Hourglass Ambient Lighting - Edit Palette

Hourglass Ambient Lighting - Edit Palette
Ambient Lighting - Edit PaletteAmbient Lighting - Edit PaletteAmbient Lighting - Edit PaletteAmbient Lighting - Edit Palette

3.8

18 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 1/6/2016 9:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful palette. I'm giving this a good amount of lippies because there is a nice selection of blushes, bronzer, and highlighters. This palette is a good choice if you want to sample multiple items from the hourglass ambient powder line. An individual powder is $45 and you get 6 powders for $85 but the entire weight of the palette is less than an individual powder. There are youtube videos on it. I don't mind because I wanted to try multiple items and then purchase one or two of the individual powders. I'm pale and I'm able to wear all the shades in this set. As a whole, it gives a more natural look than I usually go for because I like to look like a drag queen but I do like this palette.



on 12/28/2015 6:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

OVERALL: beautiful palette that gives a great idea as to what you may like from hourglass and a big selection of products in one purchase, so a great gift and great to travel with. absolute perfection for those who can't afford to buy the full size of everything but would love to try them, they're really special products too! the glow they give is so beautiful!

MY ROUTINE: i use a demi-matte foundation (NYX stay matte but not flat) and urban decay naked skin concealer as a base. the demi matte foundation stops my skin looking sweaty/greasy while using so many illuminating products, or i use a matte bronzer and blush. then i set my under-eyes with a real techniques contour brush and diffused light. then i take my duofibre contour brush (also real techniques) in dim light and set the rest of my face. with the same duofibre brush i pinch the sides slightly so it's slimmer, i highlight the tops of my cheekbones, sides of my forehead, tip of the nose and cupids bow with iridescent light. bronze with a RT doufibre powder brush and luminour bronze light, and use usually luminous flush on the apples of my cheeks or mood exposure on the outer part of my cheekbones with a no.7 directional powder brush. they all look exactly the same after hours on the skin, even the blushes so i'm impressed (when using the nivea men aftershave balm sensitive as a primer)

BRONZER: hourglass does two bronzer shades normally, but you don't get to chose which you want here, you git give the light. that suits me, but i don't like that dark girls always seem to have fewer products/shades on their side of the spectrum. however, not having dark skin, i wouldn't know if they have a use for the light shade, it may be useful as an eye shadow? or possibly a blush-topper? but anyway, this product, when released earlier this year, called out my name. as i have very dry skin, i always want to go glowy. so when this palette came out i didn't hesitate. and the bronzer did not disappoint at all! it is way more pigmented than i expected it to be-the first time i used it i was stuck blending away for a bit because i plonked a bit too much on my cheeks! oops! so i would preach caution until you see it's pigmentation, which my swatches didn't show!

BLUSHES: when looking online, mood exposure seemed to be my dream blush, as i tend to favor mauve and slightly darker blushes (despite my very light complexion) as they look the most natural on me. however, although i cannot fault mood exposure, when i put both on my skin to compare them, luminous flush stole the show! this is why it's so great to get this palette!!!! i would never have bought this shade individually and now i think i'm giving it holy grail status! so my recommendation is if possible, see how they look on your skin. if you're able to get a girl in a shop to sweep one onto your cheeks, do. what i have learned is swatching hourglass powders seems to be pointless, as they look so different on your face, in terms of pigmentation and what suits you.

POWDERS: as someone who has very VERY dry skin, i never though i would ever powder my whole face every day and love it. but this is a transformation i can't do without. they don't cake up, settle into dry patches, look glittery, look fake, feel heavy, accentuate texture or pores, they just make you look like you're more awake, more moisturized, well rested and healthy! worth every single word of hype they get!

SIZE: this seems to be the thing everyone hates about this palette. i think the pan sizes are fine, all the brushes mentioned fit into them so i don't have that problem. i was a bit worried when i saw the picture of the finger over one pan, it looks just bigger than one nail! which isn't right for me at all! i put up a pic of my own, dreadfully taken but it shows each pan is just under the with of 3 of my fingers. in terms of weight, each pan weighs 1.4 grams (0.049 oz) and you get 6 of them so overall it's 8.4g (0.294oz) overall. no, that does not include the weight of the big mirror inside or anything, and this info is straight from the back of my palette so it should be right (i hope). so if you want to compare that to a powder you already have, do, and you'll hopefully not expect something much bigger than it is, and you can decide if you want to invest in it :)

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 12/1/2015 11:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a medium sized (therefore travel friendly) compact with a huge built-in mirror, which includes six mini ambient lighting powders (2 finishing powders, 1 highlighter, 2 blushes and a bronzer). It doesn't include a brush.

The size of the powders is quite small in surface (you can't whirl around a big fluffy brush; otherwise, you'll end up picking more than one color), but the amount is great to try different shades, and the small size allows for them to fit in one same manageable compact (therefore you ensure to use them regularly).

It would have been great if the compact included a brush, but I imagine it would have made the compact too bulky.

I already owned one of the shades, Dim, which I love, but not the rest, so I was happy to pay the expensive price tag to be able to try 5 other shades. I still love Dim; the lighter/yellow finishing powder is great for setting undereye concealer; the highlighter is too glittery, though; I love the blushes and the bronzer is ok (unless you despise glitter, which this has).

Overall I'm happy with the purchase. Therefore I said I would repurchase.

5 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 12/5/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I needed a new Diffused Light powder and wanted to try the blush and bronzer from the Hourglass line. Since half of the pallet was on my Sephora wishlist, I purchased this immediately. As far as packaging, I already knew it was going to be small but I thought the powders would be the size of the three pan pallets... no such luck. I am not really upset about that because this is pretty perfect for on the go and traveling. I hate Hourglass packaging but I feel that is a personal problem. For reference, I am an NC15 with pink undertones, combo skin w/ acne. Delightful for me... :D

Dim Light is a neutral peach powder. I find this powder is great for softening things up, if that makes sense. I would repurchase.

Iridescent Light is a pink/white glittery powder. I like that this powder manages to be so glittery and duo chrome like but is still just as soft in texture as the other powders and also the glitter stays in place. I have combination skin and this just does not look right on dry spots with my skin colouring.

Diffused Light is my favorite ambient lighting powder. I have used a full size version of this product. The powder is a cream white with yellow tones. I love this for setting under my eye, on red spots and even sometimes all over the face. It is one of the few powders I actually can see the difference right away and throughout the day.

For me, Mood Exposure was a very exciting inclusion. Mood Exposure is a warm nude mauve. In the pan, there is sparkle in this pan but it does not transfer to the skin. I have had similar colours in my collection; however, the Hourglass formulation allows this colour to be so wearable while "dupes" appear streaky and harsh. I would buy a full sized version of this.

Luminous Flush is a soft pink. In the pan it has sparkle but it does not transfer to skin. I find this to be a pretty typical pink colour and I wouldn't repurchase this specific shade only because I feel I can get the same effect with a more budget friendly product.

Luminous Bronze Light is a warm orange toned bronzer that is heavy on the sparkle. The glitter appears to be a pinky orange. I would not repurchase this product because of the sparkle.

I wouldn't repurchase this exact item because it turns out half of the products don't work for me. I am happy to have it and to have gotten to try these things before purchasing full sized products and regretting them.

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 12/10/2015 1:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product a lot. I love the Dim Light shade for setting my entire face; I love the strobe highlighter for creating a luminous glow; I love the Diffused Light shade for setting and brightening my under eye. The bottom row shades are literally life goals! The plum blush gives me chills - it's beautiful. It's a good color for a night out. The pink shade is great for creating a flush of color on the cheeks. Finally, the bronzer is amazing for creating subtle warmth to the skin. Ulimately a fantastic product. However, the pricing? No. It's over-priced in my opinion due to the fact that one ambient lighting powder has 9.9g and each of the palette powders only has 1.4g of product, 6 x 1.4 = 8.4. So you have a total of 8.4g of product in the palette and it costs £65. The ambient lighting powder on its own is £38 and you get more. So that's the only problem I have with it to be honest, otherwise is amazing.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this palette. It has a perfect mix of face powders, highlighters, blushes and bronzers that suit a number of different skin tones. The powders are very finely milled making them flawless on the skin and leaving you looking like you are glowing from within. The product is pricey however you get six different products which is a really good deal considering how much they cost individually.
If you would like a more in depth review along with images and swatches, head over to my blog https://beccabeautyau.wordpress.com/2015/12/19/hourglass-ambient-lighting-palette-edit/.


on 11/23/2015 9:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I agree with the last review. The palette is a bit expensive but it's a great way to try out their products without spending tons of money buying everything individually. The palette looks great, its well built and I love the huge mirror. Great for travelling. However it does have a weir smell...

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 11/20/2015 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I get it, I totally do. When I first heard about the ambient lighting powders I was beyond intrigued but the steep price deterred me. Then came the palettes and I thought if they make one combining the powders with the blushes, I will buy it. Then they made it and again, the steep price deterred me for ages. Until I just had to buy them because they look so gorgeous. And yes, the palette is very pretty.
The size is really okay for me, sure, the price is beyond ridiculous but I a) have never seen the normal sized powders or blushes in real life and b) I can fit my brushes in there just fine and c) it fits comfortably in my muji drawer.
The quality of the powders is unlike anything I've ever used before. I have never had a high end powder but I had used drugstore powders which I thought were pretty good but this is a whole new ballpark. The powders (dim and diffused) give me glowy, non-cakey, non-shiney skin and it lasts really long. Normally I get some cakey bit and shine which I just accepted as normal. But this is my skin but so much better, still looks like skin but like very beautiful porcelain skin. The blushes are very pigmented but also blend beautifully into my skin. Haven't quite tested the bronzer properly yet.
The only real negative (beside the price) is that it smells really disgusting, very fake and plastic-y. I can only smell it when I get close to the palette and intentionally sniff on it. I'm not sure if it's the packaging or the product itself. The packaging itself looks pretty but doesn't seem terribly sturdy and the glossy finish shows all of the fingerprints. If I ran out I would probably buy it again because I'm so wowed by what it does to my skin.

7 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 11/18/2015 6:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Well worth the price so stop moaning people as essentially this is a palette of trial sizes so several products can be tried at once . The powders apply beautifully and look natural on the skin.


on 11/20/2015 12:16:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am completely enjoying this palette! Each color is luxurious and illuminating. This palette is well worth the price! I use such a small amount of each one, it will last me a very long time. I think it's also helpful to know that I'm a 58 year old woman with dry skin and, normally, I would never use a powder on my face, except a cheek color. This product makes me glow!

5 of 6 people found this helpful.


Back to Top