4.5

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I love the intensity of the color of the Beauty Bakerie matte lip whips I bought and am extremely happy with how long the color lasts on my lips. Some of the reviewers suggest trying castor oil, chapstick for the dryness or translucent powder for the sticky feeling. It smudges a little but is worth it because it help with the dryness. Still open to other suggestions. Thanks!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought this in the color Mon Cheri and it is a beautiful vibrant blue based red. This color is not for the timid. The staying power is awesome and it lasted through several drinks and dinner of baked ziti without any transfer or crackling. It wears comfortably and doesn't have that thick, uncomfortable feel when I lick my lips. This is an absolute winner!

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I purchased two of Beauty Bakerie's lip whips from ULTA in the shades Mon Cheri and Sangria Splash. After hearing and reading about all the hype surrounding how 'budge proof' these lipsticks are, I've got to say I'm really disappointed in the performance. I find these lippies to be average at best, even when using all of the techniques recommended by BB. The formula is quite thin, reminiscent of Lime Crime's Velvetines formula. It takes a minute for the lipstick to set, and once it does there is a noticeable dryness and tightness on the lips. Any lines or wrinkles are accentuated. While it's not the most uncomfortable liquid lipstick, I've definitely tried better formulas. I'm someone willing to trade comfort for longevity but the lip whips just don't deliver. I can get ~four hours of wear time before noticing cracking/ flaking on the inner rim of my lips, and if I eat at all, the lipstick's pretty much gone. Reapplication is a pain because the new layer of lipstick will pick up any 'crumbs' clinging to your lips, resulting in a blotchy mess. While I don't intend to return or throw away my lip whips, I doubt I'll be buying any other colors. Overall, I'm not blown away especially considering these are $20 a piece Pros: nice colors cute packaging formula's not great but it's not terrible either Cons: pricey formula is a little drying lip lines are accentuated doesn't last long prone to cracking and flaking along inner rim of mouth, especially after eating or drinking

About reviewer (46 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

HACK ALERT 01/07/17 want to make this a little more moisturising without affecting the longevity? Once dry add a touch of castor oil... yup, castor oil.. try it as a swatch on your hand, you'll be amazed ;) I have a few of these now, after trying KVD, colour pop, Milani and lime crime, these are my go to. My everyday red is mon Cheri; Im on my second one and will keep repurchasing. My go to browny/red is ginger snaps, another absolute love. I've turned so many of my fiends on to this. I'm a devotee

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought a lip whip in "I like To Chai Chai"- it's a nude shade, and my current go to. They're pricey-20$ for 1, but like it's been said over and over, they do not move. You definitely need something oil-based to remove it. I can apply in the morning and by evening, after a whole day of eating, drinking, etc-it hasn't moved. It's not drying, flaky-well worth a try!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is my favourite formula of liquid lipstick ever. This stuff lasts forever. I mean, forever. I've eaten pizza, soup, chicken, ice cream, you name it, I've eaten it with this lipstick on. There is a reason that they sell a specific remover for this stuff because it is so hard to get off. However, there is a trick. If you have a cheap lip balm, use it all over while this is on. Rub it in and let it sit for a while, and it will really help slide it off. Most cheap lip balms have some kind of oil in them, which means it will help remove liquid lipsticks. The colours are great, and the ones I have tried have never looked weird, patchy, or drying. For a lipstick that lasts this long, it never feels overly dry, and doesn't accentuate lip lines or wrinkles. This is a formula that feels sticky when you press your lips together, but I actually like this because it means it isn't drying my lips out. I love Beauty Bakerie as a brand, their packaging is so adorable and their entire bakery theme is amazing. They are a vegan brand, and these lipsticks are all vegan and cruelty free, which is so good. Can't recommend this enough. My personal favourite shades are Gingersnap and Syruptitious.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Other, Other

