3.2

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
54%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I LOVE this foundation! I never would have picked it up if Ulta had not been giving it as a GWP because honestly, I've never had good luck with compact cream foundations. I've always found them to be heavy, thick and dry. However, so far I'm really having success with this one. It's sheer but buildable, doesn't flake and doesn't settle into fine lines or wrinkles. It's super hydrating which is great for my dry winter skin and I can even use it as a concealer! I like that the SPF50 is included in the formula along with all the good skincare ingredients and the packaging is sleek and lightweight. However....the staying power isn't the greatest to be honest, which is why I took off a lippie. At least it does better when set with a good powder but this isn't for oily skin or one of those "24 hour wear" foundations for sure. Also, I'm not too impressed with the color selection either which is why I took off another lippie. Fortunately Fair fits me perfectly but there are only 7 shades. I wish IT Cosmetics would do something about their color range, I'm sure they could afford it!!!! Overall I'm a fan, but it's so expensive!!!! You only get 0.63 oz of product for $38 though I can definitely see myself repurchasing this IF I can get it free or on sale. Oh, and one final thought, don't apply this with the sponge provided or a beauty blender, they soak up too much of the foundation! I use my fingers to apply and then blend with the sponge provided or my Eco Tools Complexion Buffer Brush. Works much better, at least for me! LOVE!!!!

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Boy, was this a surprise! I was never really a huge IT Cosmetics fan, as I tried their CC cream and I hated it, so I just wrote the whole line off. I was wrong! Ulta recently had a deal where if you purchased any IT skincare item, you received the CIAC foundation for free, so I thought, what the heck, let's give it a try. First off, they absolutely NEED more shades for this. I am really a touch too neutral for the Light one, and Fair is way too light. I can make the Light work, but I wish they had a shade in between. That aside, I was super impressed by how nice this foundation looks and feels on the skin. I applied it with the Expert Face brush from RT, and I love how smooth and bright my skin appeared post application. It was a bit of a learning curve application wise,and you basically need to only use one layer, and then slowly build up problem areas with a tad more. If you use too much, this will look heavy and caked up. Wear time was not so great the first time, as I didn't set it. I got about 6 hours, and it was breaking up. So I have learned that you CANNOT use a heavy moisturizer or primer with this foundation. Applied over my serums and light moisturizer this was beautiful and lasted all day. I didn't need to set with a powder. Just a finishing spray. All in all, I will probably pick this up again the next time they have a good sale. By the way, I am 38 years old with a few lines and a bit of hyperpigmention. This gave medium coverage and a satin finish.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’m on the fence about this. I purchased it after learning my HG Take a Deep Breath compact foundation by Philosophy was discontinued. I prefer a compact foundstion bc I usually put on my makeup at work. I’m 42 now and after years of struggling with overly oily skin, my face is now more combination with some occasional dry patches on my cheeks, yet I still break out once in a while. I’m noticing a few more fine lines and wrinkles and I thought the anti-aging skincare properties in this compact would be good for my skin. The pros- it’s a compact it smells really good-like lemons has skincare benefits SPF 50, which is great The cons- it’s heavy and seeps into every line on my face oxidizes like mad (I wear the fair and I swear I look like Annoying Orange by the end of the day even though everyone tells me I don’t ). The salesperson at Ulta even said it oxidizes and countered another salesperson who thought I should go a shade darker than the fair It’s tacky and never seems to dry on my face, so I feel like I just always look oily- even with dry patches. Maybe a setting powder would help. Why would I buy it again? It gives decent coverage and I like the all-in-one aspect of the skincare in a makeup. And it hasn’t broken me out after a month of use.

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I like different foundation finishes and this cream formula is unique in my collection. The compact is well designed with a double lid system to keep it from drying out. Took a lot of trial and error to figure out how to apply since the texture is both creamy and stiff - I tried different brushes and sponges and primers but it still was streaky and hard to blend. What works for me is the flat foam pad that's included and that you can get bags of at the drugstore. I use it dry and press the foundation into my skin, working in sections, using less pressure as it kind of melts in, watching closely to keep it even. For me it's not a fast, out the door application but it looks nice when it's done and and set with setting powder. It begins to break down after 8 hours or so which is better wear time than I get from It Cosmetics CC cream. I have dry aging skin with scarring and wrinkles and it doesn't accentuate them plus it's moisturizing and feels pleasant and not tacky; probably not a good choice for oily skin as I think it would slide around. Very nice for travel, too.

About reviewer (157 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Way too heavy and accentuates the few lines that I have (I'm 61). Colors aren't that great either - the medium was way too orangey.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm 41, normal skin, I don't like a heavy look but wear makeup everyday. It's blendable and buildable - plus my skin feels pampered. For the past 2 tears this has been my HG. I stock up at Ulta when it's on sale, I can usually score it for about $25 and it lasts me 4ish mos. Edit 8/18: In the really humid parts of summer this can be too greasy/dewy, in those times I prefer a mineral powder foundation

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Greasy and heavy. And the color range is horrible. Fair is too white and Light is just plain orange. I would be a shade in between those lol. I returned it.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I bought this at my sister’s recommendation. I had been alternately using Giorgio Armani maestro and Mac cream foundation. I am 65 and I feel like at this stage of my life, less is more. I use confidence in a compact with the brush; it goes on slightly moist and feels cool and comforting. I don’t need much and the compact has lasted a long time. It’s not cheap, but I still feel like it’s a good value. I do wish that it was refillable - the case itself is durable and could last. My sister lives in Albuquerque and wears it in hot weather without a problem. We both have normal to dry skin and live in dry climates, so I can’t speak to its efficacy on oily skin and/or in humid climates.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Contrary to some reviews, I love love love this foundation! Most recently I’ve been using Naked Skin by Urban Decay. But my daughter informed me that my makeup was looking “cakey” and like it was just sitting on my skin (she’s blunt that way). So my other daughter (the nice one) and I were at Ulta when the sales associate recommended this “skin-transforming full coverage solid super serum.” I tried a bit on my hand. And when the associate noted with real enthusiasm “my mom just loves it,” I was sold (I'm old AF). The associate also talked me into the Ulta #201 Flawless Foundation brush to apply it. I have to say that I really like the results. I apply this foundation to my T-zone with the Ulta brush…and then I buff, buff, buff with my Sephora Airbrush brush. My skin is good. I’m in my 60’s, but still tend towards oiliness. And I’m a bit ruddy in the nose/forehead area. So my coverage is heavier there and lighter on the cheeks and neck. I love the fact that it has an SPF of 50 (Naked Skin has no SPF protection) and that, despite my being fairer than fair redhead, the Fair shade actually worked perfectly for me. Both daughters approved the results. And I will buy again! PS: Don't mess with what works. After seeing all the rave reviews for the Tom Ford Traceless Foundation Stick, I went and spent $87 to try it. Ugh. Read that review. I'm back to IT's Confidence in a Compact.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really disliked this. I could see this in broken little clots all over my skin up close. From far away it looked ok but up close you could see the powder and the serum fighting together on my skin. It also felt sticky on my skin. I tried different brushes and different bases and I could see the quantity dwindling in the pan and still no success on my face. If you love cream foundations give it a whirl. I am not a fan. I chose light for my NC 20 skintone. Light is a tad too dark, and fair is a little too light. I am in a no man's land in It. I could use a color in between.

About reviewer (1595 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel