3.5

Created with Sketch.
25 reviews
48%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

At first I didn’t like this product. I’ve only bought the samples (Detox Market) and got the free samples when I’ve ordered from May’s site directly. The $180 price tag is a bit much. Initially it broke me out. So I sorta put it aside for a while. Then I began to get chapped lips (something I’ll occasionally suffer from) and beneath my bottom lip will get super chapped as well. So I had remembered May saying the Blue Tansy has healing properties. I began using it on my lips and to my utter surprise it helped them literally overnight - putting it on right before bed. I continue to use as a lip balm. And I’ve began using it around my eyes for moisture and it actually helps reduce any eye lip creasing. As a whole face oil no I wouldn’t use it like that again. But certain areas it works beautifully.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Mostly shea butter and cacao with blue tansy for color. Has a strong smell that I actually like. Used it on neck and hands--too greasy for the face. I also tried it as a lip balm, but it tastes pretty bad. I think it should have pricier oils/ingredients for what it costs.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The Blue Cocoon isn't for me. It caused breakouts. I know in my case, this is because of the shea butter and cacao seed butter, which both appear high on the ingredients list. I had hoped that because of the overall formulation, these ingredients wouldn't cause the issues in my skin they usually cause -- apparently some others who are sensitive to shea butter haven't found it problematic in The Blue Cocoon -- but I should have known better. I would strongly suggest that if you know your skin tends to break out from shea butter and/or cacao seed butter, PLEASE try a sample before you invest in the whole jar. <br> This said, I am heartbroken to hear that some people have actually thrown out this product! I don't know about you, reader, but my acne is fairly regionally isolated to my face. Since The Blue Cocoon isn't suitable for my face, I've been successfully using it to treat and soothe skin ailments on other parts of my body with great success. (This is why I feel comfortable giving this product a reasonably high rating despite it being wrong for my skin.) It is soothing, it is healing, its effects can seem practically magical. I've become very fond of the smell. The Blue Cocoon has helped me treat a variety of small marks and blemishes on my skin for the past few months. It saved my legs this summer by quickly fading marks left from vigorously scratching bug bites I should have left alone. It's improved the appearance of the backs of my hands, soothed torn cuticles, and helped small cuts to heal without leaving marks. It's fixed areas where I've absentmindedly picked at my keratosis pilaris instead of treating it with acids and moisturizer. I have even used The Blue Cocoon on my bikini zone to treat painful ingrown hairs from shaving, and fade the subsequent unsightly red/purple marks. I use it very sparingly, as a tiny bit really does go a long way. <br> From my experience using The Blue Cocoon as a body spot treatment, I can easily imagine that if my skin didn't react to shea butter by breaking out, it would have been a go-to product in my facial skincare regime.

About reviewer (382 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I wanted to try this but balked at the price tag. I ended up buying Leilani balm because I couldn’t spend the money at first. I was just burning to know how they compared so I purchased this. I am extremely dry. My drys out from hyluronic acid, this is how dry I am for reference. This product is probably acceptable for normal to dry skin. This product does not really quench my extremely dry skin. I was so let down. I did not see any magic effects , and it really feels like it just sits on top of my skin. I have to say I would take the Leilani hands down any day. I learned my lesson. Expensive does not mean better.

About reviewer (138 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I heard about this from Tarababyz, a YouTube Beauty Guru who is also into skincare. I am prone to dermatitis and eczema, especially around the eyes, on the eyelids, brows and around my mouth and nose. When I get a flare-up I use Benadryl tablets and cortisone cream, but that takes 2 to 3 days to heal and the areas feel tight, sore and uncomfortable. I have tried many other things to help ease the pain and discomfort and speed up healing, but nothing works as well as The Blue Cocoon. It has an immediate cooling effect, then it moisturizers and soothes the dry, tight, flakey areas, which prevents that pinched skin situation that can be permanently disfiguring. There's an aroma that reminds me of my Aveda Blue Oil, which is incredibly relaxing and therapeutic. You can use this as a spot treatment, but I love to apply it over my entire face when I have a flare because it just feels so nice. This is so incredible I wish they could find a way to bring the price down so I could use it all over. I highly recommend this for anyone who has eczema, psoriasis or other skin conditions. Clementine Fields sells it in a sample jar for under $10 and it will last ages if used for this purpose.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

lovely packaging but nothing special about thisbalm. Smells nice but there are other natural organic good quality balms and salves I have bought like Egyptian Magic that work just as well. its too expensive for what it offers.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

well its a bit of a gimmick in my opinion... not a very effective product thats depending mostly on the colour and packaging to sell. i think the 'experience' is what theyre going for with the smell, jar and colour and 'ritual' but it didn't do anything for my skin :/

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product is a HOLY GRAIL. I have been using this product for 2 years now, and I have hooked all of my friends and family on it too. I have combination skin with severe dry periods in the winter, but my sister has oily skin and it works well on both of us. I have sleeping problems and this stuff can prevent bags and dark circles like no other product I've used before. It can be lightly greasy on bare skin, but absorbs well. I use this morning and night 3-4 days a week. I would use it everyday but it is far too expensive. I've found that my skin gets almost the same benefits from 3-4 days of use as when I use it daily. I've looked for a cheaper alternative to this product and I've found virtually nothing.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Smells and feels amazing but sadly broke me out. Having to warm the product up with your fingers and patting on the skin doesn't feel as good as a cream or lotion. I wouldn't try to use Nader foundation

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Feels really good on your skin. It's like magic. Your skin will love these ingredients.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us