4.3

Created with Sketch.
16 reviews
81%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This product is the G.O.A.T. If you want something that will make your pores and fine lines and wrinkles look nonexistent upon initial contact, this is it. I first bought this in 2016, but I never bothered using it because I bought the Hylamide Matte 12 at the same time (another great product) and the claims on the packaging of Matte 12 just jumped out at me. I needed something to mattify my sunscreen, and I thought the HA Blur was more or less the same product. I was like eh, why bother with this - so I gave it away. I recently tried Hylamide's Pore Delete (I reviewed it on here), and it was a complete disaster. It left my skin with a glorious finish that far eclipsed the finish the Matte 12 gives me, but getting it to work with my pre-existing products was the biggest skincare struggle I've ever faced. It didn't work with my sunscreen, with my Glossier skin tint, with my moisturiser, hell, I couldn't even scratch my damn face with that thing on lest I ended up disrupting all my applied layers. Many people have had the same experience. This is because the star ingredient of Pore Delete, adipic acid, while being phenomenal in its efficacy, is a very, very fussy ingredient that is hard, if not impossible, to work with. Imagine my shock when I recently found out that the HA Blur *DOES HAVE ADIPIC ACID*, which by the way, is not present in the Matte 12. Adipic acid is a stellar ingredient made up of little disco ball-like prisms that diffuse light and fill in your fine lines and wrinkles. The HA Blur is basically a milder version of the Pore Delete finisher! And it is far more forgiving to use, because the adipic acid in it is co-formulated with other ingredients, and is lower down on the ingredients list. Many people are confused about the difference between the Matte 12 and HA Blur. I think I've finally cracked the code. If you want a mattifier, perhaps for use on top of a greasy sunscreen, get the Matte 12. If you want something that will mattify, blur your pores, fine lines, and imperfections, get the HA Blur. If you want all of the above, get em both and layer them, because why the hell not! I'm done trying to make the Pore Delete work for me. The HA Blur is officially the damn G.O.A.T.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Used this as a under my foundation a few times now and it really does make my skin look 10x better! I have acne scarring and large pores and this greatly reduced them. However I found that for setting makeup it wasn't the best. I have an oily skin and noticed throughout the day my T-zone was shiny and that makeup had moved and come off around my mouth. Would reccomend and buy again but would need something else with it to make sure the makeup doesn't budge.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've been using this product for about a week now and am very impressed by how well it keeps my skin matte without drying it out. A pea-sized amount covers most of my face after I've applied my daily SPF. I concentrate it in my oiliest areas, around the nose, front of the cheeks, centre of the forehead and chin. Then I apply my mineral makeup (either Bare Minerals matte or Meow Cosmetics Flawless Feline). The result is a beautiful smooth finish that lasts eight-ten hours with only minor touch-ups. Since I've been fighting oily and acnes prone skin for more years than most of you have probably been on earth (I'm 68), the HA Blur is a welcome addition to my makeup arsenal. Definitely HG status, I've already ordered again, and I'm tempted to try other Deciem products. Not vital, but I love the bright pink/white tube which makes it so easy to find on my vanity ;-)

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I just tried this today so I can't say if it will break me out or if it's long lasting. What I will say is that this definitely blurs my pores! I normally use the porefessional which works under all my foundations. Today I used this instead and my first impressions are that it blurs my pores like nothing else. I applied it after sunscreen (just on nose, forehead and cheeks) and it did a really good job at mattefying the skin. The foundation I applied over it I've never worn before, so I can't really say much about what difference it made as a primer. I will however say that if it wears good throughout the day I will use this on my no-makeup days to blur pores and create an illusion of absolutely flawless skin. (I don't have any pimples or dry patches at the moment so by flawless I mean that it blurs my pores, and kills the shine from my sunscreen). I forget to put it over the fine lines around my mouth and under my eyes so I will be back with a review on that too. I also want to try mixing it in with my foundation, although I don't have any high expectations for that because no blurring product I've tried has looked good mixed in with foundation.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Amazing for oily skin

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Let me be the first one who hates it. It's very thick and very silicone. I love silicone feel, but I hate how thick it is. I apply the thinnest layer I can over my sunscreen, my face becomes extremely dull. When I touch my skin after applying the product peels off. I took another sunscreen, applied it over and tried to follow again with the makeup. Same story. It's so wrong! I never had a product that was peeling so badly (it feels like a peel off mask). On the bright note, it really seems to be hydrating despite extra flat matte look. And it did not irritate my extra sensitive skin. Maybe it works only on the bare face... Sending it back!

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm a guy and don't wear makeup but this thing is great for special occasions where I don't want my skin to look oily. It really leaves my skin matte for hours. Would recommend.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm not a huge primer person as I don't like to wear a lot of foundation (just simple a moisturizer and sunscreen girl), but I thought I could use a little bit of blurring to cut some shine and make my skin look a little smoother. I liked the idea that this had HA in it to act as moisturizer a little too, so I took the plunge and I'm so glad I did! I am so happy with how well this works as a primer for my sunscreen, It makes it go on so much better and prevents my skin from looking oily and shiny while wearing this! It also takes away that gross coated feel that you get from sunscreens later in the day after you've had them on for a while. It does have a fairly pungent plasticey smell, but it's gone once it dries. It is also a little pricey, but I stocked up while they have it on sale for $9,

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This has become my HG primer for every day makeup. :D This stuff works better than some of my higherish end stuff (Becca Glow, Hourglass) that I now only break out on special occasions (though I still mix it in under my eyes because it fills in the lines so well). I love my Hourglass Primer and I'm not going to be replacing it (I love the dewy glow), but it definitely doesn't have the blurring and staying power like Hylamide. I use it every day for work. It makes my drugstore everyday liquid foundations (L'oreal colour match) that used to give a cakey look on my dry skin amazing. I wouldn't say it feels moisturising but it does somehow cover up any dry patches pretty well when normally my foundation would highlight it and that's a big bonus for me. I like that it fills in the lines under my eyes pretty well. It definitely has a blurring effect which is what I wanted from the Benefit primers but didn't really get. I do feel like I have to use quite a bit of the product - although I like the consistency and it absorbs pretty well I feel like it doesn't spread as much as I'd like it to. So far it's working miraculously well for me but I'm interested to see it's staying power when the weather gets warmer!

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Edit: After liking the blurring effect I get from this and the moisturizing soft results my skin gets - i'm returning this since as a primer for $19, it doesn't do what I need it to do for the price. I figure i can buy the $5 Ordinary primer and use that with The Ordinary moisturizer + HA for $5 and get a similar result (maybe not as much blurring, but the primer does blur). That's $10 for 2 oz (primer + moisturizer) vs. 1 oz of the HA Blur for $19 plus shipping. Not worth it. I'm not impressed by the Hylamide brand, but since The Ordinary products are much cheaper, I'm trying those instead and return all but one of my Hylamide (primer). My skin: clear of pimples (sensitive, acne-prone/cystic/redness), melasma, scars. Shiny oily skin that makes pores stand out big time from daily use of topical benzoyl peroxide gel after washing face. Top with daily moisturizer. Was looking for a product to help calm the shiny residue I get from BP gel. Do wear light foundation/BB cream M-F. --------------------------------------------

About reviewer (435 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us