4.2

Created with Sketch.
53 reviews
70%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

As someone with very oily skin that has to blot often, this is a nice foundation. I must admit that it is a more “obvious” foundation, it’s on the thicker side with a semi matte finish. I find that throughout the day my oils and sweats don’t cause this foundation to break up or go splotchy and it does not come off with blotting. It applies very easily (I think it looks betters with a sponge) and my makeup layers nicely on top. I think this overall a solid foundation.

About reviewer (293 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Nice medium-full coverage. I wish it had more of a satin finish. A little goes a long way. Doesn’t break me out and matches my tricky olive yellow skin. Looks better after a few hours.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Great stuff. Liquid, so you only need a bit. Easiest used with your fingers, though that's a shame because Shiseido do have the best brushes, so if a brush is a your jam go ahead. I'm a hands on kind of woman though and l love the coverage this gives me, not too heavy but buildable. I don't worry about primers because, honestly, life's too short. Also, it doesn't go darker once you've applied it, Packaging is OK, but I lost the cap immediately and didn't miss it. My biggest complaint about this is that it was devilishly hard to find a counter to be matched on, and when I finally did the sales assistant couldn't be more bored, so I'm not sure assistant is the right word here. Anyway, now I know what shade I need, Golden 2, BTW, so I won't need her next time because there definitely will be a next time.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Pros .1N is a rare foundation shade that works great for those who want to have pale natural looking east asian skin. I've never seen this kind of shade among western foundations. It doesn't have obvious pink tones and yellow tanned tones. .apparently it contains technology that makes it look better the longer you wear it and is both oil controlling and hydrating. geek bonus. .Contains sunscreen to boost your spf .doesn't emphasize skin fuzz .Signature shiseido curved packaging Cons .This doesn't work on my slightly flakey normal skin. The flakes stand out the moment I apply with my fingers on moisturized skin. Luckily, the shiseido waso cream layered on top removes the flakey appearance. So I suggest using moisturizer to help with the flakiness if you are stuck with a flaky foundation .Pills like hell over my Olay whipped spf 25 SS. My Bourjois foundation doesn't do this so we know who's to blame. .Matte. Not a huge fan. I prefer a little shine ot glow otherwise my face looks a little dead. .Putting the cap back is a little tricky Ymmv. If you don't have flaky skin you might love it. Also, apparently this works best with brushes because when I use fingers, the application can be uneven.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

Shade 1N is great for my NW10-NW13 skin. The foundation is very liquid and easy to blend, but as it was mentioned by others, the texture feels oily, silicony. It’s a shame because I use a silicone-based primer from Nars as my spf, so together with the foundation they move around too much. It can be good on moisturizer alone or on a matifying primer/spf.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This review is for the oil free Synchro Skin not the Glow moisturizing version. Is a finely milled foundation that leaves a smooth light finish, matte to semi matte, hv normal/dry skin. Sometimes pat on moisturizer afterwards to get a more dewy look. It blends in exceptionally well, one or two small pumps is all I need. It doesn't feel like I'm wearing makeup, is very breathable, looks like skin, evens out skin tone. Doesn't transfer either. Gets better as the day goes on. Works best on moisturized skin. Use Natural 3, neutral beige. Packaging is nice though a plastic squeeze bottle would be easier for travel. This is replacing Chanel's Aqua that started to dry me out. Is decently priced given the quality though is difficult to find at department stores, best to sample in person for correct color match.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I hated this foundation when I actually worked for Shiseido as a beauty consultant as my skin was hormonal and temperamental. However as my skin improved due to a good skincare routine and keeping hydrated, I decided to give it another go and oh my god. Everytime i wear this I get compliments on my skin, it goes on so smoothly like velvet and gives pretty good coverage with only a brightening concealer needed for undereyes after application. It lasts very long work days without needing to being topped up. It also does synchronise with what my skin needs, if my skin is oily the foundation mattifies. If my skin is dry it gives it hydration. Cons: The colour range isn't great in this line. Thankfully I've found the perfect shade for me (Golden 3), however when I worked for Shiseido it could be quite difficult to match clients. Also be aware with this foundation that if not used for a few days a thick layer of yellow oil separates the foundation in the bottle. That's normal so just shake it up.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I managed to find a perfect shade for my NC20 yellow olive skin, which is Golden 2 in this. Also: this doesn't have a smell - I appreciate that. *Most of the time* it looks good. I have normal skin, prone to dryness in the winter. Currently, the texture of my skin is so-so, and I can get a little oily in my T-zone. Some flakiness can appear because I use retin-A and get pimples when I eat a little too much chocolate. My general opinion of this foundation is: I feel can't trust it... I apply this over a primer (Australian Gold Botanical Tinted Sunscreen SPF50), using a damp sponge. I have to use around 2.5 pumps of this for my entire face, which is quite a lot - the texture is very thin and fluid, and soaks into the sponge. This spreads pretty easily though and sets to a satin finish. Because of the thin consistency, this doesn't do anything to improve the texture of my skin - I have to rely on my powders for that. The coverage is about medium - no hyperpigmentation gets covered, but undereye circles look relatively good with only this on. The issue is: this makes me oily quite fast - I have to blot just a couple hours after application. Also, since this isn't an oil-based foundation, when my oils begin to come through, they can begin to break the foundation up a little. Actually, my nose doesn't get oily and most of my face looks good... until I need to scratch anything - then the foundation comes right off that spot. It's not like I'm clawing at my face - I try to scratch very gently. Because of this issue, I never know how I will end up looking. Most of the time I feel I actually don't look bad, but some times I look really bad, which makes me not want to use this any time I'm out of the house for a prolonged time, with no opportunity to check my face. Because of this, I don't think I will buy this again, but I WILL use it up. EDIT: I will NOT use this up, as it has chemical sunscreen that breaks me out (I only noticed when I switched over to a different foundation and my breakouts subsided). The chemical filter is octinoxate, which I know from before that my skin doesn't like, but I somehow didn't notice this contained it. Octinoxate has been found to be a human endocrine disruptor for the thyroid and it mimics estrogen and bioaccumulates. Even if my skin didn't react to it, I wouldn't want to use cosmetics that contain it...

