3.9

Created with Sketch.
64 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this foundation. I bought it, tried it, and it got set aside, as most of my foundations do. I'm always trying the next thing. I actually tried this because it was on sale on the Too Faced site; it wasn't new. But I just pulled it back out because I am having a horrible problem lately with every liquid foundation I use. I put it on, and I end up having to take it off and start over, because my face is peeling. I am exfoliating, and I'm moisturizing like crazy. Some days, it will look ok when I first put the foundation on, but then after a few hours, it starts to peel and I look ridiculous. Anyhow, I won't go into that anymore; onto this. It seems counter-intuitive that a powder foundation would solve the problem. But I was desperate for a solution, so I decided to try. This was the first of my powder foundations that I pulled out. I press it on with the enclosed sponge applicator. The coverage is good, I would call it medium. I don't know if you can build it up to full, I don't try. I am afraid it would look too cakey. But it's good medium. It doesn't look dry at all. It looks smooth and airbrushed. It glides over my lines. I appreciate not having to worry about creasing. I am using a heavier moisturizer first, then I use Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Primer. I always use a setting spray, and I use one over this as well. I have been using either the Too Faced Hangover or MAC Fix +. It looks good all day, and it does not get dry looking or flaky as the day wears on. I use the fair shade. It blends so easily and seamlessly. My powder blushes and bronzers blend great over it as well. I'm so happy to have found my solution, and I'm happy to be confident in how my skin looks again.

About reviewer (493 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGray



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This isn’t bad. I wore it until I got into my 40s and powder really started accentuating my lines. I adore the smell. I panned two of these, and I feel like they may be discontinuing it, but it’s a great foundation of you like powder. I just prefer liquid now. I also like very sheer foundation.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I like to use this product on my neck and décolletage. The smell is heavenly and a joy to use. I will repurchase.

About reviewer (877 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I really love this! Next to Lancome powder compact foundation, this might be my 2nd favorite powder foundation. I'm 48 yo, combo skin, no acne, and no major wrinkles yet, just some slow forming laugh lines.. When I find a powder foundation that doesn't make me look 100 years old, and gives my skin solid coverage without looking dry, I'm all over it! I'm about N25, neutral tone, and I got the shade light/ medium and it's perfect. I use my regular Aveeno day cream mixed with a drop of argan oil, let that absorb well, then spot conceal if necessary with NARS radiant creamy concealer, then apply one layer with a fluffy brush all over, then go in with a buffing brush on areas I want a little more coverage. When I set my face with UD All Nighter spray, Or Milani Make it Last setting spray it lasts all day. Definitely recommend.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Found this on sale, so I thought it was worth a try. I LOVE it after a the few uses I have had. I use it over BB cream or just a light layer of foundation- but I need high coverage, so I like buildable products. I have huge pores, a result of years and years of oily skin and age :-( Anyway, I have tried just about everything you can think of to make my pores less noticeable. (NOTE: nothing will make them disappear completely!) and right now this powder is becoming a real favorite. After a pore minimizing primer and a light light coat of BB cream I can use this - pat it into the problem area, not smearing- and I can't believe how much better my skin looks. No, my pores aren't 'invisible' but they look much much better. It is also GREAT as a quick swipe oil absorber/complexion blurring powder for a quick touch up. I love this so much, I have to admit I might be a tad hesitant to pay full price (just because I love a deal) but powder foundation always lasts longer than liquid, so I would do it if I ran out. For now I will watch for Too Faced events or sales and if there is any kind of a deal I will grab this to have on hand. I love it.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

