Maybelline New York Brow Precise Shaping Pencil

No Image

2.1

15 reviews

13% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 6/26/2018 9:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I am so tired of brands marketing products as ‘blonde’ and they are clearly not. I was excited to try it out as I had seen the Maybelline micro pencil in blonde, which was a lovely ashen blonde that totally would’ve matched my brows. But after spending $19NZD I was left with ginger caterpillars instead of my hope for a cooler blonde!! Why is this such a hard colour to create?!


Only buy this product in blonde if you are a light-auburn or you’ve let your blonde go brassy.

The pencil itself was sturdy and the spookiest on the end was great - wonderful for brushing out brows. I did find that the pencil became dull right after using it, it doesn’t stay sharp and I think it’s going to need constant sharpening (not that I’ll be using it).

I’m disappointed with this purchase. Cosmetics in New Zealand are not cheap and I feel that I’ve been ripped off and mislead.

Maybelline please fix your packaging and descriptions to match the true colours of your products.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 3/26/2017 12:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought 2 of these at an outlet store, even though they were only $2 a pop, still a total waste. I find most maybelline products to be shoddy af, though I do really like their superstay better skin foundation and baby lips. This just feels like wax, doesn't apply smoothly and leaves clumps of wax behind. It is much too soft and wears down to the point where you need to sharpen every time you use it. I like a lighter color for brows but this is like nothing. I much prefer rimmel's brow pencil in hazel and etude house drawing eye brow in light brown. Probably one of the worst products from a major cosmetics brand I have purchased in a long time.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 3/12/2017 4:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My guess is that this is the reincarnation of Master Shape Brow Pencil from Maybelline, after they shaped up from using a plastic encasing? I'm surprised that this pencil is so poorly reviewed--this is probably my favorite brow pencil other than Innisfree's Auto Eyebrow Pencil. It's easy to sharpen, color payoff is excellent, consistency is smooth that it glides on like butter, is tacky enough to keep hairs in place, there is a LOT of product compared to retractable pencils, and there's a spool to blend with and both ends of the pencil come capped! This is a very soft pencil, but other than the need for a sharpener quite frequently, this is great to take on the go. This blends easily and for the same reason it can smudge off easily during removal or on accident, but in dry/sweat-free climate the color and shape will hold all day.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 2/14/2017 3:15:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tip is way too soft to use breaks off while applying , and using the brush on opposite end of the pencil removes color all together .. Won't last a week as I use it everyday. Good price when on sale and perfect color . But I won't buy again

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's OK. it does its job quick and easy but it leaves behind some traces of the wax.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/23/2016 6:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Why is everyone hating on this product? This brow pencil has been keeping my brows in line for 2 months now. I have very dark patchy brows and this pencil shapes then perfectly. The colour is a spot on match and the waxy pigmentation glides on smoother than butter. Spoolie evenly distributes the magic product and ta da! Brows for days. It doesn't fade throughout the day, yet comes off with one swipe of my makeup wipes. Only problem I got is how annoying it is to sharpen. If this miracle was a twist up, I'd die of happiness. Recommend to anyone looking for affordable quality.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 10/9/2016 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This thing sucks. I bought it 2 times to see if maybe i just got a faulty one but alas, this product just plain sucks.

pros:
good price
colour matched me nicely (soft brown)
easy to find (you can get it at any drugstore)

cons:
it doesn't last long at all.
has to be sharpened constantly
it applies very thick and grossly, then when you brush it out it leaves little clumps of product almost and zero colour.

i really would not recommend this. Try anything else, it'll probably be better.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 3/14/2016 1:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Walgreens was out of my define a brow so I bought this to get me by. I wish I would have read the reviews first because I agree with every negative review this got. The pros of this product is it is very affordable and the color (I got the soft brown) was a good match. Those are the onpy good things about this pencil. First of all, you need a very light hand or else you will end up looking like Joan Crawford. It needs to be sharpened about every use so it is not going to last long. When you put it on, little slivers of the product come off on your brow. I tried using the little brush on the end to brush them away, but then ALL of the product came off! I should have just went to another store and bought my define a brow instead of setteling for this garbage.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/1/2016 7:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really liked this when i first bought it, easy to use and good color matching, but it doesn't last through the day, it fades and the product disappears. i do like the waxy texture of the pencil, it makes it easy to apply and it doesn't feel like im scraping my eyebrows like most do. the cap on the spoolie end of the pencil always cracks, idk why bc ive never dropped it. i wont buy this anymore

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 12/15/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This pencil is SO overly waxy it smudges very easily. There is no point in brushing through the brows because the product just completely smudges off. I also don't think its precise at all. The wax is really soft so the point is gone after a small stroke. Perhaps this is better as a brow finisher using a very light hand.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Back to Top