3.4

Created with Sketch.
41 reviews
60%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I looovvvvveeee this palette in "Chocoholic." The colors are gorgeoussss. I needed a brown-toned eyeshadow palette and this one definitely more than fit the bill. A very good mix of wearable shimmery shades and mattes, the darker the better. I like that the pans start out being semi-light and they go from being shimmery in the middle to very dark if you wanted to create a smoky eye or swipe on for an easy bottom lash line color. I have the Maybelline Rock Nudes palette and the Nars "Wanted" palette. Maybelline products tend to be itchy on my skin, but I thought the "Rock Nudes" would be my "go to" palette...they have a beautiful dark blue that I can't find anywhere else but in that palette...the "Wanted" palette I love the colors of, but I can see myself reaching for the "Chocoholic" palette more. Instead of making some colors I wasn't going to ever use and then mixing them with colors that I would use on a daily basis, I'm glad that CoverGirl went back to their roots and made a very versatile palette of JUST BROWNS. There are so many color ranges in the drugstore that cater towards people with hazel, green, and blue eyes, but NONE WHATSOEVER for women with brown eyes? I was in CVS today, and I was talking with my Mom about, of all things, sanitary pads. Companies make larger packages of feminine products in "regular" flow sizes when women nowadays bleed heavier and need larger packages of "Overnight" pads. I saw one package today that was a "regular" flow (of thirty napkins) as opposed to "Overnight", which had ten pads? Or maybe sanitary napkin companies just assume that women are all "regular" flow bleeders? Anyway, I'm happy to see a fully BROWN palette. I can see that a lot of reviewers are complaining about the smell. When I did purchase this palette, there was a strong scent of chocolate, which was nice. I'm not sure if all of the palettes are designed with that scent, but it seriously doesn't bother me. It's great. I think these palettes launched somewhere around Valentine's Day, which would make sense.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Man this palette breaks my heart! I’m a huge sucker for cool mauve shadows, and this palette is like a cooler, mauvier version of the Urban Decay Naked Palette. Unfortunately, while this palette looks like a dream, it doesn’t apply like one. The eyeshadow how this very fine, soft texture that feels super silky and luxurious the touch, but it’s just too powdery to adhere well to the skin. Even over primer, it takes a lot of layering to get anything more than a sheer wash of color, and it fades within 4-5 hours of wear. That’s too poor of a performance for me to mess with. Which is such a shame because I really, really dig the colors of this palette.

About reviewer (460 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This isn’t bad for a drugstore imitation of Urban Decay’s Naked 3 palette. The colors are beautiful but they fade and fall out. Still, worth purchasing overall—mainly for the rose gold shade and matte mauve.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a very pretty palette. I have tried three out of the currently four pallets in the trunaked line; Nudes, Goldens, and Roses. And sadly, I have to say that even though I find the Roses one the most visually stunning one, it let me down in comparison to it's sister palettes for only just one reason -but a very important one- it's not as pigmented. I had to use an eyeshadow primer and apply two layers of eyeshadow to get comparable payoff, and even then, I think I noticed it fading after only a short time wearing it. So, even though I do think the colors are beautiful, that downside is probably going to cause my to look for another pink/purple palette. It's good enough to use up until it's gone; but, I probably won't repurchase.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have had this palette for about a month and half and have used it several times to give it a good test. I have used different brushes and primers and techniques. I wanted these to be good because the colors look so beautiful and they are affordable but they are just lacking. The matte shades are extremely fine and powdery(fallout!) And I've hit pan already on 2 shades because when you put the brush in it goes everywhere. You really have to buildup the lighter colors to get any pigment.The shimmers look so beautiful in pan and when you apply.. but then within a minite or two they loose their shimmer and almost dissapear on your eye. I even tried foiling them and same thing. Its a shame because the shades look so amazing.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This looked so pretty in the package, so I bought it. Totally regretted it. Weird, chalky texture with almost NO pigmentation...and what was there disappeared off my eyelids in the matter of a couple hours. Tossed in the trash.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love eyeshadow but I'm a student who doesn't want to drop $50+ on Urban Decay. I really like the colors of the Naked 3 though and finally drugstore brands have offered up their own versions. There are a couple of things I like about TruNaked Roses: the shades are beautiful, they're shimmery but not sparkly, and the pigmentation is really really good for a drugstore brand. I don't have to build these up too much (but I also have pretty light skin). They also blend very well. On the other hand, they're powdery and there's a lot of fallout. The packaging broke for me pretty quickly. I don't know how long they last on the lid because I always use a primer, but with the Wet N Wild eyeshadow primer I got 8+ hours of wear. Overall this is probably the best drugstore eyeshadow palette I've ever used. Still it's not as good as my roommate's Naked 3. I think I paid around $12 so it was a really good value. I don't think I'm going to buy it again because I only ever use the first 4-5 shades, so I'll probably look for a quad to replace it with.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wanted to like this sooo badly! The colors are gorgeous. I couldn't really justify buying any more eyeshadow, but when it went on sale I broke down and bought it. As soon as the tip of my eyeshadow brush touched the shadow, it began to turn into dust. This is the most powdery eyeshadow that I have ever used. I tapped off the excess brush and applied it. Fallout everywhere. This is definitely one of those shadows that you'd want to apply before applying your foundation! The pigmentation is not great with these shadows, so they need to be built up. That being said, they did blend quite well. But they wore off quickly. The packaging (like all d/s eyeshadow) is cheap plastic. No mirror, cheap applicator. This went back to the store for a refund. I couldn't justify keeping a palette that made a mess everywhere. If you're wanting these colors, but can't justify spending over $50 on Urban Decay's Naked 3, I recommend W7's Colour me Nude from Amazon. The pigmentation is pretty good, the colors are a dupe for UD's. I own both the W7 and UD's (don't ask me why!) and I actually prefer the W7 palette for several colors. And it's less than $9, which is several dollars cheaper than the Cover Girl palette anyhow! You can't lose.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

The war of the roses continues. Still on the quest for that UD Naked 3 dupe, but I think I'm getting closer and closer to finding that holy grail of drugstore alternatives. Here are my final thoughts after trying out the palette: *Packaging - When you pay drugstore prices, expect drugstore packaging - pure and simple. *Palette range - This palette offers an even number of pink and mauve staple shades commonly found in UD's Naked 3 palette and other palettes with a similar color scheme; total of eight (8) pans. *Texture - Smooth, buttery - not too powdery. *Fragrance/Smell - No strong fragrance that I can detect. *Fallout/Kickback - Some, but manageable. Tap the brush off before applying. *Application tools - Fingertips and brushes work well with the formula. *Blending - Blends easily, but always use clean brushes (again) when going from pan to pan. *Technique - Patting, sweeping, and swirling distributes color well. *Color Payoff - Pigments are rich and opaque when for finger swatches, but brushes give of soft - not sheer - results. Use a setting/fixing spray on the brush before applying shimmers to keep the reflects on a little longer. Overall beautiful. *Durability - Again, I have oily lids, and I'm currently in a humid environment. It faded after a few hours. Then again, most palettes I own - even the great, high-end ones - fade. *Would I recommend this product? This is best alternative I've found, so far. Definitely a must have for thrifty makeup lovers. Overall, I give this product a 3.9 - maybe, even a 4. The price is pretty standard, but you only get eight shades, so it's a hair pricier. Still - it's a fantastic addition for any makeup collection.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Well, I had the UD version but rehomed it because I wasn't using it. This one was gifted to me so I thought I'd give it a go. I think it's actually better than UD. The pigmentation is pretty intense for a drugstore palette and used without a primer the wear time is fairly decent. 6 hours before it's starts to crease just a little bit but no fading. Covergirl sure has come a long way in the quality department.

About reviewer (320 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown