4.6

Created with Sketch.
11 reviews
90%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

In love with the merlot tint. It looks super dark in the tube but it’s just a beautiful sheer berry wine shade, that complements my Nc20 skin, dark hair beautifully.. you can definitely build this up to get more pigment and a deeper color, but I prefer dabbing it or a gentle swipe for a “my lips but better” look. It’s so moisturizing and makes my lips feel soft and comfortable. It has natural ingredients such as Shea butter, mango seed butter, avocado oil, rosehip oil, coconut oil, jojoba oil and so much more!!!

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Chapstick Total Hydration Moisture & Tint in Merlot is everything I had hoped that Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Red Dahlia would be - a moisturizing lip balm with a sheer tint in the plummy shade that is my go-to lip color. Total Hydration Moisture & Tint is a great, if basic, lip product that gives you a touch of color and just enough moisture. Unlike the Burt's Bees product, which was greasy but not actually hydrating, this product strikes the perfect balance - no one is going to mistake this for an actual "balm" but it's good enough for when you need color plus a little hydration. I would give it five stars if the tint had more staying power, but that may be too much to ask for. At any rate, I will definitely be trying more shades.

About reviewer (138 reviews)

Age

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Curly, Medium

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Shade: Cool purplish red brown Opacity: Sheer side of medium Moisture: Moisturizing but not hydrating Scent: Strong cherry and wax Texture: This is what does this product in for me--feels light and slippery on top of the lips and is slightly gritty. Lasts: Less than hour. It's a decent moisturizing tinted lip balm type product but isn't super flattering on me (NC20, though I usually prefer cooler plum type shades) and doesn't last. It feels nothing like regular Chapstick on the lips. It's much thinner and never sinks in. It transfers and slips off easily.

About reviewer (295 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Forgot I had this. It is Sunday and I did not feel like coating my lips with the long wearing stuff I normally wear. It has not irritated my lips like a lot of tints do. No strong flavor or scent. Lovely color on light olive skintone. I have dark hair. It is slippery in a moisturizing way, but not distractingly greasy.

About reviewer (813 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The first time I applied the Merlot, I was pleasantly surprised that it produced so much color. I also bought the Bordeaux but it was very sheer. I always use a moisturizing lip product before applying this or any lipstick. Update: I now wear the Bordeaux daily and like the color.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really like this, planning on buying more colors. Perfect reddish-brown for fall. I'm medium neutral skin tone with dark green eyes, dark brown hair, I get more olive in the winter. Today I put this both on my lips & as a blush it looks great. Nice wash of color & easy to blend on the cheeks, moisturizing & didn't settle into lines on my lips. I usually go for more natural lines than Chapstick but the ingredients don't include anything especially irritating. Great product!

About reviewer (114 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this product. I picked it up on a whim because I love tinted lip balms, and this did not disappoint. First off I should add I bought this in the rose bud shade, which is a really pretty sheer pink that seems to be a good neutral, maybe a mauve-leaning pink. It's sheer but somewhat buildable, where you see a good amount of color but your natural lip still shines through. The formula isn't quite as waxy as original Chapstick balms, but when you apply this you can still feel it. It feels moisturizing and wears a good amount of time. I can detect no strong flavor or scent either (really, no scent at all, and I don't really pick up any flavor). I initially thought $5 was a bit steep for a Chapstick lippie, but you get a lot of product in the tube. It's comparable to what you'd be getting in a Maybelline BabyLips tube, but this formula is a bit thicker and lasts longer (and has more pigment). The tube for this Chapstick product clicks shut securely, too, which is nice. I'm not finding myself worried that the lid will slip off with ease and make a mess out of purse or pants pockets. I definitely plan to pick up the Merlot shade. Update: I did pick up the Merlot shade. It's a very pretty sheer burgundy shade that's also buildable. I have Clinique's Black Honey and it's very close to that. It's actually practically indistinguishable, but the Black Honey is maybe a hair more pink or red (just the tiniest bit and it's only really noticeable if you really look at it closely) and a bit thinner formula and a pinch shinier. It's also very close to Urban Decay's Vice lipstick in Liquid, except Liquid is more pigmented and buildable.

About reviewer (364 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Provides moisture without feeling waxy. Great color! Hydration lasts for hours.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love this! Chapstick and color all in one product is a godsend! Great color!!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a wine/burgundy/dark red tint that is my new favorite lippie. There are many positive points to discuss (at least, positive in my book)! It has no flavor/scent for those who are sensitive. It is not drying and stays comfortable while on the lips. It is not waxy like traditional Chapstick, more of a smooth, nonsticky balm. It is not glossy or shiny. The color is gorgeous and flattering on many skin tones - kind of a polished neutral deep reddened lip color. You can apply one swipe for a MLBB look or a few for a more noticeable tint. It is cheap and readily available at many Target stores. It isn't perfect - I am not a fan of the white inner tube since a lot of product seems to smear on both the inside and outside of it, which looks awful. The flat tip (like a regular Chapstick) does not lend itself to precision application. If you have dry spots or flakes (which would lead you to buy a Chapstick in the first place), the color will "catch" on them and appear like dark spots. It does not always wear away evenly and can leave you with ringed lips. While it is comfortable and balmy on the lips, it does not provide me with any lasting hydration once it wears off (my lips are in no better shape). Since this is pretty much a lip balm, it does not last long and does transfer - which is not a negative in my book, but something to be aware of.

About reviewer (156 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel