4.0

Created with Sketch.
24 reviews
79%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

My husband bought this lipstick in shade "01/My First Love" for me.he had asked the SA to give him a peachy,non-drying lipstick with affordable price and she suggested this one(it's 5 USD here)..when I applied it,both of us were shocked to see how pale and low-pigmented it is.it didn't show up on my lips eventhough I have fair skin.it was exactly like putting on a lip balm not a lipstick.I like that it feels very moisturizing on lips and I like it's glossy finish but I had to layer it at least a couple of times to make it look tinted and when I did that,it felt greasy and sticky.right now,I rarely reach for it and when I do, I just use it as a second layer on another lipstick to create a shiney look but all in all I don't like using it.I feel it's greasy feeling on my lips and it's taste in my mouth the whole time and sometimes It leaves a white line in inner part of my lips which I hate..when I'm in the mood of spending some time on my lips,I can create nice ombre lips by using another lipstick like Essence Velvet Stick in shade 04 (red) as a base and this one in center of my lips..when I use just one or two layers of this lipstick alone on my bare lips,it has a very pretty both glossy and shimmery shine,it's aptly named and it's really sheer and shiney but it's color has a white-ish cast on my lips which doesn't look good on me at all..it might work for you if you have naturally very tinted-red or pink lips or if you're even more fair But I like it's packaging.it's lid doesn't open by itself when carried in a bag.it has a nice vanilla-ish scent which I like when I smell the lipstick but I don't like tasting it when I have it on my lips I think I could have liked it if I had it in another shade..if it wasn't so bright/pale colored,there was no need to put on so many layers of it so it wouldn't feel heavy.I think generally shade 01 in Essence Lipsticks is not my cup of tea as I also have Essence Velvet Stick Matt Lip Colour in shade 01 and don't like that one's white-peachy shade either but I love that lipstick in shade 04

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have 15 Brick is Chic a lovely sheer caramel color. Unhappy they discontinued this was a very good formula. Nice scent, affordable.

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairSilver, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Split the difference because old formula was 5-lippies but newer formula is 3 lippies. The old packaging was so cute, it was the same shade as the lipstick and looked like their Trend Edition lipstick packaging. The new packaging is fine with the metal bullet and clear plastic lid but doesn't twist up easily. Their newer formula is a lot drier also. Old shade 54 Honey Bee is one of my favorite lipsticks I own. Its a shame I can't replace it.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The scent is too strong, wasn't able to stand it. Pros: very affordable So-so: ok packaging for a cheap product Cons: strong scent; color "Candy Love" is quite patchy; the formula is drying

About reviewer (143 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Worth every penny!

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Cool

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It is an overall outstanding product, well worth the price tag but did not have the wow element in it. The texture is soft, easy to glide on and has an even finish. However it doesn't make me enjoy the process of applying it because it sometimes feels like plastic to me, if you know what I mean. I wouldn't say it's buttery or creamy, probably more like cold butter. Bought two shades from this line and they are both very usable shades - buildable color and glossy finish. Nothing too bold or surprising. It comes off when you eat and drink but fades evenly. Never left a stain on my lips so very easy to remove. It smells like vanilla. Wouldn't purchase other colors simply because I don't enjoy the process of applying these particular lipsticks, these are absolutely wonderful lipsticks that are worth every penny spent on

About reviewer (61 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

WARNING: These are currently being cleared out for half off at the Essence websites in North America. Now's the time! This is generally a very nice line. I have four shades and would repurchase two of them. There are individual reviews for some of the shades here at MUA if you want more details. In brief - BFF is a reddy pink and I Feel Pretty is a pinky berry (both are fantastic), All About Cupcake is a sheer light coral but has some white base issues, Glamour Queen is a brown/mauve with glitter that you can feel on the lips. Like a Princess (new purchase) is a bright, clear pink with some red tones. These are sheer, shiny, juicy washes of color. Packaging is a silver tube with a clear/shade tinted lid. Nice packaging for this price point. It stays put together and the bullet swivels all the way down. If you want these, you'll have to move fast. I just picked another up at my local Shopper's yesterday before they sell out.

About reviewer (278 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I just got my tube of this product in 09 I Feel Pretty, and I simply adore it! It's my first time purchasing this moisturizing, glossy lipstick formula from Essence. I'm quite impressed my how comfortable and flattering the finish is! The shade I selected goes on as a deep and bright cherry color and seems to be something that would suit all skin tones, IMO. This product has the weight and thickness of a lipstick, the moisturizing properties of a balm, and the shine of a gloss. It's truly got the best qualities of all my favorite lip products rolled into one fantastic and affordable lipstick! I picked mine up in an Ulta store, and I'm sure it's available on their website as well. I'm a lip product junkie, and this is one of the best formulas and colors that I've found yet! It goes to show that you don't have to spend a fortune for great lippies, and I've tried all sorts of high-end brands. I definitely want to purchase more colors and will be back to Ulta in the near future to do so.

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

These are a really, really great product! I have the shades 09 I Feel Pretty and 13 Like a Princess. Both are equally great. I Feel Pretty is a medium slightly muted sheer red, and Like a Princess is a very bright neon mid-toned sheer pink. CONSISTENCY: These are moisturizing and feel great on the lips. They aren't greasy and have a slight bit of thick creaminess to them. APPEARANCE: They have bold very apparent colour while still being sheer, and they appear moderately shiny on the lips for the first couple hours of wear. The colour applies evenly on the lips. These are super easy to toss in your bag and apply without a mirror too. WEAR: Both shades I have wear really, really well. They last for hours on the lips. The shine wears off after a couple hours, but you are left with an even stain (!!!) after that or after eating that lasts for a couple hours more. After the shine wears away, the lips still feel like they have some product on them and still feel moisturized. I definitely recommend you try these out!

About reviewer (167 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I absolutely adore these! I have two shades - "Glamour Queen" and "Dark Deception". Both are super hydrating and, believe it or not, don't fade super quickly like a typical tinted balm might. The formula is incredibly moisturizing and slightly glossy, though not thick or glassy. It's a natural sheen that I appreciate. "Glamour Queen" is a sheer rosy nude/brown that looks nice against my fair/light skin. It's got a hint of shimmer, but that doesn't really translate much to the lips, except in the capacity that it adds a bit of dimension to the shade. "Dark Deception" looks blackened purple in the tube, and has little silver glitter particles running throughout. On the lips, it's a sheer purple-pink. A little bit of the glitter translates on the lips, but it's not tacky looking. I've found this shade stains my lips with a pretty, natural flush, so I adore this one the most. The scent is like a fruity candy, and there's a hint of a taste to these. If you're sensitive to smells and flavors in lip products, you may want to pass on this. The packaging is simple and pretty, but feels sturdy and of a good quality. For $2.99 at Ulta, you really can't go wrong!

About reviewer (513 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown