3.8

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

This isn’t a bad balm at all but it’s not exactly unique. Smells good (like coconut) and it doesn’t have any tint to it, leaves a nice sheen. This moisturizes but not in any crazy way that coconut Vaseline wouldn’t. If you want a really good lip balm please try the Laneige lip sleeping mask or glowy lip balm! They are absolutely the best.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Balm dotcom is a great product. My favorite is the cherry flavor! Its got multiple purposes whether if it's for lips, dry spots on hands or any other part of the body feeling a lack of hydration. Little goes a long way so no worries about using this up so fast. Great texture on the skin and actually leaves lips feeling moist throughout the day. A must have for everyday use!! If you'd like 10% off your first order, use my link! http://bff.glossier.com/gP95U

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I find dry lips intolerable and have lip balm stashed EVERYWHERE. And, slowly but surely, this stuff has replaced all my other lip balms. I love the coconut scent. It is probably my favorite balm dotcom besides the rose. I don't always love coconut and rose, but Glossier really nailed it with product. It's subtle and not overpowering or sickeningly sweet. I do not understand people calling this glorified chapstick or comparing it to other lip treatments. This stuff is way thicker and more emollient than chapstick or even Papaw Ointment, and even though the first ingredient is Petrolatum, the real heroes of this product are the castor oil, lanolin, and beeswax, which give it the perfect consistency. I find it way superior to vaseline and I think there are a lot of people out there who see Petrolatum or Mineral Oil and immediately write off a product, thinking they're being conned into buying something subpar. My only issue with Balm Dotcom is the packaging. I know that Glossier likes to market itself as a beauty company that makes versatile basics, but this isn't a "skin salve," it's a lip balm. I wish we could just call it that and put an applicator tip on the tube so that I could more easily use it on the go without having to first apply it to my finger and then spread it on my lips. Really, Glossier, I'm not going to use tinted cherry flavored "skin salve" to treat my dry elbows. Besides the lack of an applicator tip, I love the retro feel of the tubes and I think you get a generous amount of product for the price. I will likely continue to repurchase for a while, especially if they come out with fun new flavors.

About reviewer (283 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This smells like a beach/surfer themed Ken doll I had when I was younger. Mmm, and he was so handsome too. It also reminds me of the best kind of summer days where I'm outside having fun. ANYWAY, yes this is basically like Vaseline or any other salve that claims to moisturize. However, this has awesome lasting power and unlike Vaseline it leaves my skin feeling quenched and not coated. I got it at a discount in the Phase 1 set and am very happy with this, the Milky Cleansing Jelly and the Priming Moisturizer. They work very well together.

About reviewer (307 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This product is glorified Vaseline. It is ridiculously expensive and comes in a tiny little tube of essential oil scented grease. If you spend any money on glossier products more than once you're a fool.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Full disclosure, I think the packaging and overall brand aesthetic of Glossier definitely factored into my decision to purchase this product and my judgment of it. I think it's a decent lip balm and overall balm. Is it to die for? No. But people have those products they like because it's cute and easy to use, which is the exact reason I like this product. PROS 1) It smells delicious 2) Despite claims that this is the same as Vaseline, I find that there is a miniscule difference. While Vaseline can come off shiny and thins out easily, BalmDotCom is a little more thick and it has a semi-matte finish, which I like 3) It has multipurpose uses -- including as a cuticle balm, a salve for cuts, and as a natural highlight CONS 1) It's much like many other balm products, including but not limited to: Lucas' PaPaw, Homeoplasmine, Biafine, Badger Balm, etc. 2) The ingredients do contain lanolin, for those who are sensitive 3) While it does it's job, it's still not a to-die-for moisturizer. This balm covers and coats and locks in moisture, but it definitely lacks that additional boost of hydration other products may give. I find that in using this product, I am providing surface moisture to my lips and preventing them from getting dry, but this balm doesn't plump or hydrate them any further. All in all, this is a cute product and it does what it's intended for. It's certainly no miracle, but I like it.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I thought this wouldn't be that moisturizing because I heard It was basically over glorified Vaseline. But after using it I really disagree. My lips are always dry and it's hard to keep them soft and they peel like crazy especially because I always use acne meds and face washes. But this lip balm keeps my lips super soft and it lasts all night. I put it on before bed and it's really thick and feels soft and matte, not slick or greasy. It is great at protecting without slipping and sliding around, and the flavors are tasty. The coconut smells natural and not artificial and it's really yummy and light. Definitely great if you love coconut! Check out my FULL FACE GLOSSIER review/tutorial video here (I have SERIOUSLY flawed skin and it works for me!) <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/dPM9QHMiixc"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/dPM9QHMiixc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (172 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Love this stuff!! It's a pretty thick balm, which means it gives lots of moisture. The coconut one is my favorite because of the scent/flavor. I use it on my lips, elbows, hands, pretty much anywhere! I usually get bad eczema in the winter. After using this on a few of my eczema spots, they were hydrated and gone within a week. I keep one of these in my purse at all times!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Medium

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

cheap tasting (boyfriend even cringed at it) and sits on lips and makes them peel later. Def a fail

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Obsessed. Yeah so maybe it's a coconut scented aquaphor but as a sucker for packaging and tropical scents... I don't care. I absolutely love it, it's my favorite thing glossier makes. It really keeps my lips soft and moisturized and the scent is unbeatable!! It gives your lips a nice shine (not crazy) so they look a little plumper and is definitely long lasting. My second favorite of their lip balms would probably be the rose.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen