3.5

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
48%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This was... okay. I haven't bought an Urban Decay Palette before, and the hype was strong. The palette had a lot of fallout, and the pigment wasn't as intense or easy to apply as I was hoping. This isn't terrible and it was discounted. I was less impressed than I wanted to be. It doesn't achieve anything close to the satisfaction I get with using Too Faced palettes. I'll stick to those.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Urban Decay Ultimate Basics falls flat for me. In theory, I should love it but I barely reach for it. I was expecting this to be perfect to blend with my other Naked palettes but the colours don’t wow me. The lighter colours are chalky, powdery & barely noticeable. The shade Instinct is probably the best one. The darker shades do not translate well from palette to eyelid, I was really excited to try Extra Bitter & Lethal but they are bland and wishy-washy when applied. Blackjack is a decent matte black and is my most used shade out of the entire palette. Urban Decay is one of my fav makeup brands and I would say this is one of their weaker palettes. I’ve had it a year now and should probably give it a new home as it’s collecting dust in my drawer!

About reviewer (110 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I tend to be in agreement with Temptalia more often than not, but I was shocked when she gave this palette an F. I'm also glad I bought it before reading her review, because an F from Temptalia is something I won't even glance at! I love this palette. It's the one I grab to use alongside all my shimmer palettes and to complete looks. I'd say it leans overall neutral to cool, with a few warm colors, and I don't find any colors TOO similar. I have all the neutral Viseart palettes and I still grab this one most. The colors blend beautifully, aren't powdery or too pigmented, and are buildable. If you managed to snag this on sale, you got a steal. I paid full price and still have no regrets.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My heart broke when I saw this product only has an average rating here. Why? *cries in Gucci* UD listened to us when we called for a matte palette. The result is a stunning packaging with neutral mattes which look amazing. The first one is a shimmery shade but I don't mind that since I need a shimmery shade as highlighter all the time. But why not 5 stars? The only fact that makes me desperate is that you get some shades which are too similar. First row, the two shadws in the middle almost look exactly the samw on my eyes (even on a white base) plus it's the same on the other row (again, the shades in the middle). While I'm still hyped for this palette, those facts ruin an almost perfect matte eyeshadow palette, IMO. The texture is velvety smooth (but be aware of fallout though) and the shades are universal flattering. I will repurchase, yep, I will, definitely. My heart cries for another Ultimate Basics palette but with more colored neutrals, like the Sleek Ultra Mattes V 2 palette.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I thought this palette was just ok. Nothing really stands out in it, and the formula seem to be chalkier and drier than UD’s other mattes. I found this set on sale for $27 on Ulta.com but I still think that’s too much for it.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was looking for a palette with five or six matt or satin shades that I would regularly use, and this looked perfect. I think possibly it would be, for someone with medium and/or neutral to warm colouring who likes a bit of shimmer in the highlights. On my fair, neutral-cool skin, there is one shade that works for shimmery highlighting (Blow), a couple of shades that would work for crease contouring (Tempted, Lethal), and one shade that would be good for a sunburnt look in the outer corner (Instinct). I have deepset eyes and use light colours on the moveable lid — and this is the major failing of this set for me. There is nothing at all that would work on the moveable lid — all the possibles are too warm and/or too dark. The result would be a brown mess. I wouldn‘t have guessed this from the various images I found on the Internet, and certainly not from Urban Decay’s description, hence the three lippies and cautionary words for those with similar needs to mine.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I prefer more natural-looking makeup without shimmer, glitter and suck, so this palette is simply ideal for me. I have neutral skintone, maybe leaning slightly more to cool tones, and, to my surprise, every single shade looks good on me. I really like how buttery and matte these eyeshadows are, with one satin-finish lighter color. The colors are not chalky at all, very easy to blend, stay put all day (I do always use a primer, for the record). Really easy to do makeup. The packaging is nice and sturdy, easy to open- don't need to worry about breaking nails, and has a nice useable mirror. Very happy with my purchase. Highly recommend this set to all those who love no-makeup makeup, and are tired of shimmery eyeshadows.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

i like this palette, but of course this is just my experience and, as with everything, YMMV. first of all there is a range of depths.. light, medium, medium-dark and dark which is a good thing. there is a cream highlight shade which some people find essential (and it is more of a satin-matte than a matte) some may object to the number of other light shades but i do use them all as bases and for blending, depending on what other shades im using. for me, the palette provides 4 base/blending shades, 3 transitions, 4 shades for crease/outer lid/liner, and the highlight shade. as a neutral leaning cool person, i am glad that the palette is not chock full of warm shades. i do like a few and there are a few in there so im happy with that. it is also not full of cool shades either, but again there are a few and i enjoy those as well. i think this palette is good for creating a variety of base looks to which i add shimmer or glitter or pop of colour to the lid. with this palette i can create a pink/burgundy look, a pink/bluish gray, a taupe/neutral brown, a warm orangey brown, and use black as needed in any of the looks. UD's matte formula for this palette is firm, some may say a bit dusty, a bit dry. i will not call them soft and creamy. some people do like a bit of a drier formula. i for one find that to be a bit easier to work with, esp when in a hurry as this kind of formula does not fall out like a softer formula often can. pigment is sufficient.. except like i said there are 5 light shades in total and some people may think that is excessive. the transitions and darker contouring shades work fine for me. this palette is a good buy if you have no other mattes, or you would like to be able to grab just one palette and create your choice of a warm, cool or neutral base look. does the palette blow my mind? no.. it is a workhorse that does its job without giving me any trouble.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

meh, i wanted a matte palette to use allong the other naked palettes, since theyre so lacking in crease colours and transition shades, that i allmost never used them any more becouse of it. This didnt help me, its very underwhelming i didnt like the formula at all The lighter colors dont help with blending , the darker colors go on patchy. also I think im to light or to dark for the colours themselves . except bittersweet, that one is amazing and goes on so smooth.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have this palette since it came out and I was very excited because I didn't have something like this in my collection. I really like this, is so good, the pigmentation is amazing, in the pan some colors look similar but once you apply them are very different. They have good quality and for traveling (what I do pretty often for my work) is great because of the size, also you can create so many looks with it, you can go for something natural or a deep smokey eyes. The black is super black and you can easily use it as eyeliner. LOVE IT.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel