3.3

Created with Sketch.
266 reviews
50%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I am saddened by this foundation. I gave it two stars, because the color match was perfect for me. Unfortunately, that's where the love ends. I usually go for matte products, but after I turned 50, I thought that using a more moisturizing product would be better for me. Unfortunately, I found the formula to be very thin and watery, and somewhat oily. It didn't have amazing coverage. It wouldn't cover some of my red patches, and when I went to blend it out with my fingers on my nose, it just smeared off. The wear was awful. I have combination skin, oily in T-Zone and slightly dryer cheeks. My skin would literally eat the foundation off within a couple of hours, no matter which setting powder I'd use. I become oily and greasy. Also, this product is responsible for giving me pimples. I'm not sure what's in the ingredients, but my skin rarely breaks out. Every time I attempt to wear this, I end up with a rash of pimples on my face. I'm never going to buy this product for myself again. It may work better for others, especially for those with dry skin that doesn't break out, and for people who have very little to cover. For me, I am going back to my other foundation. I've even used drugstore foundations that have performed better than this.

About reviewer (120 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I use 115. True to label, “invisible” is an accurate description of the way it looks and how it holds up. NOT ideal for hot climates with humidity that causes excessive sweating. This formula settled into my fine lines and accentuated my dry areas, even after utilizing all of my tried-and-true exfoliating and moisturizing habits. If I want light coverage, I prefer a cc cream all the way. This foundation doesn’t build well for me even with sponge application and powder setting.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

This is a very poor, medium coverage, satin finish foundation that highlighted all my fine lines and lasted a mere (pathetic) 4 hours before looking like it needed to be washed off immediately. Sadly it made me itch from the moment I applied it and also caused a very 'crepey' look under the eyes, aging me about 10 years! I wore this for only 6 hours (because it looked that bad) and was covered in spots and clogged pores when I woke up the next morning. My skin had been looking the best it has in months until I put this tripe on my face. Not recommended. Steer well clear.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have been using ELDW in 2N2 buff. I tried this foundation in y225 because it seemed olive and I have olive undertones. Sadly it has oxidized on my skin and became too dark. It also cracks in fine lines. Not the right product for my skin type.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I wanted a foundation that looked like real skin or very close to it for everyday wear. I have quite mixed feelings about this foundation. PACKAGING AND FORMULA I like the shade I selected, "R230 beige ivory" for my light skin with neutral to slightly cool undertones (about MAC NW20). It's a nice muted realistic skin colour and not at all orange, pink or yellow looking. The packaging works well and looks nice I think. It has an easy to use pump that makes it easy to dispense how much you desire (I find that one full pump is more than enough for my face). It needs to be shaken well before use. The foundation has a thick liquid texture. It doesn't spread as well as I had hoped, but it doesn't dry instantly, so you do have some time to work with it, but not as much time as I would have liked before it sets. I think it's best applied in sections. It did not cause any skin issues at all. No irritation, clogged pores or breakouts. Overall looking at the formula I think it's a very skin friendly formula. It does contain fragrance, but I can't really smell it. It smells like foundation/lotion maybe slightly vanilla like? It must just be a small amount of fragrance used to mask the natural scent of the formulation. I doubt even those with very sensitive skin or a very sensitive nose are going to have any issues with this. If it didn't say fragrance on the ingredient list I would have thought this foundation to be fragrance free. APPLICATION I found applying it with fingers in sections and then going over it with a damp sponge worked the best (I used a damp beauty blender). That or mixing it with a light gel moisturiser (I used Clinique for men oil control lotion which is the same formula as Clinique DDMG) to make it dry slower and spread more easily. I find that it's a bit tricky to get a nice even application with it though not impossible. I just have to pay attention to what I'm doing when I'm applying it. APPEREANCE IN REAL LIFE Once applied this nicely evens out the skins tone (about light-medium coverage or on the low end of medium coverage with one pump for my face). However that is really all it does. It is a very "realistic" looking foundation for better or worse. It does not do much if anything to improve the texture of my skin. Small bumps, indented scars, lines and pores are not improved unlike with some other foundations. It does not improve the finish of the skin either in terms of the way skin reflects light (it doesn't give you a healthy glow or something like that). Its a natural skin-like satin finish.It does appear a bit "thin/flat" it's not very dimensional finish, but I think the satin finish prevents it from appearing too flat. This foundation is *almost* invisible on the skin, even when viewed up close in direct sunlight. However its not quite as good at this as say MAC Face and Body Foundation in my experience. If you layer it, it's going to look like foundation. APPERANCE IN PHOTOS/VIDEO As realistic and boring to some extent as this looks in real life it's a whole different story when it comes to photos and video. It looks really natural and invisible and not at all like you are wearing makeup, but it also some how manages to make your skin look retouched at the same time. The skin looks simultaneously blurred *and* in focus. It makes the skin look "vivid" or "in focus" I guess is the best way I can find to describe it. It looks really nice and just like good skin. Quite impressive. WEAR Back to real life. This starts emphasising texture and lines within about an hour if not set with powder on my skin. It also begins to settle into lines a bit. It goes from being close to invisible to being very visible in terms of texture. It also gets shiny in the same time frame. Not a nice dewy effect. Shiny. As in ugly oily shine. How this manages to get so shiny on my dry skin and how it manages to do it as quickly as it does I don't know. I have tried using MUFE Ultra HD Microfinishing loose powder (a loose silica powder) over this foundation without success. If I only use a small amount it doesn't make any difference in terms of how the foundation wears. If I use a large amount it prevents it from creasing and settling into lines, but now the face appears very dull and matte. It's a powder that I otherwise love, but surprisingly it did not work well with this foundation for me. I have also tried using MAC Cosmetics Prep + Prime Transparent Finishing Pressed Powder over this and it's better, but still doesn't work well. I still have to use a lot of powder, but that powder has more of a satin-matte finish, so it doesn't look as dull. Still most of the time it still starts emphasising textures and settling a bit into lines. Both of those powders diffuse light to make the skin appear smoother and I would suggest you use a nice "blurring" powder, because this foundation doesn't do much for texture and can make it look a lot worse in my experience. It's not a very transfer resistant foundation. Not terrible, but I expected better. It doesn't make any claims that it's a long-wearing foundation, but the wear really was pitiful. I have dry skin and most foundations last fine on me. I live in a temperate climate, have only tested this on days that were not hot and even just wearing this indoors being careful not to touch my face the wear even with a lot of powder just made this foundation useless for me. WHO I THINK THIS IS FOR I can see a makeup artists working on a film/tv set might like this (looks great on camera, can do touch ups, skin friendly formula, large shade range, looks like real skin). Assuming it wears better on your skin than mine, I could also see this as being a great "special event" foundation because it photographs so nicely. Or a good foundation for those that really like to customise the way the skin looks with primers/powders/setting sprays since this essentially just evens out the skin tone. I won't repurchase.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairOther

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Dry skin, some fine lines, some pores. This works ok. I am not super dry, but this makes my skin feel drier than it actually is. I feel it's very hard to find a foundation suitable for dry skin, and I have been using this one for years since I can't seem to find a better alternative. It has good medium coverage, blends well and doesn't emphasize dryness, lines or pores.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to loveeeeeee this brand and had a lot of different products by them, then I found out they do animal testing and I'm no longer buying their products and dumped what I have. It's 2019 and they still are testing on animals?. Plenty of better cruelty free brands that don't test on animals that are far ahead of the game.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My favourite foundation! I've tried so many foundations this is definetely one I always come back to. It lasts for a long time ad easily blendible.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Other, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I received a deluxe sample of this foundation in my ipsy bag, I've worn it every day this week to fully test it out. It's a great color match, blended well into my skintone. The coverage is good, sheer to medium, but can be built up to fuller coverage without getting cakey. Sets well with powder, but also stays put without. Doesn't transfer, even after I sweat (which is often). Wore well throughout the day without settling into my pores, but it did crack in my smile lines, which is why it gets 4 lippies instead of 5. It's neither too matte nor too dewy, a very nice soft satin finish. I Will most likely shell out the cash to buy a full size soon. I'll update after some time, I want to see how this wears through winter, when my combo skin gets super dry.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Love it!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.