Lumene Bright Now Vitamin C Hyaluronic Essence

Lumene Bright Now Vitamin C Hyaluronic Essence

3.4

14 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

aqua (water), butylene glycol, propanediol, gylcerinm rubus chamaemorus (cloudberry) fruit extract, rubus chamaemorus (cloudberry) seed extractm phenoxyethanol, betaine, PEG-40, hydrogenated castor oil, saccharide isomerate, ascorbyl glucoside, hydroxyethyl-cellulose, xylitylglucoside, sodium hyaluronate, anhydroxylitol, trehalose urea, disodium edta, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, maltodextrin, xylitol, ethylhexylglycerin, sodium hydroxide, sodium citrate, adenosine, pentylene glycol, serine, citric acid, algin, caprylyl glycol, disodium phosphate, glyceryl polyacrylate, pullulan, potassium phosphate, limonene, linalool, butylphenyl methylpropional, geraniol, parfum (fragrance).

Start your review


on 3/19/2019 3:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this stuff. I have sensitive and acne-prone skin and all the other Vitamin C products I've tried 1) smell weird, 2) turn my skin orange, or 3) make me break out. This has done none of those things, and it has an awesome price, so I'm sold. I do hate dropper bottles and would much rather it have a push-down squirt-top, but everything else is great.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 9/2/2018 2:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had been looking for a vitamin c to add to my skin care regimen. Going into my thirties with having moved back to Sweden where the cold winters are drying out my skin, after years of living in California and Las Vegas, where I was constantly in the sun (without sunscreen most of the time!). By chance, I asked a sales person at a local beauty shop what she recommended and she went straight to this product and said, "you will love it". Since it was quite inexpensive, I figured I would try it out. This was right before summer began and spring had been really warm and sunny.

My first experience was the packaging. It felt like a vitamin c shot: fresh, clean and simple design and bottle. The orange color of the bottle with the pipette was making it easy to dispense the amount of product I wanted. The texture of essence is quite light, clear and a little bit gel like, but fluid. A little goes a long way, so I would first go with a drop and add more. I use it on my face, neck and décolletage after cleansing and before putting a serum and face cream on, in the morning and in the evening. It gives enough moisture, absorbs quickly but leaves your skin feeling moisturized and supple. During summer I would use it alone with a sunscreen, it's like an instant energy boost with the citrusy fragrance and lightness. I am now on my second bottle and am giving it more time to see if it actually is improving my skin. From what I can see, it has bettered my skin texture and I have a nice glow and suppleness to my skin. Really happy with it so far!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 4/17/2018 5:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This little vitamin C essence smells and looks nicely enough. The texture is pretty regular for such products, spreading easily.
But beware if you have a sensitive skin! My skin isn’t the most sensitive and usually reacts well to vitamin C, as I have some products with it in my routine. However, this essence/serum burns like hell! Tried it on my arm first and it really hurt. I removed it almost right away but still had crimson spots on the area I applied it to for an hour or two.
So I strongly suggest to try it (at least in shops) before buying.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 6/25/2017 3:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I think this is a good product because it improves my skin when I use it. The downside is that it's not as good as the milky, mica-free vitamin C serum that it replaced. It had more oomph, I felt like. But not sure about the "oomph" since it's not possible to make a more scientific comparison between this one and the more potent vitamin C-things because the main vitamin C-source in this product is plant-derived. I don't have scars and other damage. I'd like to know, on a more detailed level, how potent the vitamin C is in this. Is it enough or not to actually improve sun damage etc. But I have noticed that my skin is nice, soft and bright when I use it. It also sinks in beautifully. I just prefer a more scientific approach :) Also, Lumene should stop using fragrance in their products. The natural extracts should be enough. I rebuy this because it is affordable, easily available and quite often also on sale where I live. Plus I have not finished my research on what to replace it with. SkinCeuticals? Timeless?

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/15/2017 11:01:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I would just like to know if the product is non-comedogenic. Since using it I have been getting some congested pores-blackheads. Could some one answer this as I can not find that specific info. I need to figure out what product is doing this. Thanks


on 4/2/2017 10:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

There's so much hype about this product in Finland that I had to try it. I got it on sale (so I have the old formula), because Lumene is rebranding and changing some of the formulas (including this). This essence or serum normally costs 19,90 euros, but after the rebranding it will cost 29,90 euros.
The product is nice, but I don't know if it makes such a big difference in my skin care regimen. After spreading it out all over my face and neck it feels really sticky, so I have to wash my hands after using this because they get really sticky too.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really don't know what to make of this product. It has a faint citrusy scent, not particularly overpower. Texture is slightly sticky/tacky, but still easy enough to spread across the skin. As for effectiveness, it does seem to make my skin a little firmer/tighter, though texture is about same (I use exfoliant for this). As for brightness and/or clarity, it seemed at first that it really brightened my skin and helped create a glow, but (maybe it has more to do with the drier, colder, climate) now there seems to be a point of diminishing returns. It should be noted that I started using this around September/October and I used this every other morning, sometime everyday. It is early March now as I write this review. Additionally, as for the hyaluronic acid, I don't think it has done much for moisturizing or thirst quenching. My skin - because of the drying heat - feels parched/dehydrated. Finally, as for clarity, it is not doing much to reduce hyperpigmentation. Back to the drawing board, as I don't think I will be repurchasing this product.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/20/2016 4:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this as an alternative to Paula's Choice Resist C15 Super Booster. When I first used the Lumene I noticed a slight stinging on my face similar to getting citrus juice in a cut. I have been using this product for the past month. The packaging is very similar to the Paula's Choice. The stinging was really apparent the first time I used it, but that became less noticeable the more I used it. It has never completely gone away, but it is mild now. I have not noticed a dramatic improvement in the remaining brown spots on my hands (Paula's Choice dramatically reduced the brown spots by about 90%). The brown spots have been maintained and not become worse. Price is much better than Paula's Choice. Lumene is $25 compared to Paula's Choice at $48. I will finish the Lumene, but I will stick to Paula's Choice from now on. Typically I mix the Lumene with Dr. Carver's Miracle Repair Serum. I apply this all over my face, neck and chest after rinsing my face with water in the morning. I apply a sunscreen product after. My skin is combo and I feel like the serum and Lumene is suitable as my only moisturizer.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I only use Vitamin C serums on faith - I've never really felt one had an immediate benefit, but I am hoping that is protective over time. This one might be different. I bought it because it was half price of the one I usually use and it had hyaluronic acid. I feel like I've been looking pretty ok lately and this is the only product change, so . . . My skin looks more even, a bit tighter, and brighter. I like it!! I use it in the morning before sunscreen. The bottle is nice and I don't find there's much scent at all. Dries pretty quickly.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 5/25/2016 4:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have a harder time pinpointing the benefits of this product than I usually do with skincare products. So I've been trying it out for a pretty long time, and I'm at least 1/2 into the bottle at this point. Truth be told, I'm still a bit unsure of how much this product has done to my skin, and I had to really think back to what my skin was like before I started with it, and what's different now.

Around the time when I first started using it I was starting to break out a little bit, and since this was the newest addition to my skincare routine I stopped using it for a few weeks. My skin cleared up during that time, but I still wanted to give it another go before I admitted defeat. I'm glad I did, because whatever broke me out the first time around, it wasn't this. I've had no problems with it since I started using it again, and I've noticed that my skin is a little bit brighter and less dull. Lately I have been using it along with two other products with vitamin c, since I realised my skin seemed to be responding to it. So this, together with vitamin c peeling pads (from the swedish brand Kicks) and a papaya enzyme peel (Swedish brand Maria Åkerberg/Dermanord) is what I figure has helped me out a lot. I've never felt like I have any element of glow to my skin before, so I'm really happy to see that I do now, thanks in part to this product.

The other thing that I can definitely attribute to this product is that I never have dry patches anymore. I'm not a particularly dry gal, I have combination skin with oily t-zone and fairly normal (though acne prone) skin overall. I still tend to get a bit dry on my chin and nose though, despite also being a bit oily there. I've not had any problem with that since I've started use this though, and I suppose I have the hyaluronic acid in the product to thank for that. My skin feels really plump at all times, and not at all surface dry.

I do feel like it's not a skincare must to have yet another step before the serum - a serum for the serum, if you will - but for people who either want a moisture boost without adding oil, or feel like their skin is constantly dull-looking it might be worth it. For me, it's mostly the latter that makes it worth it. So I go with this + serum + target treatment for acne + moisturizer, and it's been working out well for me.

+ Cruelty free
+ Good for people who are both oily and dry, as it's oil free but still adds moisture
+ Sinks into the skin very quickly
+ Adds a healthy glow to the skin when used daily (personally I use it twice daily)
+ Smells nice, like oranges
+ Contains natural ingredients, like cloudberry

- Fragranced - contains perfume and also linalool, which from what I gather can also be a problem for some
- Sinks into the skin SO quickly that you have to work fast to distribute it evenly
- Feels a little sticky when first applied, though it mostly goes away
- A little up there in price as far as drugstore go, considering that you go through a bottle fairly quickly. Though not unreasonably pricy by any means.

6 of 7 people found this helpful.


Back to Top