So far so good! I have combo skin (although I like to refer to it as bipolar, really... it's intense!) very oily t-zone: forehead and cheeks (visible pores on my cheeks close to my nose), and dry/flakey chin. Foundations always sit awful on my nose, and they tend to rub off completely off the sides of my nose, and off my chin (but that's more my fault, cause I tend to touch my face a lot when sitting on my desk). On top of that, I have acne prone skin. I get some hormonal breakouts here and there, and I need to be extra careful with the type of products that I put on my skin cause it clogs very easily, making me break out mostly on my cheeks and sometimes forehead. For the most part, my acne is under control, nothing bad (and for reference I have light skin with yellow undertones, but not as yellow as I once thought. I don't use MAC foundations cause they break me out, so I'm not sure what my color would be but probably an NC20/25). Taking all of that into account, I'm always on the hunt for a decent-wearing buildable/medium coverage foundation that looks like skin. I really hate "makeupy" looking makeup! Some of my favourite liquid foundations are the MUFE Mat Velvet and Loreal Infallible Pro Matte, and my favourite finish is definitely the MUFE Ultra HD Foundations (both the liquid and the stick versions), but they just don't last long enough on my skin :( I use them when I don't need to wear my makeup for a long time. So I still needed something that applied easily in the morning (I'm usually in a rush to get out the door) and that still lasted decently on my skin during my typical 9 hour working days. So I getting into powder foundations: I like the Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush foundation very and I haven't noticed any weird reactions, but the Light Sand is a bit too yellow on me and it oxidises a little bit. When I wear this foundation I can't use my bronzer because it'll look too dark (my favourite everyday bronzer is the Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil). I can make it work using a little bit of setting powder to lighten it a little, but it's too much work for everyday use... and that's a bummer cause it's a great product (I haven't tested any of the lighter shades yet, I will repurchase in a different shade next time cause it does wear great). I also really like the the Clarins Everlasting Compact foundation (although the SPF makes it have a little bit of pinkish/grey flashback when you take pictures with flash, but I figured it was OK for everyday office makeup). I was using it consistently for about a month, and it lasts very well on my skin and it looks better as time goes on, but I started noticing some tiny bumps on my forehead and on my temples, and I had been experiencing weird bumpy breakouts on my cheeks as well. It was the only new product I was using, so I stopped completely. Along comes the Too Faced Cocoa Powder foundation... I'm LOVING it! the shade is great! (Golden Light), it has buildable coverage (from light to medium), and I'm pairing it with the Too Faced Primed and Poreless powder (using it as a primer before the foundation) so it looks super smooth and my pores look much smaller on my cheeks and my forehead looks completely texture-free! (I also use the Maybelline baby skin primer after I moisturise), and I get to use my bronzer cause the foundation matches my skin tone very well. This powder foundation doesn't cling on to dry bits, and it stays on the entire day! it wears great! I'm very realistic when it comes to the lasting power of foundations on my very oily skin, so I don't expect any foundation to last 12 hours without me needing to blot. So I don't mind being a little dewy mid-day or blotting after 4-5 hours just to keep the shine off. But this never looks greasy like some of my other foundations look. I'm very happy with it so far. I'll continue using it and will update this if something changes (fingers crossed I continue liking it!). - About the packaging: it's just fine. A bulky compact that's sturdy (just like the Chocolate Soleil bronzers) - which is great cause I'm clumsy and tend to drop my powders on the floor sometimes. - About the price: It's mid-range, a bit on the pricier side. I can't assess if it's great, cause I'm not sure how long the compact will last. But unless it lasts me 2 weeks (really hope it doesn't!!) I think it's worth it cause the finish and wear are very good. - Application: I use the EcoTools bronzer brush (just a dense but soft powder brush, good for tapping and buffing in the product - never liked it for bronzer as it packs on too much product). I apply my concealer before the foundation and set with the RCMA no color powder (I don't bake). I also spot conceal if I need to (also set it with the RCMA no color powder).

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have never been a fan of powder foundations but I read good reviews on this so I figured I'd give it a shot. I'm glad I did because I like this a lot. First of all it smells wonderful. It definitely lives up to its name because you smell the cocoa in it. One of my problems with powder foundations is that I don't get enough coverage. Not a problem with this! It offers a medium coverage that you can build up to full coverage. I use a kabuki brush to put it on. Shades are a perfect match. Even born this way tends to settle into my lines a little bit but there is none of that with the cocoa powder foundation. It is very lightweight which makes it a great choice for summer as well. I highly recommend this!

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I absolutely love this powder foundation, not only for the yummy chocolate scent, but the fact that it works so well. Pretty much every powder foundation I have tried ends up in oxidizing or wearing off on my skin, which is beyond frustrating. I purchased this at Sephora on a whim one day- I love the Too Faced Born this Way foundation & concealer, so I figured I would try more items from Too Faced. I apply this my Beauty Blender thebn my Sigma Flat top Kabuki brush- the flat top assures that this is 'pressed' into my skin. I do use this to set my foundation, & it works with pretty much all of my favourites. What I like is that even though this is a powder foundation, it sets your makeup very softly- it's definitely buildable to a very heavy coverage. I noticed that I do not get any oxidization with this, and the lasting effect is phenomenal- this keeps my skin looking fresh for up to 6 hours. I do love this more then MAC studio fix, which has been my go to for awhile. I occasionally reach for studio fix if I'm wanting more coverage, but Too Faced Cocoa powder foundation has stolen my heart. Give this a try, especially if you a chocolate lover- the scent is so yummy ♡

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

UPDATE: 7/13/2018 This powder is my answer to the question, "If you could have only one makeup product for the rest of your life, what would it be?" But, alas... Too Faced has discontinued it :( My former review stands--I'm STILL loving this powder! So, I'm buying it up cheap from Nordstrom Rack (~$15) while I still can. I'm sad to see this one go... I'm loving this powder! REFERENCE: I'm a Caucasian of Irish/German/Welsh ancestry. My skintone is on the light side of medium, mostly neutral, with one part warm (yellow) undertone to two parts cool (pink) undertone. Experience only minimal tanning in the summer. Facial redness is a concern of mine. POWDER COLOR: I was worried that color Light Medium would wear too yellow on me, but it's very neutral! Looks very nice and all but eliminates facial redness. POWDER PERFORMANCE: Provides a light, natural-looking coverage. Allows skin to show through, but minimizes the visibility of imperfections. Airbrushed look. UNDESIRABLE SIDE EFFECTS? None. No acne break-outs; no oily reaction; no weird color change. PRICE: $34 for a compact at ULTA. Pricey for me, but worth it. ETC.: To me, the subtle chocolate scent is heavenly. But, I'm glad it disappears shortly after application.

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

As someone with quite dry skin in most places on my face, I absolutely despise powder foundations and powders in general. Not this one. It doesn't make my skin look cakey and sets foundation and concealer beautifuly. I have used it on its own in the summer and found that although it doesn't have super high coverage on its own, it does a nice job in oil control. Also, the smell of this is divine. Definitely one of my holy grails!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown