3.4

Created with Sketch.
50 reviews
54%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

First, the good things: It washes off instantly and effortlessly. It looks good in photos - unless you look closely and see the clumps. It was on sale for $6 so I didn't throw too much money away. Now the bad things: It doesn't have a brush - it has a one sided comb. The results after two coats are almost unnoticeable, except of course for the clumps. It needs three coats to give some length and definition. While applying, it smudges and flakes, and creates clumping if you try to build it up in the corners. You cannot paint on the lower lashes with that comb. It's impossible. I washed it off immediately because it looked so bad. Update Aug. 6/19: This was one of the many mascaras I threw away today after reviewing the results of my study. Anything that failed seriously in any respect had to go. This one failed almost all my criteria, but there are three other contenders for worst: NYX's new failure, On the Rise, Maybelline Falsies Push Up Angel, and L'Oreal Lash Sensational Luscious.

About reviewer (242 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Pros: +it has a great comb-like,thin,curved brush which grabs even the tiniest inner corner lashes and is easy to use even on lower lashes +it doesn't have messy application,doesn't transfer to lid or under eyes while putting it on +it quickly dries on lashes +zero sticky lashes problem with this mascara +it does a nice job in lengthening lashes +it does a perfect job in defining and separating lashes +it doesn't make lashes crunchy and hard even a bit +it pushes up the lashes,so your lashes won't stay straight even if you don't curl them +it doesn't smudge +it's not difficult to remove it +it's reasonably priced (just 5 USD here) +I like it's purple tube Cons: - can't keep a dramatic,90 degree curl - it's not easy to build it in due to it's drier formula it can look uneven on lashes if you apply too much and not carefully - it sometimes flakes a bit - it's not much volumizing (but it doesn't leave lashes thin) -it doesn't come in a sealed packaging (at least in my country) so I can't know if it's been opened before or not This mascara has some huge pros and a few serious cons.I ordered it because I was curious about it's wand.also the mascara I used for my lower lashes wasn't usable anymore(it was WetnWild Megalenght waterproof and it's wand broke just a month after I bought it!),I'm glad to announce this is going to be more than just a lower lash mascara Maybelline Pushup Angel's brush is thinner than what I thought and has a unique,comb-like shape(the only mascara I have ever seen with a slightly similar wand was Catrice Lash Dresser Comb Mascara),it's thin,curved and has plastic bristles just on one side.there's not too much mascara on it when it comes out of the tube,actually the first time I saw it,I thought there's no product on the brush. the application is not messy at all and can be quick.there's no need to wipe off the extra product from the brush,there's no need to clean up lid with a Qtip after putting it on as it doesn't smear everywhere while applying it thanks to it's curved,thin brush and it's formula,which is on the drier side.there's no need to comb lashes afterwards and there's no need to wait long for it to dry down on lashes to be able to blink or put on the second coat.this no-fuss,quick application hands in hand with the natural look it provides,makes it a good choice for office/school mascara. I know two ways to put on a mascara.in both cases I curl my lashes before putting on mascara..first way,which was the only way I knew when I was younger,is the look straight in mirror with open eyes and comb lashes with mascara brush.this way,there will be no mess but mascara won't tightline,won't curl lashes,sometimes even won't coat the base of lashes,,I usually use this method with wet,too black,dramatic mascaras when I'm in a hurry,it also works well with some mascaras that have flexible wands like L'oreal Miss Manga...the other way,is the way Paula Wolf applied mascara in Mascara Monday posts in her Instagram page which is applying mascara from very base of lashes while blinking in the brush(as if you're closing your eyes each time),when I use the second way to apply Push Up Angel Mascara,it curls my lashes,this is a big,pleasant surprise for me because it rarely happens that mascaras curl my straight lashes by themselves.usually if I don't curl my lashes before putting on mascara,it looks as if I don't have any lash,not with this mascara though.it literally pushes up my lashes so even if I don't curl my lashes first,I can achieve decent results.but if I want dramatic results,I can't rely on this one as my only mascara.eventhough it pushes up my lashes,it's not able to hold a 90 degree curl,it doesn't straighten lashes but it cavbn't keep my lashes in the highest possible position. It lengthens my lashes very well(but not an extraordinary lengthening),it does a perfect job in defining and seprating lashes (it's the best mascara in this field I have ever had),but it darkens and thickens lashes just a little bit and is not much volumizing.all in all I like the look it gives to my lashes,I love that lashes look and feel completely soft and velvety not crunchy at all.I also love that there's zero sticking problems with this mascara..it doesn't smudge(sometimes flakes a bit though) and it's not hard to remove with a regular micellar water.I could have loved it much more if it could keep my lashes as curled as I'd like but as it is I use it as a daily mascara for times that I'm in a hurry or want a natural look.when I want a dramatic look,I can pair it with another mascara Highly recommended if you want a mascara with quick,not messy application,I also believe you will love it if you have naturally full,not straight lashes and if you usually don't curl your lashes..but even if you're not in this group it's still nice to try it..it's a special mascara with a great wand (I thought I don't like thin,plastic wands but now I know some of them can be very good) I don't think I'd repurchase it as I love trying different mascaras and this is not a HG for me,but after going through it,I will definitely keep and use it's wand with my other mascaras or as a lash comb

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Love the brush but that was about it. My straight lashes were pointing downward after applying this. Sticking with the rocket waterproof.

About reviewer (966 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I sheepishly am reviewing this because I feel like I’m cheating on my HG. I’ve taken vows, claimed one love before but...BUT this mascara has won me over! The brush is a comb, no guessing what side or shape to do curling and lifting. It just magically does. Of course it separates and lifts. Right or left handed is not a problem. Formula is ok. Is fair game for some cardio, but for a heavy sesh, this one is not durable enough. I layer the waterproof version on top and it removes easier too. Alone, it’s an indoor office gal durability level..i dont have oily lids though. One tiny caveat is it’s not water resistant or tear proof but for the way it looks and the price, I’m hooked!!!!!!! Together i get the most beautiful fluttery falsies. Not the big glam ones but the wispy evenly curled combed separated longest look. Bottom lashes are rocking too with the brush comb. Just magical. It’s great when you first open and gets thicker after a couple weeks just like all other maybelline mascaras tend to do. Affordable at around 8 bucks, economical enough to overlook the purple metallic packaging which i think is ugly, but oh well, its cheap. I just love this mascara and have purchased many times. I used to use clump crusher as my favorite drugstore, but lately its been flakey and the pieces get into my eyes and irritate. This never flakes but does smear and run when you cry or get super watery eyes.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Been using this mascara for a week and I love it. The brush is really good at separating the lashes and coating each lash. It doesn't get clumpy at the ends like mascaras usually do with my lashes. It reminds me of my favorite discontinued mascara - Maybelline Lash Stylist. I bought this in the washable version but I plan on getting the waterproof version after I'm done with this tube. I hope this don't discontinue this mascara in the future either.

About reviewer (351 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The brush on this is the stand out feature. I really love this. I have always liked a drier formula for mascara and my favorite has always been Prestige My Biggest Lashes but the brush was huge! I always had to wipe off excess mascara that got into my life while applying. Not with this! I love just combing thru the lashes getting nice and close to the base of the lady without smudging. Will definitely repurchase.

About reviewer (108 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I freaking LOVE this mascara!!! Maybelline seem to be doing the best job out there, all my top 3 mascaras are from them: Lash Sensational, Total Temptation and now I got this one because I was curious about that brush for the longest time. I love it!! The brush separates, pushes your lashes up and curls them and it grabs every single tiny lash amazingly and it's super amazing on lower lashes also. I just got it yesterday and now I'm stocking up on it. LOVE!!!

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I turned out enjoying this mascara much more than I thought I would! It gives dramatic length and a reasonable amount of volume. It does make my lashes look long and luscious, and delivers quite a dramatic look. I find the formula to work very well, not too wet or dry and not sticky. It dries fairly quickly after being applied to the lashes. It doesn't flake, smudge or smear throughout the day - even in heat and humidity. It won't last through tears though, this will cause it to smudge. It emphasises the curl of my lashes also. The brush is quite unique - much smaller and skinnier than I imagined. It is a comb with plastic bristles and is shaped with a curve to fit against the lash line, and only has bristles on one side. My only gripe is that due to the shape, it is difficult to do the eye which curves the opposite way to the brush! I simply comb it through my lashes in a zig-zag motion and get an even and non-clumpy application. I really like how dramatic it makes my lashes look, so I would definitely recommend and repurchase.

About reviewer (724 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I'm talking about the waterproof version in this review, not the washable one. I wear contact lenses daily nowadays so I need mascaras that don't stream black stinging goop onto my lenses. As a standalone mascara, it's OK - neither terrible nor particularly good. What's special about this is the wand - it is a small comb-type wand with little silicone bristles for teeth, and is curved to help push up your lashes as you comb the wand up. Hence the name, I'd guess. Anyway, if you wipe the excess product off the comb first then this is small and slender enough to fit into awkward little nooks and crannies - especially the lashes on your outer upper eyelid, and the smaller sparser lashes right by the inner corner, and it does a good job of keeping clumps at bay and giving nice separation. I don't use this mascara by itself but I will frequently reach for it if I'm going for a dramatic look involving my lower lashes as well as the upper ones. The wand makes it easy to properly coat my lower lashes, and is less messy than thicker wands since it's slender enough to fit under and over my lower lashes without getting waterproof mascara blobs everywhere. If you're after an inexpensive mascara that makes applying mascara to lower lashes, then it's worth checking out. Otherwise, it's your average run-of-the-mill drugstore mascara.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this mascara not expecting too much and without reading any reviews which is probably lucky as a lot of people seem to dislike it. Initially I also wasn't impressed but once it dried a bit I realised that it is in fact a pretty good mascara! The formula is great - doesn't smudge or flake and I haven't had any difficulties removing it (either with soap and water or with the "Erase Your Face" cloth) as some have mentioned. It does not add any volume but it does add length and a bit of a curl. I really like the brush/wand - it's very precise, doesn't create clumps and works great on lower lashes as well (with many mascaras I find that I need a separate one for my lower lashes because the brushes are too thick). It may take a few days to get used to as it's such a different brush from most mascaras but for me it's the closest thing I've ever found to my all time favourite - but sadly discontinued - Rimmel's Lash Maxxx. I'm definitely going to buy it again! _________ Added in June: when you are done with this mascara, and like me like the brush, keep it for use with other mascaras! I'm currently using it with Rimmel Volume Accelerator Mascara which I nearly tossed away because of the chunky brush!

About reviewer (113 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairGrey, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen