Physicians Formula Argan Wear primer

Physicians Formula Argan Wear primer

2.9

14 reviews

35% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Cocos Nucifera Water, Alcohol Denat., Sodium Chloride, Leuconostoc/Radish Ferment Filtrate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Water, Leuconostoc Ferment Filtrate, Fragrance

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 7/17/2017 7:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm having a real love/hate relationship with this! First off, it's like $10 at the drugstore. That's absurd. I expect more for that price. I shake the bottle, spray 2 pumps in my palm and apply it to my face over moisturizer.

Some days my foundation looks amazing! Flawless, seamless.
And other days it looks streaky, settling in to pores, clinging to dry patches.
Its so frustrating! I think I may just finish the bottle as a moisturizer because its not worth the time it takes to remove my makeup and reapply it on those bad days.

Also, addressing the scent; it did bother me at first. But then I got used to it and its pleasant now. Its a mix of strong oil smell and a hint of coconut. I guess it just depends on the wearer.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I only use this as a primer after I apply regular moisturizer and sunscreen. I shake the bottle to make sure everything is even and then I spray it onto the palm of my hand and rub it into my face. I do not like to spray directly on my face because the nozzle isn't the best. I can say it has the worst spray nozzle I've tried so far but I do like the product itself. I find that it does make my makeup last for at least 8 hrs. I have dry skin so I feel it leaves my skin feeling moisturizered. I also notice that after I apply my foundation, it gives me this natural glow which no other primer I've tried did. And I like that glow it gives because of my dry skin and it makes me look more healthy. As far as the smell, it doesn't really bother me and I find that it does fade.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/24/2017 1:27:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

It was between this or PUR's neutral primer and even thou they are both great, I picked this one for the scent and extra hydration. The secret after shaking the bottle, spray into palm of your hand and warm up between palms and than hold to your face. The scent is so delightful!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/23/2017 10:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm returning this to the store. On the back of the package it said something like it was a base for make up, a primer, and a moisturizing treatment for skin, hair and nails. First spritz it felt dry going on, like I was painting my skin with something dying that would leave a film, like an egg white. It felt like it left a film and did not make my skin feel moisturized or dewey. Then I noticed there was 2 liquids inside te bottle, the argan oil and coconut water so I shook it up, thinking maybe it wasn't mixed well enough. Second spray was just the same as the first=drying. And the smell was horrendous.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/5/2017 7:45:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Yuck. Not sure whether this works or not--I can't handle the smell. I hate to be gross, but it smells like dog pee on an oriental wood mixed with rancid perfume.

Thought the spray would be nice, but it's not a fine mist, and the cap doesn't stay on.

This has to be the most negative review I've written in over 15 years, but I can't remember another product I wasn't willing to give a second chance.


on 2/11/2017 1:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Overall, this product is a good primer with a few big deal breakers that make it not worth the money I paid for it ($14 in-store in Canada) despite its positives. I would not repurchase this product, and I find it hard to imagine finishing the whole bottle after using it regularly for ~2 weeks.

First of all, the product definitely does not live up to the claims made on the packaging, which, to me, is forgivable (as many companies make sometimes comically exaggerated claims about their products, which rarely seem to be accurate descriptors, despite it being a good product). Although, Physician's Formula's outrageous description is nothing short of what can be found on a soap box, and is quite hilarious when compared to how the product actually functions. One claim that the company makes for the product that I found to be true is that it has an exotic smell. The primer smells like sweet molasses, or any other Argan oil product, which personally love.

The packaging is gorgeous, and feels nice when held in the hand. The frosted glass bottle feels sturdy and durable, however, the slightly-wobbly plastic spray nozzle does not. The protective cap over the spray nozzle does not fit snugly, and can easily be knocked off. The primer itself is a thin liquid, but feels slippery to the touch like a dry oil. I personally do not like how the primer sprays out of the nozzle. I find that large-ish drops of liquid come out, rather than a fine mist that would evenly distribute the primer over my face. Also, any primer that misses my face forms oily drops all over surrounding surfaces, which dries hard and is somewhat difficult to clean off of things. To compensate for the uneven distribution of primer on my face after spraying, I dab over my entire face with a damp beauty blender, sometimes I even spray the primer directly onto the beauty blender and apply to my face. This does not interfere with applying any other products with the same beauty blender in the same makeup routine.

As a first impression, I tried applying the primer onto my bare face, no moisturizer applied beforehand, before applying foundation. This made my skin immediately feel tight, and badly stung my eyes. Only after applying a BB cream over top did my skin feel less uncomfortable. After a few hours the stinging in my eyes subsided (the reason I didn't immediately remove the primer is because I didn't yet think that it was what was causing it).The primer allowed the BB cream to last all day with no wearing down, and stopped oil from breaking through on my nose which usually happens without a primer, and overall did its job as a primer pretty well. That night, I tried using the primer alone as an overnight moisturizer as recommended by the packaging. It caused my eyes to feel dry and burn very badly, only getting relief when I flushed them with saline several times. I woke up with very dry, tight-feeling skin and did not attempt to use alone without moisturizer ever again.

Not wanting to waste the money I had spent on the product, I have figured out how to maximize its good qualities while avoiding the horrible negative qualities (making eyes burn badly, drying out skin, and makes the outside of my nostrils sting if they're already cracked from having a cold). If you buy the primer, I recommend also doing the following. First, I generously moisturize my face, and let it set before tightly covering my eyes with my hand and spraying my face with the primer from slightly above, but never from below to avoid spraying it up my nose. Note: this stuff tastes pretty terrible if you accidentally lick it off your lips before wiping it off. I spread the primer over my skin with the beauty blender, then apply more to the areas I missed around my eyes (but not too close!) with the beauty blender. I let it set for some time to dry down some, and then apply my foundation. I use both tinted moisturizers/BB creams and medium coverage liquid foundations on a regular basis with this primer. I find that it gives a slightly glowy (not oily) finish to my skin, even with a matte foundation, whereas my dry skin often tends to look dull. It really does allow my foundation to last all day, and keeps oil from breaking through on my nose.

Ignoring its ability to burn and irritate the eyes and nostrils, it is a good primer. However, for the price, I do not find its good traits vs. bad traits to be justified. I would recommend searching for another, possibly safer primer.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/29/2016 12:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I do like this, but the smell is a tad strong (but not so bad that it is unbearable). I hate the idea of spraying this on my face. especially since it tastes very salty when you accidentally get it on your lips. I shake it up and use a dropper then mix it with my Revlon Colorstay. I have dry skin and this is a very good and light moisturizer.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 8/18/2016 9:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am really impressed with this product. Its a great gem to find this type of a product in the drugstores. I've had no problems with any breakouts or interactions with my foundation or skincare. I am mostly impressed with the company choosing to use a skin/health friendlier preservatives in a product--the radish room ferment is very progressive. I am now mostly using this a extra boost of moisture over my night cream. The smell I can tolerate but I know most people will not and there is alcohol in this product so it will sting a touch for those sensitive skins, so I took off a lippie for that. You can always purchase this brand on sale at CVS to save you some bucks.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/1/2016 3:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The bottle is beautiful and enticing. The smell is overpowering and lasts very long. It's supposed to be a product that you can use on your skin and in your hair. No thanks, to either. The spray goes everywhere and it's just an oily mess. Again, lovely packaging. Looks like an exotic vacation in a bottle. But the product is a bit ambitious and doesn't quite deliver.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This stuff did not work for me. And I really wanted it to because I love the concept of it! It feels like it would be amazingly moisturizing on dry skin - I have combo, so, uh yeah not sure why I bought it knowing that would be one reason why it just did not work out for me..but I did it anyway, and it made me sad. First, the bottle is really nice for just a primer. No other companies come to mind that have a nice pretty looking bottle. But that's where I gotta put the breaks on this. The spray on the bottle just damn near goes everywhere except my face. So my hair, and clothes, get a nice shower of primer. Also, the scent..is..odd. In my opinion. It's like..hmmmm..L'Oreals Elnet hairspray? Old lady floral with just a hit of strange sweetness? What is that? But maybe the one I bought was off, I haven't known anyone else who's had this for me to give it a whiff though. And finally, this product made my skin feel itchy. And my skin is resilient af! Rarely ever does it get a reaction from products. So..I guess, for me, it was very disappointing. That being said, I really do love a lot of products from Physicians Formula - this was the first dud (for me) that I've come across.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.

Back to Top