Redken Frizz Dismiss Conditioner

Redken Frizz Dismiss Conditioner
Frizz Dismiss ConditionerFrizz Dismiss Conditioner

4.3

12 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/ Huile Minerale, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Parfum/ Fragrance, Isopropyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, PEG/PPG/Polybutylene Glycol-8/5/3 Glycerin, Pentaclethra Macroloba Oil/Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil, Hexyl Cinnamal, Bht, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Citric Acid, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone.

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 9/17/2018 7:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have thick, virgin hair of perhaps 2c nature with a scalp that produces very little oil, hence my hair is always naturally dried out and has a somewhat coarse feel or texture. What drew me to this is it is Redken's second most moisturizing line. Redken has a PDF for professional users (though it's easy to access) that compares moisture and protein level of all their haircare lines. Frizz Dismiss has a low protein level and a high moisture level. The only one with a higher moisture level is Curvaceous. Things like All Soft and such are middle of the road, especially when you take into account they have protein technology and such. My hair doesn't respond well to just plain moisturizing products, I go for smoothing because they usually are moisturizing and help to make my hair feel nicer than what it actually is.

PROS: While this line is for humidity protection and smoothing and the website for it shows sleek/smoothed out styles, you would think the conditioner would be heavy or straightening, but it's not! It says for "all hair types" and I have to agree! I have been trying to wear my hair in curly and wavy styles and I've got some of my best finger swirls/curls out of just AIR DRYING with this conditioner and a water based serum in my hair! It really does not obliterate hair's texture or excessively smooth it out, but it does help it to feel a bit smoother. It has enough de-volumizing that thick hair needs without going overboard. I feel like a lot of things are either really heavy or too light", but this is a better balance. I'm quite surprised.

CONS: Perhaps a little overpriced for what you get? Redken likes to tout lots of technology, but it seems very buzzwordy and looking at the ingredients, it looks like this conditioner is mainly mineral oil and some beauty oils. The mineral oil is what does it though I believe. It's vilified from time to time in cosmetics, but it really is one of the best sealants to keep moisture in. Also, the scent of this is overwhelming. Yes, it's like perfume, or make that cologne, it has an almost masculine vibe just like the rest of the Frizz Dismiss line. It's something to consider.

OVERALL: This is a special conditioner. I've yet to find anything that really moisturizes my hair in the long term or enough so that I like my hair on day 1, but I may just buy this again. What I am most impressed by is it's quite moisturizing and provides a BIT of weight that thick hair needs, but not so that that it kills my loose waves and curls.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 9/15/2018 9:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I didn't care for this conditioner. It felt great when applying to my thick, coarse hair. But as soon as I let my hair air dry, my hair turned into a frizzy mess!! It also seemed to dry my hair out, as I ended up with my hair feeling like straw. Definitely don't recommend based on my own personal experience with this product.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this a year ago and loved it, so I decided to buy a liter of it during a sell at Ulta. Best decision ever! Usually I rotate through hair conditioners, because my hair gets used to the conditioner, and it doesn't work as well. Not with this conditioner! During a move & busy period this was the only conditioner I used for a solid month. My hair was in the best health it had ever been in. I've used only this conditioner for 3 months & I still love it, I feel no need to switch.

I only use a quarter size on my mid-length hair, and I get soft, smooth hair. I follow up with a good leave-in conditioner when my hair is damp. The frizz dismiss line is my go-to in hot, humid weather.

This is a heavy conditioner, it may not be ideal for people with very thin hair looking for volume. It's perfect for my thick hair.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 10/30/2017 3:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this in conjunction with the shampoo and this is the best my hair has ever looked! It's shiny, and looks so healthy! Will def repurchase!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 2/1/2017 6:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to try this after reading the reviews and seeing how well it supposedly did with hair types like mine (fine, wavy to curly). There was one negative review that mentioned about the hair feeling stiff or straw like or something like that. I remember reading that thinking...oh...hope that isn't me. Well, it was. This is not an awful conditioner, but it isn't great either. I currently use Matrix Total Results Moisturizing Conditioner. It gives my hair the great balance of moisture without weighing it down. I was excited to by the Frizz Dismiss hoping it would give me smoother hair and not weigh it down. BTW, when I use a new product, I keep all my other products the same so I can see how the new one changes things. So I used just the conditioner in place of my Matrix conditioner.

Here are the pros and cons with this conditioner for me:
PROS:
-Very thick consistency, but didn't feel too heavy
-My hair was not weighed down
-Affordable (mid -range cost during the Ulta liter sale)
-Nothing I recognized as a "cone" in here & I don't think the mineral oil in here weighed my hair down too much.

CONS:
-Not a fan of the rosey scent.
-While I put thick down as a pro, it is also a con. It doesn't spread as easily throughout my hair as my Matrix does. It felt like I had to use more than usual.
-My hair was no less or more frizzy than with my Matrix conditioner
-My hair felt very "starchy". Kind of stiff and less pliable with this.
-Because of this "starchiness" I felt, this stiffness, second day hair was never happening

It isn't an awful conditioner, but not my favorite. For me it was just average. Mine is fine but I have a lot of it. I can usually go 2-3 days between washes (but not so much with this, the crown stayed nice, but the hair itself was just straw like in texture, but not in feel...it still felt nice, just couldn't do anything with it.)

INGREDIENTS:
Aqua / Water / Eau, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Paraffinum Liquidum / Mineral Oil / Huile Minerale, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Parfum / Fragrance, Isopropyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, PEG / PPG / Polybutylene Glycol-8 / 5 / 3 Glycerin, Pentaclethra Macroloba Oil / Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil, Hexyl Cinnamal, BHT, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Citric Acid, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 1/19/2017 1:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have very frizzy, thin hair that is difficult to make look presentable, and I need hardcore anti-frizz products to keep it smooth and straight even for a couple of hours.
I am also not a fan of sulfate-free products, I've always felt they didn't clean my hair properly and made my hair shed.

However, after getting hair extensions I was told I needed to use sulfate free products, and since I wanted to protect my investment, I decided to buy a few items from the Frizz Dismiss line - the shampoo, the conditioner and the leave in spray.

I can honestly say these products helped more than anything else I'd used before! I will rebuy all of them, because after using them for 2 months I really think they made a difference in my hair.

The shampoo is really nice. Smells great, lathers well. I feel like it cleans my hair thoroughly but without drying it out. It doesn't make me shed any more than I normally do.

The conditioner is also great, buttery consistency, spreads easily, smells great and leaves my hair conditioned and slippery. One caveat: I don't like the bottle, once you get half-way through the bottle squeezing it becomes an effort.

The leave in spray - also awesome. It detangles my hair and although I can't measure that, I think it offers some heat protection as well.

By using all these products, I feel like my hair doesn't get as frizzy as it would without, and it's easier to style it with the least amount of frizz.

I hope they never discontinue this line, because it's one of the rare ones that actually makes a difference to me!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/5/2016 10:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have bleached, fine dry hair, shoulder-length. This conditioner is a white, thick, buttery cream with a pleasant scent. It feels very heavyweight out of the bottle so I was a bit sceptic wether it would weigh my hair down. Turns out it doesn't at all. It washes out relatively easy and hair isn't weighed down at all. The effect is smooth and my hair looks shiny, healthy and almost flat-ironed though it hasn't been. It reminds me of the sadly discontinued All Soft Addictive Hair Transformer, so I'm very happy to have found this! Have already re-ordered. It should be mentioned I used this in combination with the Frizz Dismiss shampoo, so can't tell how the results would be with another shampoo.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 7/3/2016 12:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product does not work for me. Dried out my hair. I have wavy medium fine hair.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 11/22/2015 7:41:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have been using the Frizz Dismiss shampoo, conditioner and smooth force spray for a while now and this has greatly reduced my frizz. I have naturally frizzy/curly hair that I blow dry straight and I can tell a difference if I don't use this. My only issue is the conditioner is so thick you can hardly get it out of the bottle! As in I am going to have to cut the bottle open somehow to get the last quarter of the product out. It's ridiculous and Redken really needs to figure out a way to remedy that. Other than that, I love these products as I it's the only product I have tried (and there have been many) that really does reduce frizz.

EDIT: I have been using this product for the past year and it's still my fave. It is the only line I have ever used that has greatly reduced my frizz. I buy the liter sized shampoo/conditioner as I can't be without it, especially during the summer months!

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

This conditoner works well on my fine, dry hair that is prone to frizz. Has a mild, perfumey scent that does not bother me. This does prevent frizz in my hair. I have used this when blow drying my hair and also just letting me hair air dry. Either way, there is no frizz. It does not leave my hair feeling heavy. My hair does not hold curl well when I use this product though.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


Back to Top