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Beautiful foundation...I have been on the search for my HG foundation for a long time and I have now found it! I have tried and tested all the ‘popular’ high end foundations, your Chanel’s, Ester launder’s, Dior’s Clinique’s the list goes on. Having looked at the reviews for this foundation I decided to give it go and I’m so glad I did. I would describe this as a velvet Matt medium to full coverage foundation, that just glides on the skin giving you the perfect coverage, it literally lasts all day and doesn’t have that Cakey drying feeling most Matt foundation give you, another thing I find is that a lot of full coverage Matt foundations smell like paint and feel so drying on the skin this does not feel like that at all. My normal go to foundation are Nars sheer glow, Too faced born the way and luminous silk by Armani. I can honestly say this foundation blows them all out the window. Highly recommend if you want a lasting foundation that has a Matt finish that isn’t drying or cakey.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

THIS foundation is the bomb. I can't believe I haven't reviewed it yet. Once upon a time I had my all time favorite foundation discontinued. For YEARS, I tired every foundation under the sun from Armani, to Chanel, to MAC, to Dior, to....you name it, I've tried it. I started wearing this foundation about a year ago. I find that I have a pretty neutral/olive undertone and really dry skin lately (hormonal changes and maybe even this foundation may have contributed to my dry skin). I have tried the radiant version and it's just too much shine for me. Less is more with this foundation. I have learned when I try to build this foundation up, it can look cakey. I try to stick to 2 pumps even on days when I am badly broken out and just conceal. PROS: -Blends like a dream. I dot around my face and use a brush. Because i have dry skin, I go back over and press it in with a damp beauty blender. -Longevity - this stays on pretty well all day. I notice my t zone sometimes getting oily so I have to blot -Color - pro and con for me. For winter, Neutral 3 is a perfect match. In the summer it's too light and the color up is too dark -Doesn't break me out -Offers great even coverage -Looks flawless in pictures CONS -Contributes to dry skin, so I really have to moisturize as the side of my chin and jawline as well as smile lines get very dry and the foundation has the tendency to cake up in those spots. If I am having a break out, the foundation has the tendency to stick to spots....however, it does help dry the spots out faster. -Color - in the summer i have to add bronzer drops to this foundation to get the right color as the color range is limited. Even thee N3 is not a perfect match but I make it work. -The packaging - the cap is ridiculous and just sucks All in all, I would give it 4.5 stars. May not be suitable for super dry skin like mine but as I mentioned, I moisturize a ton (I even add 2 drops of seabuckthorne oil or argan oil to my moisturizer to make this work). The color range could be better. I would love to see a better color match. I can't seem to go up in color as it's too dark and the yellow color range is too yellow on me. However, considering the coverage, the longevity, how beautifully it sits on the skin and the fact it doesn't cause break outs, I LOVE this foundation and cannot find anything that comes close at this point.

About reviewer (160 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.