3.4

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
54%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Omg this mascara has the SPIKIEST wand ever to the point where I've finished applying my makeup and ruined it TWICE because I've stabbed myself in the eye and CRIED and ruined my makeup. I've never used a mascara with such a rough, spiky wand. On the plus side I do notice a lot of lenghthening with this mascara (the results are quite nice). But yeah the spiky wand. Never again.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Well FINALLY a mascara that (is affordable and) does what it says on the packet! "Bold, Clump-Free Lashes".Colour impact/boldness - Yes. I got Black #202 and it is a really deep glossy black. Clump-free - Yes. The brush wiper thingy leaves on just the right amount so the brush is never overloaded. Plus the small spiky plastic brush makes it easy to apply and lashes stay defined and separated. I usually hate plastic brushes as they prick my eyes when I try to get close to the lashline, but this doesn't! Its small and I can get all the tiny lashes and right up to the lashline without poking out my eye. Doesn't smudge. Holds a curl. Cons are: Doesn't give much volume, so may have to be layered over a primer or another mascara if you want it all. Not great for sensitive eyes. I love the ease and look of this mascara but it stings my eyes :( I wish Revlon would go gluten-free so I could use this amazing budget-friendly mascara.

About reviewer (1264 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I wonder - given that reviews run to extremes or really liking it or hating it - if there is a problem with the age of different batches - or if ( would they do this) company changes the formulation. My biggest thing is about endurance and no smudging: this has done quite well - better that say, about 70% of other mascaras tried. It isn't really a huge lash builder. So many mascaras smear. It's a usable drugstore option. I like the broad handle on the wand - I think it provides a nice grip for getting those smaller lashes.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

From the looks of the other reviews of this mascara, it's either love it or hate it. Put me in the Love It club. I've bought at least 5 tubes of this mascara over the past 2 years. Here's what I really like about Revlon Dramatic Definition (purple top): It applies smoothly and evenly. It lasts 6-8 hours. Minimal flaking. It does not look crusty on my eye lashes. At age 69, crusty, thick mascara is not flattering. I like that I can pull the wand out of the tube and apply the mascara perfectly -- without having to wipe excess product off the brush. Another thing I like is the price. I've bought this mascara at Ulta for $8.95. Twice I've bought it at Walmart for $3. I've tried other formulas in this same product line, the red, green and blue tops. There is some difference in the formulas and the brushes differ too. The Purple top formula is my favorite.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Not bad! Separates just fine, adds lots of length, love the color. No irritation. The only issue I have is that it doesnt, add much fullness which doesn't make it dramatic at all. I was disappointed with that one factor but I will still get much use out of this mascara. Found it on sale at my PX for half price. If it isn't discontinued I would buy another.

About reviewer (117 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Dark, Neutral

HairBrown, Relaxed, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Hi MUA, Well I really wanted to like this product. I have tried, but it's a no with me. It works on the bottom lashes, so it won't go to waste. It didn't make my eyelashes look like much of anything but a clumping short mess. I wasn't too impressed with the shape of this mascara at all. I primed my eyelashes like I always do, and this mascara just fell in the disappointment pile, big time! I think the brush is ok for the bottom lashes..but sadly that's about it.

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

THIS IS MY FAVORITE MASCARA OF ALL TIME! I have tried EVERYTHING from Sephora and I always go back to this one as my favorite. It doesn't smudge or flake, and it's perfect for everyday. What i love, that all other mascaras do, is you don't get that extra bit of product on the tip of the brush when you pull it out of the tube. I hate that and always have to wipe it off other mascaras, but not this one! The only other mascara I like is It-Lash from Dior. I've tried Better than Sex, which is horrible, in my opinion. Not sure why everyone likes this one, the brush is terrible.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I think this mascara adds a ton of both length and definition to my lashes! I it have it in the black shade, which isn't super glossy like blackest black. In other words, the color dries to a more realistic and believable hue. I like to curl my lashes prior to applying this mascara so that my lashes look even longer than usual. This product holds a curl quite nicely, in my opinion. It makes my lashes look natural, just way better and enhanced when it comes to volume and length. This product hasn't any claims in regards to volume, but it does make a noticeable difference in that regard. Not too shabby, especially considering that many high-end mascaras I've tried don't hold a candle to what this stuff can do for my lashes!

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This mascara is a disappointment! I have naturally long lashes and this is just not working for me. Clumps, doesn't curl lashes and putting this thing on is like having nothing except for the mess it makes. I won't be buying this crap again.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

After looking at the other reviews I am in the minority, but I really like this mascara. It has been years since I have used a non waterproof mascara but I was looking for something different and found this on clearance for $2.98 so I decided to give it a shot. My lashes are short and somewhat sparse so I wanted something to add a some definition, fullness and length. This does a decent job in all of those areas. I do have to us a couple of coats to achieve the look I want but I don't mind that. I got this in Blackest Black and that definitely describes the color. It is well pigmented and the black is intense. The packaging is a little unique in that the tube is flat and the cap it purple. The brush is smaller than a lot of mascara brushes and that makes it easier for me to coat my shorter lashes. It goes on easily and there was no clumping at all. As I have used waterproof mascara, I am pleased with the ease of removal. Just a little warm water and it comes off in a snap. However with that said it didn't run or smudge during wear. I am sorry that I didn't buy a couple more tubes of this as the price was great. At this point I would repurchase but I suspect that they are closing this particular formula out given the clearance price.

About reviewer (817 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us