EyesGray


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I purchased this in Louvre Palace after seeing it on a youtube tutorial. I love the colour but the actual quality is terrible. I am not sure if I just got one from a bad batch, but within five minutes of putting it on it starts to flake off and go very patchy. I love the coverage when I initially put it on, so from the other reviews I have read I would consider buying another as they all seem to say that it's got great staying power. The colour is lovely too, and the packaging is amazing but my lips look terrible shortly after putting it on.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I only buy cruelty-free cosmetics; a vegan friend steered me toward Beauty Bakerie, and I'm glad she did!So far, I own the following Lip Whips: -Tres Jolie, a bright fuchsia/deep pink with reddish tendencies -Sakura Delight, a medium magenta pink -Cranberry Stiletto, deep red, tends to go pink on NW15 me -Mon Cherie, a balanced red The Grape Life, a slightly shimmery unapologetic purple that I bought for the purpose of mixing with Sakura delight; it would take a sterner heart than mine to wear this one alone. I echo what others have written about Lip Whips: They. Stay. On. Oil does break them down, but if you pat a bit of non-greasy balm on top, that alleviates the dry feel without compromising wear. Lip Whips are on the pricey side, but are well worth it. I wish there were more shades! buy them at Beautybakerie.com.

About reviewer (847 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My sister told me about Beauty Bakerie last year and she eventually ended up buying three Lip Whips, all of which look amazing on her AND lasts through our large family dinners. Still, I held out on buying them until recently because of the price of one Lip Whip ($20). I finally gave in when they offered the limited Hot Cocoa Set. The Hot Cocoa set retails for $100 and includes six shades: S’mores D’oeuvres, Swiss Mocha Frappe, Fortune Cookie, Louvre Palace, French Toast, and Gingersnap. Some people have a thing for reds or pinks, but neutrals and warm tones are more my type. My skin is medium-tan with heavy yellow borderline olive undertones (C35 in MAC) and I have quite pigmented red lips. Very few lip products show true to color on me unless I prep my lips with concealer or foundation before applying, which is something I'd rather just skip altogether. I can't stand the feeling of product piled on my lips. I also can't stand when lip products dry out my lips. Matte lip products tend to do that, but this doesn't budge even if you apply lip balm after. All of the Hot Cocoa Lip Whips are very opaque with the exception of French Toast. French Toast is the lightest shade in the set. It is a very pretty, light neutral with a hint of pink, but it borders on the concealer lip look on me... not my thing. It was the only one in the set that applied very streaky and watery. I don't know if all of the other paler shades are like that, so I may have gotten a bad batch. In any case, the other Lip Whips are incredibly pigmented, easy to apply, and has wonderful lasting power. My favorites in the set are Louvre Palace and Gingersnap. You might need a couple layers for it to be completely even, so give it a few minutes to set and you'll be good to go. You definitely need an oil-based cleanser to remove it at the end of the day. I put Fortune Cookie to the test the other night and I am so impressed. I wore it to a concert, drank a ton of liquids, ate onion rings and a huge cheeseburger after said concert, and it was still there even after I took a shower two hours after I ate that night. No touch-ups, either. Just note that oil does break it down, so be mindful of that if you're eating something like a very, very greasy pizza lol. Check out Beauty Bakerie's social media and YouTube for swatches and tutorials before purchasing since they're only sold online. I purchased the Hot Cocoa set with 10% off by joining their mailing list. Beauty Bakerie also offers promotional sales occasionally, which I recommend taking advantage of if you're still unsure about purchasing at the full cost. I'm totally sold though!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My new favourite lipstick, without fail. I ate a pizza with this on, and it looked exactly the same when I finished as when I started. Now for the serious review... hahaha. I came across these lipsticks after not having too much luck with any of the Jeffree Star shades. The first two I bought were 'Parisian Streets' and 'Midnight Truffles'. The first is a really beautiful blue-grey colour, which is something I'd been looking for for a while. The second is a pure black, which I'd been looking for since I was a moody goth 10 years ago. The doe-foot applicator is the perfect size and softness, makes application super easy. I find the best way to apply these is to do one coat, wait a couple of minutes, then apply another to ensure full opacity. They don't cake up when you use more than one layer. The dry down is quick - takes around 3 minutes to set. They don't set totally dry, however. They always stay very slightly tacky. Which I don't mind, personally, but it might bother other people. There is zero transfer onto glasses, food, or cutlery. Lasting power is insane - I don't have to touch my lips up for over 12 hours if I'm wearing one of these. Perfect for pretty much every scenario. I find this lipstick to be so comfortable that I forget I'm wearing it! I bought another shade not too long after the first two - 'Hawaiian Cheesecake'. Same as all the above, but the colour doesn't suit me. Gutted. Hahahaha. To remove these lipsticks, I apply a generous layer of oil-based chapstick over the top, leave it for a few minutes, then wipe away with a baby wipe. Works great. :)

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us