3.6

Created with Sketch.
23 reviews
56%
would repurchase
2.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

9 months ago

It's been a very long time since I've used a bar on my face. It went out of fashion many years ago, and honestly, bars were pretty substandard until JuJu and Pekee. I purchased the trial size, with the cute little travel case...I reach for them everyday now...I haven't used my beloved Beste cleanser for several weeks. I love the ingredients in both of these bars. I use JuJu in the morning and Pekee at night (after Slaai). I enjoying lathering up these bars and treating my skin to a good old fashion cleanse. Both leave my skin feeling so clean and soft. At first, my skin felt a little tight after using them, but within a few days, my skin adjusted and now I experience no dryness, whatsoever. They also dry quickly and completely, leaving no slimy film...they are miraculous little bars and I believe I have converted from using gel cleansers.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Full of cheap nasty ingredients like paraffin and SLS - skin broke out in acne, waste of money will go back to Clarins

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have both Juju and Pekee bars, as I couldn't decide which one to get and since I purchased during last year's VIB Rouge sale, I decided to spring for both. This is a perfectly nice bar cleanser for skin. However, it's ridiculously overpriced (as are all of Drunk Elephant's products, IMO) - it was $34 CDN when I purchased it and the price has now gone up a buck. For that price, they could have thrown in a soap dish with ridges (the type that helps to keep the bar from melting). Quite honestly, while this is nice, it is no nicer than Avene's facial cleansing bar, which is a fraction of the price of this and is just as gentle (perhaps more so) and does just as good a job. I won't get suckered into buying this a 2nd time purely because of the price.

About reviewer (1490 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this product, cleanses my skin without stripping and is very balancing. I use this at night as part of my routine and it’s just a great, simple cleanser. Definitely a second cleanse, would never, ever use this to remove makeup.

About reviewer (43 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love it. First time I’ve used a facial soap in 2 decades (the last was Clinique and it was awful). It’s gentle, removes almost all makeup, doesn’t interfere with my lash extensions and isn’t drying.

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have combination skin that is also sensitive. I was leery of trying a bar because in the past I have had problems with bar soap. However, Drunk Elephant makes a point of differentiating between soap and Pekee Bar: "Unlike soap which has a pH level of 9 or above, Pekee has an ideal pH level of 6.51, ensuring sufficient cleansing without drying or stripping the skin of its protective barrier." Sometimes I like the old-fashioned simplicity of a bar that lathers up and rinses clean. I have found Pekee Bar to be very effective and gentle, compared to soaps I've used in the past. However, I do alternate with various liquid and gel cleansers from other brands during the week. My skin can start to feel dry if I use this morning and night every day, unless I follow with a moisturizer. I keep the bar in a soap dish with a drain so it lasts longer. PROS: 1) My skin feels very clean and fresh after I use this. 2) Pekee Bar is also gentle enough to use several times a week. Oily skin might be able to use it more frequently than I do. 3) Removes most of my makeup (except waterproof mascara and eyeliner). 4) Available in a generous 4 oz. size, yet also comes in a smaller size, a travel duo with Juju Bar, an exfoliating bar. 5) I haven't had any breakouts or irritation from using this. I've had trouble with other cleansing bars in the past. 6) Fragrance free 7) Cruelty free CONS: 1) If I'm wearing waterproof mascara, I still have to use a makeup remover in addition to this, such as Cinema Secrets Break It Down. 2) If you have dry skin, this might be too drying to use as a daily cleanser. 3) The box it comes in is cardboard, so you can't put the bar in it until it dries. Not a big deal unless you're traveling. However, I wish the small size came in a nice travel-friendly dish with a drain and a lid. 4) Kind of expensive: $28 for a 4 oz. bar. I recommend getting the travel duo to start. Try it out for a while and see how your skin responds to it. The travel duo contains a 1 oz. mini of each bar, Pekee and Juju. I enjoy using Pekee Bar and would definitely buy it again. INGREDIENTS according to Drunk Elephant's web site: - blueberry extract: potent antioxidant with soothing and anti-glycation properties. - virgin marula oil: super-absorbable oil rich in antioxidants and omegas 6 and 9, nourishes rejuvenates the skin for a youthful glow. - honey: has antioxidant properties, helps to soothe and nourish skin. Ingredients: Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Disodium Lauryl Sulfosuccinate, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Starch, Cetearyl Alcohol, Paraffin, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Water/Aqua/Eau, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Honey/Mel/Miel, Glycerin, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract

About reviewer (827 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This feels amazing when you first suds-y it up on your hands, but unfortunately that was the only good part of the experience for me. Like other reviewers, I found it drying to the point of irritation. I have mature, sun-damaged, sensitive skin so I'm super picky. Other DE products are great, but this is not. My search continues....

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

For a pricey bar of soap, this doesn't cleanse off all my make up and the fact that Drunk Elephant is so clever with their packaging and yet they leave this as a bar of soap that's unhygienic to store is beyond me. I did like how my skin didn't feel dehydrated or irritated but I don't think it's enough to repurchase.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I found this to be very stripping. Not super painful, bone dry, but not moisturized and toned like the company claims. It doesnt remove makeup so youll have to add another step. I havent found this to be worth the money.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have both Pekee and Juju bars and like them both. Pekee is supposed to be hydrating and deep cleansing bar. I don't know how "deep cleansing" it is but it sure is nice, gentle and non-drying and used with a konjac or similar gentle exfoliating sponge, it does a really effective job of cleansing without leaving my skin feel stripped dry. As I said with regard to the Juju bar, for this price, it wouldn't kill DE to throw in a "draining" type soap dish/holder (the type with ridges that help the whole bar dry after use).

About reviewer (1490 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown