3.2

Created with Sketch.
12 reviews
50%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I'm on the fence with that product. I have a short bob and i like the "tousled, beach look" you can create with a seas salt and a few loose curls however this spray is not convincing me 100%. First of all it make my hair drier. My hair is not damaged at all, virgin and short, so i don't like that. BUT if you're thinking "beach" you should be ok with the texture of your hair being a little scrunchier than usual. That being said, it holds no holding power whatsoever. I have to respray midday and there is some buildup going on. The scent is nice because it is very mild (i hate strong/unatural perfumes) So for me it's a 2.5 out of 5. It does SOME of the job, but it's not miraculous at all. I am a bit disappointed i have to say.

About reviewer (330 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I haven't owned this product long, I got it a couple of weeks ago because I've wanted to try out a salt spray for a while. I have long dry, colour treated hair, and when I added the product in wet, unless I used a lot, it didn't make much of a difference. It didn't make my hair oily or anything like other people have said, so I would just use a generous amount and it'd wave kinda nicely. I tried it dry the other day because I didn't get the chance to have a shower that morning, and my hair was suuupper knotted by the end of the day! I was on a trip that day so by the time I had gotten home I had spent 8 hours in the car so I wasn't sure if it was that or not. I tried it again today with my hair slightly damp and it did the same thing, super disappointed because I had heard a lot of good things about this product and John Frieda has never disappointed me before.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Awesome! I need to stock up on this stuff becoz it's super amazing. LUSH is still my fave but it is so hard to get you have to order it online for me becoz LUSH moved out of our mall in Macy's to some superdooper yuppy yupscale area w horrible traffic/location/parking; that was a huge mistake if u ask me. I'm not going to buy from them for awhile I was a huge Lushie too. The JF price is right & i haven't checked in awhile but Kroger used to have it all of the time w their amazing S/C. I'm so stocking up on this!!!! It is the best DS sea salt spray.

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is the first "beach hair" product I've tried and I really like it. I have a lot of hair that is somewhere between curly and wavy, often depending on the day. This product puts it a little more on the curly side and at the same time keeps any frizz in check. It's fun and I like using it on days that I want to go with the curls. I like the smell, the feel of my hair after using it, and it also seems to last throughout the day.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

So I would not buy this again. I have naturally curly, dry, coarse hair. I typically straighten my hair but figured if I wanted some wave on day 2 I could add this and get some wave. It doesn't really work for that purpose with my hair type. It does add a ton of texture and wave but it makes my hair feel too sticky and gummy. I feel like this product would work really well for thinner, fine, straight hair or even for adding texture on a shorter cut. The bottle and scent are nice, price is fair as well. Would not repurchase.

About reviewer (966 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great for my wavy hair which has just been cut into a lob. However it will not work on thin limp hair. Use common sense, it will not work miracles and more than serum will give me the poker straight shiny hair I wanted as a teenager. Use your head and buy products that are made to work with your type of hair. All hair can look beautiful if you accept and work with what you got.

About reviewer (325 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I actually like this. I for sure like it a lot more than most sea salt sprays I've tried. It has that super-heavy beach scent that can be nauseating (I like it, but try to smell it first if you're sensitive to scents). I have fine, medium-thick, long wavy hair (I don't color or even blow-dry too much, so it's pretty healthy). While this does bring out my waves and gives a nice beachy texture, I love this because it gives me more body than most volumizing products I've tried - especially if I spray, dry, then lift the roots somehow (soft scrunchie + high pony) to "set." It can feel heavy if you use too much, and I do feel the need for clarifying shampoo every once in a while when I'm using this a lot. It can emphasize frizz a bit, but also makes it easier to manipulate said frizz - I just grab the misbehaving tendrils and twist them into shape, and they mostly stay that way. I mention that my hair is minimally processed/mostly healthy because I do think that with a ton of use, this can be drying (it has alcohol, salt, magnesium sulfate - which are the things that make it work the way it claims to...) so if you have dry hair, I wouldn't NOT try it, I'd just keep a close eye on the condition of your hair. Also, it's cheap, always a bonus. OH, also: it doesn't actually have any coconut shizz in it, if that breaks you out! (most beach themed sprays do.)

About reviewer (542 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am so dissapointed! After all the rave reviews on the old formulation, I was excited to find something to turn my wavy/curly but always frizzy - unless oiled down- hair into tousled beach waves.with a WalMart around my corner I couldn't decide between this and a Marc Anthony Dream Waves spray. I chose wrong. This does nothing except make my dyed hair look dry and frizzy- like i afro-picked it for hours. This is the worst thing i've ever put in my hair. DO NOT BUY- you're better off spraying Clorox- which probably smells better too. I put more in- like a lot and put my hair up to see if it makes a differnce. I'll let you guys know but so far, it's just a waste UPDATE: Wet my hair, doused- A LOT OF PRODUCT- and it looked how it should-- but it dried the *#$% out of my hair and I had to use a lot of oil and serum tok get rid of the frizz and pretty sure the damage is irrrreversible. It's important to remember that beach sprays aren't curl defining sprays or wave enhancers: they're for a messy, tousled look. messy tousled+ wavy frizzy hair is just asking for disaster so it does work just not on my hair type. I won't repurchase,

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairOther

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Holy shit this stuff actually works for me. Me: reverse bob fine but plentiful color treated hair w/ a few grays (well when I fall behind on coloring). All my life I have had stick straight hair. Then I got pregnant and post delivery, I developed waves, not curls exactly, but waves. Over the years, I have tried a few curl or wave enhancing products and none ever worked...until this. I never got to try the original formulation so I can't compare the 2. This stuff gives me lovely defined waves that last all day. In fact, I haven't used a blowdryer in 2 months! I let air dry (before this would leave me w/ straggely no-body hair) after spritzing all over and hand scrunching and once dry, I have body and waves - cuts my morning prep time by 30 minutes = more time to sleep in or play w/ MU :) Will and have re-purchased!

About reviewer (624 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

UGH this stuff is awful. I remember using it back when it was out originally and thought it was ok then...don't know if my standards are higher now (in general John Frieda products are a fail for me) or if it changed, but it made my hair greasy, flat and look like I hadn't washed it in a week. Might be the worst stuff I ever used. My hair is long, fine and blonde and was just looking for it to add a little wave and body...not even close. Nasty stuff!

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone

HairBlond

EyesBrown