4.3

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

For a long time, I was very devoted to the Cle de Peau concealer stick. I loved the full coverage and longevity. Lately though (I just turned forty) it seemed to really point out every single bump, pore, and crease under my eyes, and was so so dry. This was the next product I tried. I use Alabaster in the Future Skin foundation, so the SA felt I could use either shade 1 or shade 2. I personally felt shade 1 was too light but some people might prefer that. So shade 2 is what I’ve been using and it is a very good match. Unlike the CDP, this is a hydrating, cool, light, creamy product that feels great to apply and is easy to blend. It does not crease if you don’t over apply. The finish is very natural - not matte, not too shiny. You can leave as is or set with powder. I don’t really love using the click button to dispense product, it seems to take quite a few clicks to get the product moving and there is a lag time between clicking and getting the product to appear on the brush tip. This in itself wouldn’t be a deal breaker for me though. What I really want from this is just a tad more coverage. It does a pretty good job of covering my under eye circles - I’m perfectly fine using this for weekends - but I’d like just a little bit extra “oomph” there to look really polished and fresh at work. I just picked up the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Creme Brulee and I’m trying it out today. The coverage seems to be slightly more than this Stylo, but I typically use more of the CHANTECAILLE than I did with the NARS because reviewers warn that less is more with it. I’ll have to experiment to see how they compare and will update later. All in all this is a great product and I like it. I still have quite a ways to go before needing to decide whether to repurchase. We’ll see if the Nars RCC displaces this.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Summertime: Tried out Le Stylo camouflage in 4W (medium warm color) which really suits my medium olive coloring- approx 25-30 NW shade. The color is really lovely, the texture is very comfortable, with sheer coverage, with a minimal shimmer, which not noticeable except to add a bit of life. However, it is too sheer to cover up if you have brown spots or deep undereye shadows, and the shimmer is a tad too much for covering up zits etc. Otherwise, it wears very well, does not crease or migrate and does not cause any allergic reactions in me (my eyes are super sensitive). I think it would be perfect for someone with slight shadows who needs only minimal to mild coverup. Wintertime: now I tried the #3 shade, which looks apricot/peach in the container and on your fingers, but which does a good job of concealing purple or dark discoloration under the lid, or over the lid but under the eyebrow (especially the inner corners). This shade seems less transparent than the 4W, somehow. It is lighter and moister than the Ellis Faas 203 (see below) so it may be better for winter or drier weather. If instead you are looking for a mat concealer with better coverage, which is still natural-looking and not flat, you might want to take a look at Ellis Faas concealer - absolutely no shimmer, and great lasting hold. However, their concealer in my shade (S203) has too much peach, and the next shade down (S202) is too light for me in the summer. Ellis Faas do not yet have a concealer for their new foundation in S103.5 which is my perfect match for toning down red/pink areas on the face. So the hunt for the perfect concealer continues....

About reviewer (228 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinAcne-prone, Olive, Neutral

HairSilver, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This is a holy grail for me. This is the first concealer I've found that doesn't settle into the fine lines under my eyes. I use it with a damp Beauty Blender and that does the trick. I'd prefer a bit more product for the money but that's not a deal breaker. I really love this stuff

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It covers okay but is really drying and settles into the lines under my eyes. In fact it actually highlights them. Even though it is expensive I may throw it away mostly unused, it's that bad.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this in Space NK, the MUA explaining it is half and half concealer and eye cream - so overall a really lightweight hydrating product, that really works, and without the dreaded 'highlighting' shimmer so many concealers seem to contain. As I am so self-conscious of my dark circles, I used to be fairly heavy handed with thick concealers and ended up with dry skin around my eyes, caked product, and accentuated wrinkles. It was counter-intuitive using such a lightweight product, but if you suffer from wrinkles I've found less is definitely more. If I'm having a really dark-under-eye-day I'll add a small amount of Clinique Airbrush Concealer on the darkest part of my eye, usually the inner corner, on top of the Chantacaille Camouflage. It's an expensive product and maybe not that useful if you don't have under-eye wrinkles, but a godsend for those that do. I'm so obsessed with it, I've even bought a back up tube!

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

http://img.makeupalley.com/0/0/7/3/2704626.JPG Quantity and Price 0.06 oz $49 This reminds me of Trish McEvoy's Flawless Concealer and YSL 'Touche Éclat' Radiant Touch. TM is the same quantity and costs $38 and uses a twist and click mechanism, which I prefer, as opposed to the push button on the pen base. YSL is a little over 66% more, 0.1oz for $41 and uses the push button base which is what Chantecaille has opted for in their Camouflage Stylo. So Chantecaille's works out a bit more expensive. I usually wear a fair or light foundation with cool tones and was torn between ordering #1 or #2 ... #2 was OOS so I went with #1 and it is perfect! If you are testing this product do blend it in before you decide the shade is wrong or right. At first glance I thought this shade was not going to work for me but it blended in beautifully AND *smoothly*! This did not gather in skin cracks either and I have crepy skin around my eye area so this is truly amazing for me. Plus it has a gorgeous, natural very *slight* luminous sheen - not oily looking at all. I have dark circles and as a previous poster mentioned this will not obliterate them, however it does tone them down very nicely, reducing the 'bruised' tones. I think my only issue is with the packaging. I do prefer the TM twist base stylo but it could be I have just become so familiar with it and that is just a personal preference issue. Also, with my first two applications using the Camouflage Stylo I felt a jabby bristle, not good for delicate skin in under-eye area ... this could be a one-off rogue stubby bristle in the one I bought but I find the brush on the TM is much smoother. I have been using the TM for 4 years now but I may be replacing it with the Chantecaille ... the TM is more a thinner fluid, perhaps a bit too thin in comparison to Chantcaille's slightly thicker formula. For more recent applications of the Camouflage Stylo, I have dispensed a dob on the back of my hand and tapped on with my fingertip using a press-rolling action. At the moment this is a winner product for me and I would definitely repurchase. http://img.makeupalley.com/0/0/7/3/2704627.JPG http://img.makeupalley.com/0/0/7/3/2704628.JPG http://img.makeupalley.com/0/0/7/3/2704629.JPG http://img.makeupalley.com/0/0/7/3/2704630.JPG

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I finally got my hands on this new Chantecaille product, and it doesn't disappoint. I was lucky in that the day I stopped in for it, the Chantecaille national makeup artist was at the store. He took one look at me and said I'd be in shade 3, which kind of surprised me because I'm an alabaster in Future Skin and thought I'd go with a 1 or 2. But, he was absolutely RIGHT!! The packaging of this is just like the YSL Touche Eclat -- a pen that you click to dispense product into a brush. But that's where the similarities end. The YSL product is more pearlescent and (to me) more of a highlighter than a concealer; whereas the Chantecaille product is not pearly and is actually a very nice concealer. I used it under my eyes, fearing it would be too oily, or too dry, or settle into my fine lines. I am so happy to say that I need not have worried about any of that. The product looks extremely natural and melds invisibly with my skin, all while offering nice concealment. Now, if you have very heavy-duty dark circles, then this may not be enough coverage for you, but if you have a more typical undereye area with some circles but nothing really super dark, then I think you'll like this very much. It also covers blemishes nicely. Before this, I was using Bobbi Brown's foundation stick in Shade 1 (Ivory) as my undereye concealer, and I find the Chantecaille to be superior. The BB was very nice at covering redness and circles, but I COULD see it sitting on my skin, whereas with this Chantecaille product, I don't have that problem. My only complaints are: 1) The package didn't include directions on how to use the product. Fortunately, I knew from using YSL Touche Eclat that the first time you have to click about 30 times. 2) The pen clicking mechanism doesn't seem to be working very well. Maybe it's just my particular pen, but I find I've had to click it several times to get the product into the brush. With YSL Touche Eclat, it was never more than two clicks, but this morning I had to click Chantecaille four times! Maybe it's just because I've only used it a couple days. P.S. The first time you use it, you have to click about 30 times to get the product dispensed.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have slight bags under my eyes with no real discoloration so this product is the perfect "wake me up" for under my eyes. I am NC 30 Asian Skin and the 4W shade looks like a natural highlight under my eyes. I have tried YSL Touche Eclat and it looks like I have product under my eyes. I also have tried BB eye brightener and that was not a natural look for me either. One click of the pen works for both my eyes. Really love this product!

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown