3.8

Created with Sketch.
384 reviews
69%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Okay.... so I was first introduced to this foundation from a fellow oily skinned co-worker. Plus she was older than me...in her 50s. and her skin looked great!! I used it for some time AND THEN decided to look else where ---- idk why????... but with me and foundations--the grass is always greener on the other side. Fast forward 10+ yrs and many more foundations later (MANY from Sephora!) AND I tried it once again because I had a tube I hadn't used in my makeup drawer. I was blown away!!!! Why did I stop using THIS?!? why? Just a bit of background on my skin-- I am a Native American chick with super oily skin. Many foundations that are made especially for oily skin do not help me at all. My skin ends up breaking down the foundation in a few hours and leaving me looking an oily, shiny mess with zero coverage!! It looks awful!!!!!! And these are expensive foundations supposedly made for oily skin too!!! My other issue is that my skin is a hard match. Sometimes a formula works "okay" but the maker does not have a good match for my skin tone. So that leaves me always looking for a better match and a better foundation. HOWEVER, with THIS foundation-- it matches my skin as closely as I'm going to get as far as foundation goes. It oxidizes very well for me and leaves my skin looking matte and just normal-- like skin!!! and THAT is all I've always wanted!!! Just my acne scarring somewhat covered and my oily skin kept somewhat matte. THIS does that. AND at the end of the day, when my skin has broken down some of the foundation...l still look decent!?! that always amazes me when I look in the mirror after a full day walking around in the summer heat-- i still look alright.... there's still some coverage left and my skin still looks like my skin with some of my imperfections covered. THAT always amazes me. I do not know why I was still looking for my "H.G." foundation--- tbh, only 2 foundations have ever worked well only life for my acne scarring and hyperpigmentation as well as my oily skin and skin tone/color. THOSE 2 are Revlon ColorStay foundation for Combination/Oily skin AND this one: Mary Kay Medium Coverage Foundation. That's it...those are the only ones that have decent coverage, match my skin shade/color, last a long period of time thru summer heat and my oily skin (isn't broken down by heat & oil in 2 hours or so) AND leave me somewhat mattified and not "dewy" and greasy looking. In addition to all of this--- it doesn't break me out!! SO I think I am always going to have a tube of this on hand. I am tired of the searching and swatching, the returns and the break outs from some foundations. I think this IS now my HG foundation for now. Makeup addict that I am, I'm sure that one day I'll be lured into trying something new in the hopes of a new product that matches my skin flawlessly and keeps oil under control-- BUT i think I will also remind myself that I have something that does match all my criteria and meets my needs already. to my Oily skinned sisters out there-- Give this a try. I did.. I was amazed that it actually worked for me?! I still kind of am?! The "new" version-- the MK Timewise Matte foundation didn't work whatsoever and it made me look horrible as well!! BUT THIS, THIS works fantastically and I would advise all oily skinned gals to give this a try!! I'm sure glad I did all those years back!!!!!!! I'm lifelong customer now!!!!!

About reviewer (101 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this foundation yesterday and trust me it's the best. I ended up getting sweaty,I patted my face with my sponge and after couple minutes I still wasn't oily. I went to the club went in the ladies room and still no oilyness lol,my face was still fresh looking I went home and look at my face again it was still fresh. I even hesitated to wipe it off it looked awesome I loved how it controlled my oily skin I'd recommended this to anyone with really oily skin It works????

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It oxidizes! Looks orange on the skin! Yuck!

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is my holy grail foundation! I have supppppper oily skin and this is the only foundation that has worked for my skin. It lasts for 7 or more hours. My only complaint is that for $18 it could be more than 1 oz but other than that if you need a full coverage long lasting foundation this is the one for you!! 100% recommend.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair

HairBlond

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It's good foundation has good coverage. it doesn't last all day so you need to reapply. good for beginners

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Best foundation. I have very oily skin and this foundation reduces shine and does not cause breakouts or irritate my eyes which tend to be sensitive and irritated by alot of beauty products. . I have very fair skin with yellow and pink undertones plus vitiligo and this foundation evens out my face the best...very very happy.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Whatever the reason, like Estee Lauder's foundations, I can't use MK foundations. They make my face 'bump out', meaning that while they are not actual pimples,they form bumps on my face. And this foundation I don't recommend for sensitive individuals no matter what the ads say.

About reviewer (165 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I really don't like this foundation. Its longevity SUCKS. Im talking all my blemishes are peeping through by the 3-4 hour mark. The coverage is sheer buildable to medium. It looks fine freshly applied. It has a matte finish. Doenst blur anything though. The oil control is very weak, I get oil breakthrough very quickly. I had to blot/powder 3 hours in. I have combination to oily skin, and live in hot and humid weather, though today it wasnt particularly hot, and it wore awfully. This foundation also oxidizes to a darker color, which thankfully was not an issue, as it still looked fine on me. I would only give this a chance if I was a teenager or very young woman with normal skin in a place with template to warm weather. This will suck in very dry, cold weather and in very hot humid weather.

About reviewer (349 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I personally really love this foundation! the coverage is good for medium and it makes my complexion even as can be! the only problem I have with it is that I have oily skin so it wears off from my oil in about 8 hours but it says on the package that it holds for up to 8 hours so I can't complain!!!!!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

For reference, I am MAC's Nc25 and I use this in Ivory 200, which is a little light and too pink toned for me (I'm almost sure it oxidizes, though). This a foundation for people that like very matte bases, period. It is truly matte and it will cling to any dry patch and fine lines you may have on your face, as well as flakiness. This makes it suitable only for very oily and predominantly young skins. I am combinantion and, even though I'm 19, I have a few lines under my eyes and around my mouth. It's nothing major, but this foundation does emphasize them, as well as the dry patches around my mouth. Even still, I like this becuse it doesn't break me out, not even a bit. Foundations always break me out, even the ones that are made for oily skins. This is just perfect for those days when I'm having spots and don't want to aggravate them, or if I'm very oily for some reason. It is fairly long lasting, as it doesn't budge and it doesn't transfer (and that's a REALLY great thing). On my cheeks, where I'm the oiliest, this behaves really well, keeping my oils at bay while still looking natural. The coverage is medium, as the name suggests. It's not too buidable and I find that my skin never looks airbrushed or flawless when I use it, but it hides imperfections nicely. The packaging is a squeezy tube, which is quite practical and portable. To me, this is a safe foundation: even though it has its flaws, I know it won't damage my skin and it won't slip and slide everywhere, making it good for several different occasions. I highly recommend it for people with (truly) oily skins who are looking for a foundation that will last them through the day and won't require blotting or touching up, whilst still looking fairly natural and not too overdone. EDIT: I've recently tried a new foundation, after a long time using just this one. I felt like I have to reinforce some things: - This really does cling to dry patches or anything that is slighly dry. It's crazy. - This foundation is INCREDIBLY long lasting. Now I see it. My face has always been a makeup eater, and ever since I started wearing this my makeup stayed in place better than ever. I thought it was a combination of primer and skincare, but nope, it was this. This other foundation that I tried controlled my oiliness pretty nicely as well, but it just didn't last, even though every review I read said it lasted well on the skin. So, yes, now I see that this is truly a high quality product for someone with oily skin, and therefore I'm adding one point to the score. The price is unbeatable.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue