3.6

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
65%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

12 days ago

A delicious gourmand mix of honey, smooth milk chocolate, and fresh tobacco. At first the honey smells musty and almost fecal, the way patchoulli does sometimes. But after an hour the milk chocolate notes warm up and everything blends in nicely. Long lasting, around 6 hours on me. Top Notes: Bergamot, Ginger, Tobacco Blossom Heart Notes: Mimosa, Vanilla Orchid, Honey Base Notes: Musk, Papyrus, Tonka Bean

About reviewer (1239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

A comforting warm, spicy/sweet fall scent that has excellent lasting power, even after 1 spritz (never needed more than 2). I get an initial blast of spice - mostly cinnamon, clove, ginger and plenty of vanilla with just a hint of tobacco. After an hour or so the honey note overtakes the secondary notes: spice, tonka and musk, and really comes into its own. Now I must point out the 'urine' comparisons by some reviewers are not exactly untrue...when honey in a fragrance is the predominant note, it can bear more than a passing initial half-second resemblance to urine. I know this from back in the days when I used to use L'Occitane's honey shower gel (not even an actual perfume spray) and many hours later work colleagues would tell me that's exactly what i smelled like! This on the other hand, with so many gourmand notes, doesn't allow the honey to play centre stage at any point, at least not on my skin, although reading some of the other reviews, it's clear how each persons' skin effuses the notes differently, hence the vast differences in opinion. Longevity is fantastic - can be detected by anyone within a couple of feet for up to 12 hours. Very similar to Tom Ford's Tobacco Vanille but softer and drier, also its downplaying of the 'tobacco' note which gives it ever such a slightly more feminine edge. Despite that this could easily be worn by a man, although due to its packaging and marketing I suspect very few men will ever try it. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

To me this is like a lighter version of TF Tobacco Vanille, and I love them both. I can only wear TF in evening or going out but Velvet Teddy is a day scent, I wear it ro office and always get compliments. On me it smells like a warm vanilla honey with just a hint of smoke, and it lasts all day so I use lightly. It’s one of a handfull of perfumes that don’t bother me or give me a headache so that’s a (huge!) plus too!

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Mostly went on my skin as a sweet wood, heavy on the wood, but it developed a fecal note as it dried down, so that it smelled like sweet feces. On my friend, it had a very pronounced urine note. A miss for us both.

About reviewer (1714 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Genuinely shocked at there being several negative reviews of this scent. I had to sign in to give my honest opinion. This fragrance is SO good- I sprayed my shirt the other day, and had to stop myself from putting my nose in it to take a big whiff! Absolutely signature scent worthy, and IMO unisex. You need to give it about a minute to let it bloom on your skin, but that lush, rich honey note takes centre stage, while the tobacco blossom in the background grounds the honey to make the overall scent cozy, deep, and more mature smelling. I didn't find out until after purchasing that this is supposedly a dupe/ very similar to an expensive Tom Ford scent. That doesn't really matter to me really, but I thought I'd mention it. Please don't be deterred by the negative reviews- if you have a MAC store near you, give this one a try. I love it

About reviewer (124 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

This concoction is a bad day at the dump. And not every day at the dump is bad.

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I had a sample of this and decided to wear this to work. OMG it smells horrible to me. I felt self conscious because I wondered if everyone at work could smell it. It’s a strange, chemical scent that I couldn’t wait to wipe off. Not for me.

About reviewer (921 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My dupe for TF’s Tobacco Vanille. My favourite of the Shadescents range. A little masculine and sexy from the creamy tobacco and honey notes and musky. Price is average - I wouldn’t expect to pay more than AU$100. Projection great but on my skin it only lasts around 4 hour max. Cooler weather scent. I like wearing this on a cold rainy day.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I'm sorry, but this stuff stinks. Like, literally. I'm not saying it doesn't have good staying power or that it doesn't have much fragrance to it because unfortunately for my nose it has both of those things. I'm saying it literally stinks. Like, people smoking cigars and burning incense stinks. Which is wonderful I suppose if you like those things but I do not. It's funny, I got a deluxe sized sample of this and smelling it in the bottle I was like, ok, I like dark smoky sexy fragrances I'll try it. OMG. First spritz the tobacco and musk hit me in the face like a backhand from Andre the Giant. The dry down was actually kind of pleasant, a nice musky vanilla scent. I came on here to read reviews and was surprised to see they were mostly positive! So I was like, ok, what the heck, I'll try it again. Same thing but no nice dry down that time. Overall, I'd say if this is your style of a perfume and you smell something entirely different, go for it! However, if you're sensitive to fragrances, I'd definitely say this one is a "try it before you buy it" kinda deal. Definitely did NOT work for me. DISLIKE!!!!

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is sex in a bottle. Smells so damn good! Not flowery or subtle, it's smoky and sexy and it just makes you want to curl up in it.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesGray