4.8

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
88%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

The most versatile and by far my favorite from all of CT's 11 Luxury Palettes (I've purchased or at least in-store swatched/tested each of them individually). The 4 neutral shades in here (Prime, Enhance, Pop and Smoke) complement whatever color I'm wearing and are the smoothest, most blendable, buttery mattes I've used in a very long time, the quality of these is just something else! When I say versatile I'm talking day/evening/night looks from just one small palette: Prime and Enhance are perfect for a day or work/office look (Prime also works really well as a brow bone highlighter), Smoke and Enhance are perfect for an evening event/office drinks, and right after that simply add Pop for that night out look. These are not too bold nor are they sheer, yet still brilliantly pigmented, and thankfully there's no sight of any shimmer in here. Elegant and classy (the selection of colors and the stunning, well-built rose gold palette itself), long-lasting and yes these are all perfectly buildable (and blendable) too, meaning ultimately I'm in complete control of whichever look I want to achieve, without the need of anything else. In short: I'm hooked! Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Lash Growth Serum: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Divinelash 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Face Scrub: ‘Sisley' - Botanical Gentle Buffing Cream 9. Moisturizer: ‘Lush' - Enzymion 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Just got it today. It's really pretty and pretty easy to use. I can see it looking good on anyone. I have several of these palettes and this is right up there. You won't be disappointed.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I am not sure if this is being discontinued or not because it is sold out everywhere. I had to get this off of Beautylish. This palette can take me day to night within seconds. It has a variety of depth and colors that is very versatile but dupeable imo. Shades - 1st shade is a cream bone color that is great to prime the lids or blur out edges of the darker colors for a better blended out look 2nd shade is a perfect neutral light transition shade that doesnt look too cool or warm. It is the most perfect transition for me and blends seamlessly into my skin but also adding depth an shadow where i need it. 3rd shade is the grey brown that is the darkest of the bunch. It is what i like to use as my shadow eyeliner. I love how it boosts my lashline and giving me a hazy look. this color is also great for a nighttime smokey eye. 4th shade is a chocolate deep brown that is not too light or dark. it shows up without being muddy. Great for an outter v shade to deepen and smoke out the whole look. I even love this all over the lid for a chocolate smokey eye. Pigmentation and Texture - the most buttery smoothest shadows ive ever laid hands on. It feels almost creamy to the touch. Blends like a dream as with all CT eyeshadows. It makes me feel like a pro at eye makeup ( i am far from it) I always always look like i have a black eye or bruised eye when i attempt a smokey eye. Not with this quad. It gives me beautifully blends smokey eye while still appropriate for daytime. While if i wanted more drama i can add more of the deeper shades to deepen the look and make it a night time look. Wear and Tear - This stays on all day but i do use Marie Antoinette Eyes to Mesmerize as a base. I have emtremely oily lids and i have not tried it on bare lids . I suppose it should be okay since it is all matte, Conclusion - this is my favorite eyeshadow quad ive tried from CT, i have Pillwtalk and Exxager eyes, ive tried Golden Goddess and Dolce Vita, I must say this is a must have because i love every single color in this. Its literal Perfection for the everyday matte eye lover, I dont always enjoy shimmer or glitter because of my hooded eyes. This is easy to blend, buildable and doesnt look ashy or muddy. I am nc20 light neutral to olive skintone and most browns can look either too warm or cool. I do feel these are too expensive so if you have some extra bucks in your pocket then go for it but i wouldnt repurchase them again

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Favorite eyeshadows. Fairly neutral in tone, very easily blendable and buildable, and just perfect to travel with. If I could only use one eyeshadow palette forever it would be this one.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is what I would call a workhorse palette. It's an all matte quad of neutral shades that can be mixed and matched to your desire of intensity. I find the quality of the shadows blendable, easy to work with, and long lasting with or without primer, and the color selection is truly idiot proof. If you're looking for a high quality quad that you can use often to create a variety of looks that will always be appropriate and will allow you to do some clever eye contouring, you really can't beat this. In my opinion, a palette's only job is to give you enough shades with which you can create a complete look without reaching for any additional shades and I think this one is the perfect example of that. The size is great for travel and I'm fine with the fact that it doesn't include brushes as I normally never use those tiny ones that come with palettes this size anyway. Packaging is brown, sturdy plastic, with rose gold colored detailing. It closes securely with a satisfying click, it's easy to open, and obviously it includes a mirror. The price is steep, but worth it in my opinion, due to the quality of the product and how useful it is in my collection. I'd definitely buy it again.

