hours the claim, but it is allright for lasting the whole 12hrs when your're out all day. I bought shade 200 (i'm a NC 15-20 in winter) and it's OK, but not perfect ... the shade selection could be better (200 is a beige, neutral shade, I wish it was more yellowish!). I like the coverage (=full) , and is it easy to apply and spread. The finish is not 100% matte - has a serum added therefore it is not superdrying, but believe me, it works. What refrains me from giving a full 5 stars is the packaging. I find it quite ugly with that cheap plastic red cap and the glass bottle is not bathroom-friendly (i refer to the bathrooom tiled floor, and the high chances of smashing the glass bottle onto it...). Other than that... well ....A great foundation at a bargain price !

About reviewer (1019 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us