Josie Maran Cosmetics Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 47 Protect + Perfect

Josie Maran Cosmetics Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 47 Protect + Perfect
Balance & Boost

3.6

10 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 9.4** (Sunscreen),Titanium Dioxide 5.9**(Sunscreen)Inactive Ingredients: Aqua (Water)**, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride**, Ethylhexyl Palmitate**, Titanium Dioxide**, Cyclopentasiloxane, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil**, Polyglyceryl-6 Polyricinoleate**, Mica**, Nylon-12, Glycerin**, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Polyglyceryl-2 Isostearate, Methicone, Alumina, Phenoxyethanol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Polysilicone-11, Sodium Chloride**, Iron Oxide (CI 77492)**, Magnesium Stearate**, Isopropyl Myristate, Parfum (Fragrance)**, Bisabolol, Iron Oxides (CI 77491)**, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil*, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Iron Oxides (CI 77499)**, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Laureth-12, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract**, Ethylhexylglycerin, Citric Acid**, Potassium Sorbate**, Sodium Benzoate**.*ORGANIC **NATURAL

Start your review


on 3/11/2019 12:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I can't believe I haven't written a review of this yet. I've been using this faithfully every day for about 2 years. I am adamant about using only mineral sunscreens, and I will not use any that are blended with other cancer-causing or otherwise iffy ingredients. Josie's mineral sunscreen has the best texture -- it is moisturizing but not heavy or sticky. It feels so good, and works great alone with concealer or under foundation. The tint is barely there, and just gives a healthy glow on my medium skin without any white cast. There is no discernible fragrance, and it's just a really great sunscreen and tinted moisturizer in one. I'm dry, so I use it on top of moisturizer, but those who are oily may not need anything else.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 2/12/2019 11:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have this in Radiance. I recently started using again ( bought with a set from qvc over a year ago) and it gives my face the nicest glow. I either put on with fingers or damp beauty blender. I use concealer over spots and under eyes. I set with a powder- fenty blotting powder. It's awesome and protects your skin.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 8/8/2018 2:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have fair skin, and I am also a Rosacea suffer, what this means is my skin is always flared up, my breakouts are caused by my rosacea, my skin is so thin that it drys out in the matter of one 2hr flight, or having a shower and missing my moisturizer. If I wear to much make up it gets so easily caked on, and usually flakes off because of the dryness.

I think to many people try this product and think this is what they are going to use for their foundation, its a tinted moisturizer, educate your self. I feel like to many of these reviews are based off of that alone.

However, being someone who has Rosacea, and red skin 99% of the time, this color has worked well for me, I apply it after I but on my mineral block, it leaves my skin glowing and a bit of color over my redness, maybe thats what helps with the 'orange' color others are having, it also doesn't cause any break outs or flare ups. I then apply a mineral bronzer on top and that's it. If you wear sunscreen, which everyone should, your face and NECK should be lighter then your entire body. Apply a light bronzer to your face and NECK and it will solve this issue. Plus everyone knows to apply a bit of your foundation to your neck to help it blend. I am so confused by some of these reviews, so I am just trying to be honest.

If anyone else has flared up skin like me, maybe this wouldn't be a bad option for you. It also last forever as you don't need much, and has the additional added SPF. Its more of a primer, so if you don't like the color then add a bit of your regular foundation on top, it will assist with any dry skin issues.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/26/2018 9:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

Highly-fragranced, shiny orange plastic in a bottle


on 4/14/2018 12:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hadn’t used this in years but recently returned to it when the Josie Maran website was running a “buy one, get one free” offer on the jumbo size of this product. As I get older (I’m 41), my skin is getting drier. This provides great sun protection and just enough moisture. I’m NW20 and don’t find the tint to be too dark or orange. It just adds a slight warmth to my skin but doesn’t look like makeup. I’m glad I bought this again because I forgot how great this product is.


on 5/13/2016 3:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

GAH! Thank heavens I tried this before buying. Went on a hideous salmon pink--it looked like morgue makeup. Too bad, as I love several of JM's products, and the SPF factor seemed hard to beat.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 4/10/2016 3:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I was so frustrated with this product until I found a way to wear it. The "universal" color can only be described as "dark salmon," so if you have yellow undertones or are very very pale like me, it's completely useless as a sunscreen. I can't even wear the sheerest layer of this on its own without making my face 3 shades darker than my neck, never mind the recommended quarter-teaspoon for sun protection. It's a shame, because the texture of the tinted one is ever-so-slightly nicer than the regular Argan Daily SPF47 without tint.

I was all set to chunk it when, on a whim, I tried lightening it up with Illamasqua SkinBase in white - yes, pure white. At about a 50/50 mix of this and the white, it's the most perfect match for my cool-toned pale skin as I've ever found. Of course, this renders it useless as a sunscreen, but it looks fabulous on. Very skinlike.

I have to wear a separate sunscreen underneath it, but this combo works very nicely with both the Biore UV Perfect face milk and UV Watery. No issues with pilling, even with a bunch of random layers and mixtures.

I would repurchase again if they made a shade that wasn't the color of an emergency life raft, but if you're having trouble with the tone and can't return, definitely try to play with mixing! The texture plays well with others.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I took a chance and ordered this off of QVC, because the 4 oz. bottle was such a good deal. I had tried a sample from Sephora for about seven days and felt like the risk was worth it. I've now been using it for about three weeks and am happy with the results.

This is very much like a tinted moisturizer, but the tint is transparent. I am NW15-20, and it does not leave me orange at all. (It also doesn't flash back white!!) In fact, I can even apply it down my neck and it helps keep my face and neck looking the same. As a moisturizer, it feels a bit heavy at first, but quickly becomes part of your skin. If the shine is too much, you can always take it down with a quick dusting of powder. (That said, you will almost definitely want to set your undereyes with powder too, or your mascara will not play nicely with it.)

The scent is not too bad. It smells sort of apricot-ish, but fades quickly. It looks like foundation when you pump it out, but does not go on opaque at all. It acts and spreads like moisturizer. I usually use two pumps and pat them all over my face and neck, and then add one more pump to pat under my eyes and onto my cheeks to even them out a bit more. It provides very sheer coverage.

I let it dry a bit before adding anything over the top, just a couple of minutes. I like a cream blush over it and then top it with a quick dust of powder, for a quick and easy everyday look, but I have also added foundation right on top when I needed more and it was great.

What I think I love the most is that is has SPF47. That is wonderful! I am working hard to get rid of some slight brown age spots that have shown up and getting a good sunscreen helps immensely. Also, since my skin is fairly sensitive, I am delighted that I have had absolutely no reaction to this, if anything, my skin has gotten smoother. Can't beat that, eh?

So yeah, for now, I will keep using it. Especially since it's summer, I'm glad to have an alternative to heavier foundation, but I think I'll be grateful for the moisture come winter too.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This comes in only one color and does not contain color matching pigments. I'm very fair and this does not work for me and leaves me looking a little orange. The product goes on smoothly, smells nice, and feels good. It's very shiny at first, but a little powder will knock out the shine. It's a physical sunscreen and definitely doesn't leave a white cast for me because it's too busy making me look like I got a bad fake tan. If you are Light-Medium, this would probably work well. I'm sad that it only comes in the one color, as women come in many colors and Josie does use chameleon pigments in her other products.

This product is limited edition and only available in May and June each year on QVC.com.

I knocked 3 lipsticks off because one size does NOT fit all.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 3/26/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

For a "peachy" glow and color-correcting this sunscreen is the ultimate. It's moisturizing, so I can't wear it often without setting powder or foundation, but I'd rather have "moisture" than dry lines or cracked makeup. I NOT allergic to this gentle formulation, it doesn't bother my eyes, and it works beautifully under any kind of makeup. This contains physical sunscreens, so it's all-around perfect for me!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top