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The best matte quad/"palette" I have come across paired with Audrey is the most classy day time look & age appropriate for those over 39+ as it has NO shimmer shades it's 100% Matte. The colors are soft, elegant, make you look well groomed classic beautiful colors I'm so glad I got this I had to blind buy it as I don't have any CT counter in my state. Dolce vita will be rounding out my collex then I'm set for awhile. My eyes are sensitive & these do not irritate my eyes. CT has worked for all kinda folks from tom ford down & she has thrown herself into her line with much success in such a limited amount of time & she doesn't test on animals. Another (+) is that there are a bunch of tutorials on how to use it. #winning The Queen is a nice look age appropriated I like conservative MU but every so often I will do a pop of color on the lips.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this palette. Forever a nude champion in make up, I have tons of Bobbi Brown palettes and this is actually my favorite. The colour is very pigmented, smooth as silk and a little goes a long way. The fact is I have hooded eyes and metallic colours just don't work with my eyes so I am forever searching and buying matt palettes. What I like about this is that you can make a nude make up or smoky make up out of it depending on how you feel for the day. The shades are perfect for me as I have olive skin.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Charlotte Tilbury's other palettes have been comprised of shimmery shades and The Sophisticate was the first all-matte quad to join her line. This is flattering, natural-looking, and a handy size. For reference, I am fair with blue eyes and blonde hair and it's as if these colors were made for me, but they are flattering on deeper complexions as well. I have extremely sensitive skin and occasionally I've had to return or toss eye shadows that made my skin itch. But Charlotte Tilbury's formulas like my eyes. I've had no issues in that regard. This is a basic palette that feels complete, yet the colors also combine well with Tilbury's other palettes. The top left pan is a matte ivory "prime" shade, an essential base/highlight color, no surprises here. The top right pan, the "enhance" shade, is the most beautiful warm beige on blue eyes; it really makes them stand out. If you don't want it to be obvious that you're wearing makeup, you can apply these two top shades lightly and be done. They are natural-looking. The bottom left pan of a Charlotte Tilbury quad is normally a glitter pan called the "pop" shade. However, in the all-matte Sophisticate, this pan is instead a contour color. It's a soft, deep, mahogany brown that doesn't have orange or red undertones, so it stays the same shade all day and doesn't shift. For me this is far more practical than a glitter pan, although those can be fun. The bottom right pan is the "smoke" shade, and this shade does resemble smoke. It's a wonderfully neutral charcoal taupe, cooler than the other shades in the palette, but not bluish. I like this shadow when I wear a cooler lipstick. There are lots of matte palettes out there, and the cost held me back for a long time. I don't normally spend $52 on a quad. There are so many bargains out there. But I adore The Sophisticate, as I knew I would. I travel a lot, and some of my palettes from other brands are heavy and unwieldy, or worse, I have some products from TheBalm in cardboard packaging that are awful for the suitcase - they show every little ding and scuff and the lid can open in a makeup bag without your knowledge. The Sophisticate has a sturdy attractive compact with a mirrored lid that clicks shut. It's lightweight but has the colors I truly need. PROS: 1. These matte colors are easy to wear for work or play, for no-frills busy weekends or for more formal dinners and drinks. They go with everything. These shadows flatter you instead of upstaging you. 2. They wear well throughout the day. The color isn't prone to fading, creasing or migrating. The shadows look good hours later and the colors don't change, which some of my Urban Decay shadows do. I usually use primer but these shadows still look good when I forget. 4. I have very sensitive eyelids and this formula is comfortable all day. 5. The shadows have less fall than some other brands, so they are less messy. 6. I'm fond of the Art Deco style of the oxblood plastic compact. It's a convenient, portable size and sturdy enough. 7. These blend smoothly. Sometimes darker mattes look choppy but these are velvety going on. (Of course, good brushes are important with any powder shadow.) 8. I'm always thrilled when I find a cosmetics company that isn't testing on animals. 9. For beginners or those who want to explore new and different looks, there are several tutorials on the website. The palettes are pretty versatile, and you can go from day to night with these easily. For a minimal look I use only the lightest two shadows and I use the two darker shadows to add depth and drama for evening. It's easy to do a smoky eye with the darkest shade. CONS: 1. $52 for a quad is expensive. You can find cheaper matte eye palettes in other brands such as Too Faced. 2. No brushes or applicators are included in the palettes. I own a lot of eye brushes already, but fans of Urban Decay's larger Naked palettes are accustomed to getting a free tool. I'll compare this to Tom Ford Cocoa Mirage, which I purchased later. (Charlotte used to work for Tom Ford.) The ivory is not noticeably different from one to the other. The beige in hers is slightly warmer. The bottom rows are different. Tom has a reddish brown and a darker coffee brown. Charlotte has a deep mocha brown and a dark greyish neutral, so you can make hers look more grey if you wish. His pans are larger but he's also charging you $85. Her pans are smaller and she charges $52. There is no reddish brown in hers. His compact comes with a fabric pouch. Maybe you would use it, or maybe it would sit in a drawer. His quad includes sponge applicators which makes traveling easier if you actually use them. People told me that Tom's quality was SO much better than Charlotte's but honestly, I just don't see it. One day I put on eye primer, did one eye with Cocoa Mirage and the other eye with The Sophisticate. I did my best to match the eyes in tone and depth. They weren't 100% identical but close. I went to work, and no one I asked noticed a difference between the two eyes. Wear time was the same.

About reviewer (827 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us