4.0

Created with Sketch.
66 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I do think this is a good product for acne and a decent exfoliant, it just doesn’t suit my skin type and preferences. To start with, I have very oily and acne prone skin that gears more towards whiteheads, mild acne spots and the occasional cystic acne spot. I find this is pretty effective for my mild acne and helps with hyperpigmentation and overall texture but doesn’t do much for cystic acne. The ingredient that’s in this is a milder form of salicylic acid so if you’re used to using stronger forms of BHA, I don’t think you’d find this very effective, but would probably suit more sensitive skin types. I didn’t find it to be drying or aggravating at all. The reason I don’t like this is because the most effective way to use it is to apply it and leave it for half an hour before applying moisturizer on top. However I have very very very oily skin that’s not to be underestimated. The half an hour is enough for my face to start getting oily, so the idea of putting product on top of an oily face just does not sit right with me. Ew. I didn’t want to waste it so I started using it for my body acne, as well as for the scars on my legs and I found it’s quite effective! So like I said, it’s a good product, just didn’t suit my skin. The price and packaging are also fantastic, so I’d recommend it but I wouldn’t repurchase it for myself.

About reviewer (125 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This BHA is a skincare board favorite so it's been on my list to try for ages. I've liked the way some BHA products (Paula's Choice) help refine the skin on my nose as this is the only place on my face that really seems to benefit from a BHA and in the past, I've gotten actual breakouts from using BHA containing products on other areas of my face. The product comes in a huge glass bottle so the value for money is excellent. The formula is pleasant to use and almost has a slight green apple fragrance to it. I find it very mildly hydrating, not at all drying. The squirt top is rather clumsy as you can't really get a tiny amount out easily so I found myself having to do small awkward half presses on the top in order to get the right amount to just use on my nose. This is probably less of an issue if you plan to use the product all over your face or in larger areas. After over a month of once daily use I honestly didn't see ANY difference to the look of the skin on my nose. I did notice that my nose became more likely to flush to rosacea triggers while my cheeks (where I hadn't used this product) remained calm and non-reactive. This observation combined with the lack of results led me to discontinue the product. Around the same time, I read that AHAs and BHAs can work as make-shift deodorants (something about the acids hindering bacterial growth and therefore odor) and so I'm now using up the rest of the bottle on my underarms and for this purpose it's working great.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

I don’t know why it took me so long to get on board with this stuff but now that I am-Full speed ahead! I’m already thinking of adding it to a bi-monthly shopping list on amazon. 3 weeks ago I was going through a period of bad eating, not enough sleep, bad skin behavior, etc etc. My chin and jawline suffered horribly for it which killed me. So of course it was immediately onto harsh acids, masks, etc. Nothing was helping and worse, it was making the acne flakey and gross under my makeup. Being a fan of Skincare Edit, I know of her love for this product and happened upon it in Ulta. I figured, why not give it a try? I started using it nightly and have had no irritation. In fact, it’s done just the opposite. It calmed the redness, helped bring a couple whiteheads up, and has overall been smoothing and brightening my face gently. It’s been 2.5 weeks of using the stuff and my face is all but smooth along my jawline now. Even throughout my period this stuff managed to make quick work of pimples coming up and never allowed them to come to a head, instead getting them out of there. This seems like a really gentle P50 that I was hooked on for a long time but this stuff takes the cake. It’s finally got rid of the flakey texture on my chin that wouldn’t go away even with the best moisturizers. Honestly, right now this gets top spot in my beauty cabinet.

About reviewer (107 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I started off using this very sparingly because I worried it might cause my skin to purge and break out, but I never had a bad reaction. Now I use it a few times a week at night With the Cosrx aha/bha toner and I like the way my skin feels in the morning. Cosrx is definitely becoming one of my favorite brands.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have oily, dehydrated skin with a long history of cystic acne, congested pores, and hormonal breakouts. Long story short, this didn't do much to clear my skin, but it did function as a very hydrating, calming toner. I've gone through a whole bottle of this. It's a clear but viscous liquid with a faint, clean, citrus-y (lemony??) scent. Comes in a plastic pump bottle for easy application (I did have to unscrew the pump to get to the last drops of it). It's so mild I used it every morning--no tingling, no irritation, nothing. (Mind you, I don’t have particularly sensitive skin.) I would do one pump in my palms and pat it into my face, but you can also put this on a cotton pad; it has a thick enough consistency that it won’t just soak into the cotton like many toners do. While this didn't do much for my blackheads, I did like it as a basic toner. Before I started using this product, my skin barrier was in pretty bad shape from trying out so many different acne treatments. I had a ton of dry, reddish, peeling patches around my nose and mouth. That redness cleared up pretty fast when I started using this product, and my skin is a lot less dehydrated now. Far from causing more irritation, this product soothed, moisturised, and calmed my skin. I did a full review on my blog where I broke down the ingredients and all, but basically: this did everything you could want a blackhead treatment serum to do, except, well, treat the blackheads. I may eventually repurchase and give it another shot, but I'm trying out a stronger BHA for now. I'd recommend this for people with dry/sensitive skin who are just getting into actives in skincare, and who don't have extremely severe acne.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have used retin a for years. I started using that for awful acne and it worked really well for me. It still does. I’d been using it every night for a few years when I decided that alternating retin a with acid exfoliation products might give my skin a smoother texture. After reading a few skincare blogs and reviews I decided that I’d try cosrx products. Since my skin was already used to retin a, I thought that my skin was pretty tough and used to acids so I went all in. I don’t recommend doing what I do all at once unless or until your skin is used to one product at a time. So anyway I started using the cosrx aha/bha spray toner right after double cleansing and drying my face, then waiting about 10 minutes before applying cosrx whitehead power liquid. Wait 15-30 minutes and then using this blackhead power liquid. I squirt some in my hand and press it into my skin. Wait 20-30 minutes and then use my regular moisturizing products. I think that waiting to apply other products after this one might be important. It does give my skin a bit more glow and does seem to improve the texture. I’ll buy it again because of that and the relatively low price. It doesn’t break me out or dry my skin.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It’s a nice light lotion/serum feel, much like how hyaluronic acid feels when first applied then dries down sticky then becomes smooth. I find this nice to use and pat into the skin, but it hasn’t made much difference for me after using about 1/4 of the bottle. Maybe I don’t use it regularly enough (I use it in the PM after witch hazel toner, every other night for a month) or for long enough to have a noticeable effect but my blackheads are still where they used to be before I started using this, however it has not caused any unwanted reactions. I would finish the bottle as and when I remember to use it, but I doubt I will repurchase unless I find a method of application that works for me (ie soak cotton pad and leave on for awhile, timing to let it sit before next step, currently I use two pumps to apply on my face with my clean hands).

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This stuff is amazing. I love that it doesn’t irritate my skin or cause any redness, while still being effective. I use this in the morning under my moisturizer, and it layers beautifully with other products (no pilling, balling up, etc.). Application is nice and smooth, and it dries pretty quickly. It has helped greatly to decrease my closed comedones, blackheads, and clogged pores. At night, I use the COSRX AHA and it is fantastic as well. This combination of both the BHA and AHA has helped my skin tremendously. The biggest difference its made is in the texture of my skin.. my skin has never been so smooth and glowing in my whole life! I cant believe how affordable COSRX products are considering how high quality and effective they are. They are easily some of the best products I’ve ever purchased. My skin is sensitive and dries out easily, but these are not stripping whatsoever. The acne I do have is extremely stubborn and hasn’t budged no matter what I’ve used (including accutane), and COSRX has been an absolute miracle. Give it time, as it’s not an overnight improvement. However, after almost 2 months of use the COSRX BHA and AHA combo has almost completely cleared my skin. HG status for sure.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

For me this is a 2x day gentle bha which is what I need in my routine. I love that it’s gentle enough to use all over without being drying or leaving a residue. I do understand the frustration of other reviewers about it not being effective enough, but I think for me it is a long term investment, rather than a more aggressive fix for my blackheads. I’ve noticed a great reduction in the rest of my face for open and closed comodones, but the stubborn nose dots are sloooowly reducing. I can’t give all credit to the bha—I have other products in my regimen, but it deserves some. I especially like that I can use it am and pm without even thinking about it; this helps me with sticking to the routine and getting results from good skin habits. I’m curious about Paula’s choice, but not quite enough to change things up at the moment.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Right! My skin: currently mostly normal-ish, sometimes combination, often, but not currently dehydrated, and I used to have mild to moderate, stubborn acne. Got on top of that sometime this spring, mainly thanks to the TO 10% Azelaic Acid. I added this to my routine a few months ago, around September/October last year I think, because I was having a small flare-up of acne again. I always get very bad skin around mid-spring and mid-autumn, for some reason, the switch from warmer and damp to colder and dry weather and vice versa always seems to mess with my skin. That's been a recurrent thing for years and years, and it felt like just the azelaic acid wasn't quite cutting it. Long story short: this worked, I'm very glad to have this in my rotation to help keep the acne under control, I don't find it irritating, which is great, and it's definitely effective enough for me. It manages my acne very well, along with the azelaic acid, and my skin is less dehydrated and irritated than it's been in years. My regular PM routine consists of cleansing, MAC Cleanse Off Oil + sometimes a second cleanse with the Cerave hydrating cleanser, Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium lotion, serum, if I'm using one, or the azelaic acid mixed with a couple of drops of squalane, then moisturizer. No actives in the AM, I only use this in the PM, before the Gokujyun lotion since this is more liquid. I just pour two pumps or so in my hands, apply to my face and neck, avoiding the eye area, let it sink in for a bit and then apply the Gokujyun lotion the same way. I alternate this, the azelaic acid, TO Granactive retinoid and no actives at all, to let my skin breathe a bit. Occasionally the TO Alpha Lipoic Acid, for some extra brightness, and Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium sheet masks for hydration fairly regularly. The bottle will last me forever, as I generally only use this maybe three or four times a week, but I will repurchase when I run out. I really like how hydrating and non-irritating this is, while still effectively keeping my acne away.

About reviewer (81 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us