2.6

Created with Sketch.
82 reviews
35%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Nope, NOT a liquid lipstick as it NEVER dries down, even after 3 - 4 hours and it stays glossy and wet. Only buy if you want a pigmented gloss. Vivid, but tnot matte. Not for sensitive lips - burns mine. Smears outside the lipline transfers like crazy so its best not to wear if you need to eat, drink, kiss, smoke, or touch your face alot. Application starts off streaky but with a bit of work you can get it full smooth coverage with a nice glossy shine. Just bear in mind this slippery sucker has a tendency to move.

About reviewer (1216 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

made my lips numb idfk why would not buy again

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair

HairRed

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got several complements when I wore these. They do actually turn matte and last a lot longer than regular lipstick, however, they are very drying, even when worn with balm underneath. They do not look good once they start to fade. Will not repurchase.

About reviewer (3503 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Uhhh Maybelline, do you know what matte means??? These have been out for a while but the shopping bug bit me and I picked up the fuschia color (I'm a sucker for electric fuschias that look a bit red). I was excited because a fuschia in this color has never existed in a matte before! It never dried. In fact the product got on my teeth and *stained* my teeth. The applicator made it easy to line the lips but I was expecting this to DRY DOWN to a MATTE and it never did. It remained glossy and wet, which is a pretty big disappointment considering the labeling. It's a pretty color but I wish it was budge-proof like the Milani Amore Mattes.

About reviewer (192 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got the matte vivid liquid in nude flush, it is a gorgeous warm muted pink that brightens up my pale skin. It is one of my favorite pinks in my entire collection. This is not exactly "matte" which is OK with me. I don't treat this like a liquid lipstick that completely dries down because it simply doesn't, however it lasts for a reasonable amount of time without touch up and doesn't get patchy. This however, can sometimes very in one line of lipsticks with the different colours and I haven't tried any of the darker colours so i'm not sure if they are as good as this one.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Oooh girl this did not perform. At all. The opposite of perform. Neglect. Like they didn't finish testing the product cause they ran out of time. It's streaky as hell. Wet and never dries down. Not matte because there is shine present due to the wetness. Maybelline got me good.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Got this in rebel red, And all i can say is: it stings my lips something horrible and on top of that this is not matte. More so just.....wet stuff that burns your lips.

About reviewer (157 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It's been a while since I've purchased a Maybelline lipstick but this was a pleasant surprise that completely fit the bill for what I was looking for (aka: not a dry, crumbly matte). The texture of this is what gets me: it's relatively moisturizing, it's not a matte, but rather a creamy almost mousse like texture (as the previous reviewer mentioned) like a thicker NYX lip cream. This was extremely comfortable on the lips and the color 'Nude Thrill' was a total MLBB (with some slight beige undertones). This isn't transfer proof, there is no discernible smell, and while I think the "vivid matte" title is a bit misleading, I still really enjoy the pigment and texture with this stuff. In my personal opinion it doesn't bother me that this is a true matte/transfer proof, as I find lipsticks that don't budge leave my lips feeling dry and uncomfortable, which this does not! I paid $7.99 at ULTA.

About reviewer (216 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

As many others have said, these aren't really matte (more satin) and never dry down. The formula is thick for a liquid lip product, and isn't actually liquid, it's more of a cream. It reminds me of NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme in texture but not in formula. I didn't think it lasted at all on my lips, and they are not transfer proof. It has a sweet smell but the taste is awful. It does remind me of a very perfumed soap. With all of the great liquid matte lip products out there today, I would skip these completely.

About reviewer (96 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’m so confused. What on earth were they thinking when they called this matte?? It’s almost like they walked into a room of men playing fantasy football and asked them to name this real quick. One of them was named Matt Vivid so they just went with it. If this were billed as a bold glossy lipstick it would probably be getting rave reviews. Or at the very least, better reviews. I wasn’t looking for a matte (or a Matt but I’m open minded) so after walking around with a swatch on my hand for ten minutes and seeing that it was still as glossy as when applied, I went for it. I hate to harp on this, but not only is it not matte, it NEVER SETS! That’s the opposite of matte, Maybelline! They may as well have put a spoolie in this and called it mascara. Things like this make me question the entire line. Very unsettling. As a glossy lipstick it’s not bad. It’s really glossy, comfortable on the lips and impressively pigmented. However, like anything truly glossy it can get very messy. Don’t wear this on a windy day with long hair down.

About reviewer (240 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown