3.4

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
47%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

I bought this in the shade “deep” which in the tester looked like a medium navy. I don’t hate it, it’s a decent mascara that adds nice volume and lasts all day without flaking or smudging. My main issues with it are that the formula is somewhat dry, meaning it’s going to dry out really fast, and that the blue is barely noticeable on my lashes, unless I’m outdoors or under very bright light. I had been hoping for a more obvious blue. It does go on nicely, and adds volume and length. A little more difficult to remove with my usual oil based makeup remover, takes just a little more work, but not as hard to remove as full on waterproof mascara. I don’t know, possibly I would repurchase, maybe in black. I like Pacifica in general, and that their products are cruelty free and reasonably priced. My main problem with this mascara was really just the blah blue color.

About reviewer (391 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Love this. I have been searching for a reliable waterproof/smudge proof mascara for the last few years. I live in Northern Queensland and in summer it gets over 40 degrees centigrade with 80% humidity. Everything smudges. I just purchased this (in 'Abyss') and have tried it twice in very hot conditions and it does not budge, even in hot cars and behind glasses. Lovely thick formula that volumises lashes. I'm a fan.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was looking for a new waterproof mascara and after reading many reviews tried to give this one a try. At $14, it was more expensive than I would normally buy. Unusually for a mascara, the packaging artwork is cute. The applicator is flexible and round with short, hard bristles. This defines and separates the lashes beautifully. It does not add any volume and only adds length to the lashes with a few layers. Unfortunately, this mascara does not hold a curl for those of us with weak lashes. It is also, surprisingly given its name, not waterproof in the least. I am very disappointed with these last two qualities, as I greatly enjoyed the natural, glossy look I got from the mascara, but I will not be repurchasing this one.

About reviewer (329 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Very unhappy with this mascara. The formula is very thin, does not hold a curl (I have very straight lashes otherwise), and makes my lashes look spiky. The wand was very rough against my eyelid as I was applying the mascara, so much so that it actually hurt. The unusual wand also got mascara all over my lid--it almost looked as if I had applied smudgy pencil eyeliner beforehand. I am taking this back to Target ASAP. I tried the Pacifica Stellar Gaze mascara (not water resistant) at Whole Foods the other day, and that one performed much better. UPDATE: I decided to try this mascara with a lash primer (Jane Iredale), and it made my lashes look really good, comparable to what I get from MAC's False Eyelashes Mascara. Maybe the formula is so thin that it requires a primer to "bulk up" the lashes. I still think that the wand causes messy application (I still get quite a bit of product on my eyelid), but I am much happier overall and have decided to keep it.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It is a nice basic mascara with no bells or whistles. Just a nice natural waterproof mascara.I used my tube until it started to bite the dust. It is going to stay a staple for me. I do want to note that once I bought it discounted and it was more dry than usual. Probably had been on shelf too long. My friend does not like it but I really like this mascara.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This mascara didn't give me the volume or length that I wanted. It is slightly clumpy and flakes all over my undereyes. The best part about it is the cute packaging. Pass on this one.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

For my lash needs, this mascara did not work out for me. I have short, black lashes. (Asian) For whichever mascara I use, I curl my eyelashes first. What I want out of a mascara is the appearance of longer lashes. Maybelline's The Falsies mascara and some of the Estee Lauder mascaras have worked well for me, but I wanted to try a cruelty free brand. That's why I picked up this mascara. The color of Abyss is a perfect black, I have no problems with it. When I used the mascara, it did not give the appearance of lengthened lashes. There was barely any difference. The mascara might have weighed down my lashes because they appeared shorter than when I had curled them prior to putting on the mascara. I'm giving it 2 stars. The color is good, the packaging is cute, and Pacifica is cruelty free. It really doesn't work for my needs and I will not be buying this again. Hopefully it works out better for you if you buy it.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Other, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This mascara didn't really work well for me it was definitely water resistant but my eyelashes did not look to much longer and it didn't hold the curl. I have very stubborn, straight lashes so it may have just been me.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Finally! I have been searching for so long for a good cruelty-free mascara. It also had to be waterproof because I always get racoon eyes with regular mascara (I guess my eyes water a lot?). I was using a cheap ELF one for a while because I wasn't finding anything better, but it literally lasted about a week and didn't do much for my lashes. But I am in love with this Pacifica mascara. I love the brush, and my lashes look great with only one coat - and even better with two coats. Longer, thicker, and holds the curl. I am so happy that my search for mascara is over.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this mascara! Was searching for a mascara from a more natural brand that was semi reasonably priced. This is it! And it's easy to come by. Purchased mine from Target. I find it to hold a curl very well for me, build exceptional length, stay put without transferring, flaking, or creating raccoon eyes. The brush is fantastic as well. I'm thinking those who felt the formula was too dry did perhaps get a hold of an older tube,which is an unfortunate thing. Packaging as with all Pacifica products is beautiful. I will be re-purchasing for sure! :)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue