3.9

Created with Sketch.
10 reviews
60%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I tested this on my hand and it stained in some spots so I'm too scared to put it on my face

About reviewer (1023 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Tarte Maracuja Bronzing SERUM - oh my...... AWFUL. I just bought online, and it absolutely reeks of the most potent "self-tanner" stench. I've tried to find out WHAT exactly this product is, because the name implies it's a "bronzing SERUM". It doesn't indicate anything about it being a SELF-TANNER. On Amazon, the product description simply states the size of bottle, and that it doesn't come with a box. ?? On the Tarte site, the entire description is: "An innovative, gradual bronzing elixir powered by the miracle of maracuja™. " So.... I guess this could elude to it being a self-tanner. But their marketing on their site as a Gradual Bronzing Elixir is way too vague. And now I think I know why.... Anyway, maybe I received an old, rancid product. It's going back to seller. Oh.... And the "bronzing" claim? Well... no, I've noticed no bronzing effect at all. But at least it's pricey and smells bad.

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have been using this for a week now and I haven't really gotten much tanner I think, not sure why, but regardless this stuff is fantastic. My skin has become radiant. I have a few problem spots, light acne, redness, and a few acne scars and this is making all of them dissapear. After just a week as well. I think the maracuja oil is what is doing it. It has made my skin look and feel amazing and for that the price is kind of not important and I don't care if it doesn't make me much more tan, although it would be nice.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I got this in my Boxycharm subscription box. It is a large glass bottle with a dropper for the serum. It is about $40. I am already tan. I stay that way pretty much all year round. I am unsure if my review can help make decisions, but I really like using this serum. I use unscented, Aveeno lotion and drop one drop on my arm or leg. The serum absorbs nicely into the skin and is a pleasant, faint scent. The best thing about this serum is that it will not get on your clothes or leave streaks, even if it is a bronzing product. I think it has helped with giving me a pretty color because my skin looks rather dull during the colder months. Perhaps it adds moisture to the skin. It does help keep some color and pigment in a natural way. I really enjoy this product, so I do recommend it. I just think that the pricing is rather steep.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This product appeals to my laziness. I like waking up with a natural glow. Additionally, it makes you look well-rested. You have to build up to get the bronziness, but it's only two or three times.

About reviewer (158 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is officially my new HG self tanner for face and decollatege. It is very thin, so I can put it on after cleansing and plop my ss and moisturizer right over it with literally NO interference texture wise. It gives me a great bronze glow after about 2-3 uses. I don't need a lot of help, just a touch of tan to even out my redness. I love the packaging, I won't be touching the product with bare hands so it will stay sanitary. There is nothing about this product that is not perfect, although it is $47 and that is on the high end. My previous self tanner for face, Clarins Milk, is only $38. Sad face.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This product is great for an overall tan that builds slowly creating a natural looking tan, no streaks, no mess, no stress. The only thing about it is I'm not a huge fan of the smell. But really great for colour!

About reviewer (124 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Olive

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I got this in my first Boxycharm and I am shocked by how much I love this. I am not the type who likes bronzing products. I don't self tan, I own one bronzer and it is a very basic, subtle color. I really don't even like sun tanning in the summer. So needless to say when I saw "bronzing serum", I was a bit put out. But I figured "what the heck" and tried it out. I have never used anything like this product before so I looked at some reviews to see how different people applied it and decided that my best bet would be to apply it at night (which I still do now). I'm not entirely sure "bronzing" was the best title for this product because I don't find it does that at all. What it does do, at least for my skin, is that it brightens up my face and actually helps clear up any blemishes I might have. Like, really well. I could have a couple of dark spots on my skin from old zits that have since dried out and by the next morning they will have been substantially diminished. I use it maybe 2-3 times a week. Like I stated earlier, I apply this before I go to sleep. I remove my makeup and wash my face and then squeeze out one dropper full of serum (the instructions of the box say 2-3 droplets but I find that that is not enough to cover my face and neck). But I gently rub the product between my hands and then I pat it onto my face and neck because it is a bit tacky. It's not like an oil where it can spread. It's a very odd texture which is why I wear it at night. That and it does have an odd smell (a lot of other reviewers say it has a self-tanner smell). But it dries quickly and if I need it, I apply lotion on top. And I always wash my hands after I'm done. And I have not found that this stains clothing or sheets (I have white pillow cases and they have no stains). The only reason I say I would not repurchase is because right now I'm on the fence. While I do love this product it's just that it's almost $50. I've only had this product for a month so I can see this bottle lasting a good, long while so I won't have to make the decision anytime soon. I'll have to see how well this works in the long run before I decide to repurchase or not.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I am still trying to figure out the tanning aspect of this. Cannot say it imparts a tan but maybe a slight color on my very fair skin. Works well as a serum and there are no demarcation lines of color. What is left on the hands is spread over the tops of hands . I am using just once a day in the morning.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was looking for reviews for this, but I found most of the reviews under the actual self-tanning lotion for body and face which are two different products. I went out and bought this product to test so the bronzing serum will have its own section for reviews. My main reason i picked this up was because I sunless tan often but every sunless lotion breaks me out or makes my face unnaturally dark. A second reason was I was looking for something to replace my I Love Skin Inc. custom blended serum for acne, which I like but don't love..why not kill two birds with one stone? My skin is pretty normal sometimes dry in the winter and I don't find this to make me greasy at all; alone or under makeup. I apply this after I tone my skin. The serum is really easy to work into the skin. I apply it over my face down to my neck, It absorbs easily and leaves my skin with a healthy glow. The kind of glow that comes from having good healthy skin not just using an illuminating product. I took a lippie off for the smell..It smells like sunless tanner but it doesn't bother me personally. Some people might be disappointed right off the bat; this product DOES NOT give you instant dark color. If that is what you are looking for this is not your product. I am not pale, but not dark either and in 3 days of use I started seeing a natural golden color building. It blends beautifully and seamlessly with my Vita Liberata sunless body tanner. I also love this because it fades so naturally along with my VL lotion..I love the outcome of color plus my skin texture feels slightly better also. Since my face has more healthy color its helped even my skin tone so my dark marks seem less extreme. It has not broken me out in the last 3 weeks so I am really happy I added this serum to my routine. As with all tanning products wash your hands after or you might experience some staining. I paid $47 for 1.7oz. I don't feel like I paid too much my; other serum was the same size for about $25 more. The packaging is beautiful; The bottle is nice, heavy and the dropper is well made but probably something that might not travel well. Overall a solid product. I am interested to try the original Maracuja serum. For being my second Tarte purchase I am starting to get more interested in the brand. Awesome serum!

About reviewer (26 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel