3.8

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
69%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I purchased the smaller version of this palette at a Nordstrom Rack for ~ $16. I definitely feel it was worth the discount price. The shadows have a nice buttery texture; they apply easily and the fall-out is not too bad. The colors are very wearable, with a good cross-section of neutrals and jewel tones, though I do wish there was another nude tone. The package is sturdy and cute with a nice mirror. No brush, bu usually those brushes are meh anyway, so oh well. My only quibble would be that the shadows seem a bit sheer, if thats the right word. I have to really work them in to get good coverage, it seems. But it's not a horrible problem at all. Bottom line- if you need a pallette (and I know you don't if you are reading this but lol you'll buy more anyway!) and see this for 16 bucks at Nordstrom Rack, buy it!

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was gifted the small version of this palette. I'm not normally one for colorful shadow, but I like this palette. The shades are buttery and pigmented. It does create some fallout, but that is easily dealt with. Overall, a great addition to a mostly neutral shadow collection.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

ive bean weari g mskeup gor over 16 years and i have to say when it comes to smashbox on the rocks eyeshadow palette i found it to be Very poorly pigmented and uber difficult to blend. Don't waste your money. Such a disappointment even at the sale price I hot it on boxing day 2014.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought the small version of this palette on sale and thank god I did not spend a dime more. The colors are not that great. The shadows are shimmery and the black color looks a little dull. It has lot of fallout and when you apply it is kind of a hassle. I will use it but sincerely I like more a small palette I bought in Walmart from NYC at .50 cents.

About reviewer (109 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I adore this palette! The jewel tones and smokey black are the things that shine about this palette.The shadows are super pigmented but I highly suggest doing your eyes first then the rest of your face. The fallout is crazy with these shadows.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have the smaller version of this pallette and I actually think I prefer it to the bigger. I get all the unique jewel tones I wanted without the bulkyness of the big one and without all the shads I will never use. The formula is absolutely amazing but I wouldn't expect any less from smashbox. I don't think this is a pallette for makeup beginners or people who don't like bold. The shadows are so pigmented that you cannot get a subtle look from them. Even though it's a holiday pallette I just found it at Nordstrom rack. They had both sizes and some lorac holiday stuff as will. So check them out if your seeking any LE stuff no longer available in the regular stores.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is one of my favorite palettes, hands down (and I have a LOT! of palettes). I bought this after Christmas, on sale, and it was kind of a, "Eh, for that price, might as well try it out", kind of purchase. I didn't expect much from it at all, and I generally don't buy a lot of Smashbox. I'd never tried their Photo-Op formula before this palette. Well, I'm THRILLED with this palette!!! The shadows are super buttery, blendable and wear like iron, even without primer. The colors are fantastic (I like that it's got a nuetrals and colors in it). I feel like the number of looks I could create with this are endless, and even though there are quite a few bold colors in here, every one of them is completley wearable. There are a couple of them that take a bit of work, but they are still workable- not a true "dud" in the whole palette!! I also got the Smaller On the Rocks palette (also on sale! Yay!!) and those shadows are every bit as good as these ones. I'm amazed at how great the Photo-Op formula is!! If you've tried Smashbox's Exposure palettes and didn't like them, give these a try! They're on par with many of the other great eyeshadow formulas that we've all come to know and love! I really, REALLY wish these palettes weren't LE, and I seriously think that Smashbox would do itself a HUGE favor to promote this formula more and come out with similar permanent palettes. If you can find either this palette or the smaller one anywhere still, go for it! They also sell trios in circular packaging of the Photo-Op formula. I just can't get over how much I love this palette, especially since it was basically an "afterthought" purchase! True to it's cover, it really is a diamond in the rough!! =D

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This pallet has an amazing selection of colors, but I do not like applying it as much as I do some of my other pallets. It seems like i have to put a lot on the brush to get the boldness I desire. I also do not use half of the colors because personally I do not like to use blues or go too bold. The packaging is really nice which is kind of what drew me to it in the first place. I would not repurchase this. I dont even use it enough to run out any time soon.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is my First Smashbox Palette. I have many high-end palette such as Naked, Naked 3, Choclate Bar, Ben nye glam palette, It cosmetics naturally pretty, Stila, Pur Mineral etc. I saw most of my palettes were leaning towards warm tone neutral shades, so I was thinking of purchasing a more cool tone palette. I was torn between Lorac pro 2 and this one from smash-box. Finally, I saw sale on this on at Macy's and I thought may be it is nice and has 28 colorful cooler neutral shades, so I should buy this one. I purchased it and have used it for over a week ( 5 to 6 looks) and here are my thoughts: 1. Versatile Palette: from neutrals to smoky shades 2. Have both warm tone shades and cool tone shades 3. It has 28 shades, out of which 9 are buttery matte, 10 are super smooth pigment shimmer and remaining are satin/matte with very very fine glitter in them except for one which is just glitter 4. All the shade except for one glitter shade (moonlight) apply very nicely, blend very well and look very natural-smooth on eyes. They do not look heavy on eyes as my naked palette shimmer shade 5. The looks you get out of it are extremely nice and kinda sultry. My hubby complimented me this entire week (he use to not do it before that often) 6. Packaging is a con. Bulky Over all, It is a beautiful palette but not the best.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I got this palette for Christmas and honestly, it didn't seem very unique and I considered returning it until I realized that I tossed the box and lost the receipt. So glad I didn't return it. This palette does not disappoint! Beautiful selection of shades, blend very nicely, buttery smooth texture. I love this palette. Left half is warmer toned, right half is cooler toned. I have a neutral skin tone, so it works well for me.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us