3.2

Created with Sketch.
153 reviews
47%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Covergirl mascaras are very love/hate for people it seems. I've never had a problem with them for the most part, and I have enjoyed most of the ones I've tried, so I suppose that would put me in the "love" category. This particular one was a miss for me. I was enticed by the advertisements of soft, touchable lashes. I hate crunchy eyelashes, and I abhor them being dry to the point that I will not wear waterproof mascara despite having allergies and perhaps sometimes needing it. The actual mascara base here was very good. It smells faintly of some almond-oil-y scent, and was indeed comfortable during wear. However applying the mascara is done with a very uncomfortable, stiff and stabby plastic wand. It combs through lashes nicely, but it is rough and far harder than it needs to be. I would have so much preferred the comfortable orange tube's silicone wand.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I actually use this as a basic base for building up lashes. I haven’t tried this mascara by itself. I tried lash primers and they just don’t work for me. I curl my lashes first. Then I apply this mascara lightly, next I go full force with my covergirl lash blast ( orange tube). Last, after they’re completely dry, I carefully heat my lash curler with my blow dryer and ever so carefully curl them one last time being mindful not to overheat the curler. This sets the curl, and gives major volume all day. Oh, and don’t forget to declump if needed with a spoolie.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It’s...er, it’s okay. I am a mascara wh%re. I try them ALL. This is a natural-look mascara, which isn’t what I generally want. The numerous reviewers complaining that people shouldn’t downrate this for being natural-look would have a leg to stand on IF the package SAID this was natural-look. But it specifically says things like ‘root to tip volume’ and ‘full separated volume’. Heck, FULL is right in the name. It’s not unreasonable to expect a volumizing formula then! Well, you’re not getting it. There is NO volume, at all, unless you go at least three coats, by which point you are playing with clumps and spideriness. At two coats or less the claim of no clumping and lashes remaining ‘soft’ IS true. The formula is a mousse, and made with beeswax; my lashes are quite pliable at two coats. It’s not a super wet formula; the mousse texture is interesting and relatively workable. However, at only one coat you will not be able to tell you have done anything. One coat: nothing. Three coats: blerrg! So it’s a two-coater, and for your two coats you get a mildly lengthening, averagely darkening but otherwise very low-key look. This is a good choice if you WANT no volume but a little length (not much). I always choose the ‘blackest black’ or ‘very black’ or ‘carbon black’ and Full Lash Bloom’s blackest offering is everyone else’s regular black. I shudder to think how gray the lighter blacks must be. It’s good about not going panda, and yet it comes off easily at days’ end and I DO like THAT about it. I wish I could find a dramatic-look formula that doesn’t smudge yet removes quickly. The brush, as others have noted, IS unusually hard and spiky. I almost never sympathize with brush complaints. Remember how everyone wept over how springy and wonky the Miss Manga brush is? I love that thing. If that brush is bending on you, you must be shoving it into your eye like a wild animal. I don’t think the Full Lash Bloom brush is QUITE as deadly as it’s been made out, but I DID notice it, so yeah, it probably is too much. It’s much more ‘solid’ than the average rubber spike brush, and they’re sharp; there’s not much give at all, so if you ARE prone to clumsy eye stabs, give this a wide berth. If you like to really get that sucker into the base of the lashes and wiggle it around, DON’T. There are definitely days I’m fine with a VERY natural look, but usually I feel ‘it looks so subtle’ misses the point of mascara. If you work somewhere that frowns on thick lashes (???) then this is office-approved. But if you are not specifically seeking to look nearly like you do with bare lashes, give this a miss. I hate my bare lashes, so I probably won’t buy this again. I suppose I might try it with a different wand... I like some of the other Blasts like Clump Crusher, the purple one (Volume, I think?). But the claim of ‘full’ and ‘volume’ for Full Lash Bloom is a TOTAL falsehood, so. Perhaps ‘Natural Lash Bloom’ would garner a better rating because people would be better prepared for what it actually is.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Tan, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Seems to get the job done, I prefer brushes exactly like this one and I like that the brush is great for making this mascara more buildable. I don't see much difference between this one and the OG Lash Blast, but this one performs great.

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I didn't really like the way this applied, the formula felt a little dry, and I'm not a fan of the brush/wand, when applying I poked myself in the eye with this brush a few times. But the final results were great, and to me that is what matters. My lashes looked much longer, fuller, and there were no clumps or flakes throughout the day. This is a mousse formula, which is different from most. So, keep that in mind when purchasing. Overall, this is a beautiful mascara to have.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this mascara! It gave me volume and length to my short lashes. Didn't flake or smudge unless you were wearing it for a really long time and it was the end of the day. I don't have the mascara anymore more only because mine ran out and I decided to try a different one but one day I might repurchase it again. I have nothing against it.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

i LOVED this mascara....the first 3 or 4 times i used to. after that it dried out and became very flaky. i applied my make up at 7am this morning. i just checked in the mirror and wiped off mascara from under my eye. it is 9:30am. don't buy this.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Crappy mascara. What a waste of money and time to put it on. Good thing it was cheap.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is my favorite mascara. I hoard mascaras so I haven't yet had the chance to repurchase this but I totally would, repeatedly in the future. It's very natural and just defines my lashes in a very natural, non-spidery way. Love this! UPDATE! What was I thinking??! It's now January 2020 and I've tried this again in my quest to find a mascara that doesn't leave with me panda/raccoon eyes and this is not a winner. Yes, the initial effect is lovely. Very natural defined lashes. A couple of hours later there are undeniably mascara under my eyes.

About reviewer (232 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is a dryer mascara with my favorite sort of brush. The brush is harder than most plastic ones, separates the lashes nicely and it pulls up a modest amount of product, which is perfect. I'm able to get to the root and (sort of) tight line with it though it is nowhere near as effective and probably not as healthy or recommended as the IT cosmetics brush. The first layer of this will leave you COMPLETELY unimpressed but is perfect if you just want to make your lashes visible. Layer two is where the magic happens. I never (ever, ever) believe packaging when it promises to make my lashes look like the optimistic photo but this mascara does build beautifully without clumping. It actually does create fullness that is quite flattering I gave this 5 lippies all around because it has been the one I seek out lately. Oh, and it is good for layering with other mascaras. I have used this one first and then topped it with Loreal Voluminous Original. The latter is something I keep purchasing (it must've worked for me at some time) even though the brush type isn't my favorite because it just looks like it'd be clump making. But, with this one separating the lashes I can gain additional fullness with a thin layer of the Voluminous.

About reviewer (62 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrunette, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us