4.3

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
75%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I think they've discontinued this product. I can no longer find it on Ulta's website and I couldn't find it on Shea Moisture's website. Damn. So, first, the smell of this hair masque is AMAZING. If you've ever smelled Nina by Nina Ricci in the little apple shaped bottle, then this smells so similar. It's fruity and sweet and I just love it. The smell lingers in your hair for days. But, it's not really about the smell, is it? It's about performance, and this masque performs. I'm biracial (African American and Caucasian) and I have 2C/3A hair. My hair is baby soft, fine, non-color treated, healthy, and low density/thin. I NEED moisture because my hair is curly, and yet because my hair is so fine and thin it is VERY easy to weigh my hair down in products. It's like walking a tightrope. But, this hair masque is perfect for me- it moisturizes and gives some slip, and yet never weighs down my hair. I use this once every 2 weeks after shampooing with Alberto Vo5 Kiwi Lime Clarifying Shampoo. I apply it to the middle part of my strands on down to the ends. I let it sit for awhile, sometimes for 5 minutes if I'm lazy or 30 minutes when I'm not. I wash it out and my hair smells and looks great! I hate when my faves get discontinued! I only have a little left in my tub.... And people wonder why I buy like 2 or 3 of my faves at a time. EDIT (3/21/2019): So, Shea Moisture has a new hair masque called Coconut & Cactus Water Lite Pick Me Up Hair Masque. I've purchased a small trial packette, but haven't used it yet because I'm waiting for my clarifying shampoo day. However, looking at the ingredients I think this could be a great replacement for the 10-in-1 Masque. It looks light enough for fine strands and low density hair, but still has great moisturizing ingredients (particularly for low porosity hair that rejects moisture). Hopefully I can remember to update when I try it out. Hope this helps. EDIT #2 (3/31/2019): Today I used the Shea Moisture Coconut & Cactus Water Lite Pick Me Up Hair Masque for the first time. Last night I put a good amount of pure sunflower oil on my hair and scalp, and slept with it in my hair covered with a plastic cap. Then when I woke up I shampooed with Paul Mitchell's Clarifying Shampoo Three. Out of the shower I applied the hair masque to my towel dried hair, avoiding my roots. I then covered my head with a plastic cap and did 5 minutes under heat (I use a hood attachment for my regular blow dryer). I had the masque on my hair for a total of about 8-10 minutes before I washed it out. My hair didn't feel weighed down or greasy, but light and fairly hydrated. There was no weird film left behind, no residue. The Coconut & Cactus Water masque is indeed light and not heavy in the least bit. In fact, I have some left in my packette and will probably use it again in a week, but this time I want to leave it on for more like 15-20 minutes. My hair could have used a little more moisture after the Paul Mitchell shampoo, which is VERY clarifying. All in all, nothing will replace the Shea Moisture 10-in-1 masque, but I will use the Coconut & Cactus Water as a substitute.

About reviewer (68 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I have repurchased this on several occasions, I'm surprised it doesn't have more rave reviews. The reason I love it is that it's got a really decent ingredient list for something that's not too highly priced. I just checked my tub and don't see any dimethicone which is a win. I have wavy, long, thick, prone-to-frizz hair and I'm really not a fan of products that simply coat your hair in a layer of silicones as that gives a false impression of smoothness. I don't find that this weighs my hair down too much but I think it would if you used it too regularly as it is very moisturising. I normally use this once a week after I use either a toning or anti-dandruff shampoo (nizoral) as these can both be drying. I much prefer this to their general conditioner in the same line, I tried that but felt like I had to use half the bottle to get any benefit. I adore the light fruity smell of this.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Love the & creamy thick texture of this product & the smell, but meh on my hair. I was left with tangles & I had difficulty running a comb through it. My hair did not feel extra soft or anything. I will not repurchase & actually returned it.

About reviewer (142 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The scent on this stuff is not of any type of fruit that I have ever smelled in my life. I don't truly know what type of scent Shea Moisture was aiming for with their super fruit line, honestly. However, I can say that out of all of the hair masks from Shea Noisture this one works the best thus far for my hair, however, it is not what I consider to be staple worthy. That's due to my wishing that it left my hair feeling more softer and more moisturized than it does. It does have slip, not a ton, but a decent amount, and it does strengthen the hair, I personally feel. Which is always a good thing. I used up one jar of this stuff and no, I can honestly say that I have no plans on using it anymore in my hair. That's only because I have tried other masks that work better than this one. So, I plan to continue to stick with them instead.

About reviewer (972 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I love Shea Moisture and have many of their products. This one, however, made my hair rough and tangled. I can only guess it's the protein in it. I tried it three times; I kept thinking I'd done something wrong or my expectations were off. I realized I meant to buy the "Fruit Fusion Lightweight" Masque, and got this accidentally. Fruit... fruit... Multitasking. Durrr. It was a relief, however, to know that I'd gotten the wrong thing. My hair does not like protein much, and when it does, I use Joico K-Pak. I've gone back to the SM Raw Shea Moisture Masque, and all it right with the world. Know your hair. Know what you're getting. I have read repeatedly that the biggest mistake women make with their hair is using the wrong products. Read the label (YES THIS THIS!) and instructions and do what it says. I ended up throwing this away. I deserve to lose $12.99. Won't happen again, though!

About reviewer (92 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairSilver, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have shoulder length, naturally dry, frizzy, curly hair with lots of split ends. I don't use heat this is just what I was given! I use a cleansing conditioner and follow up with this mask when my hair is needing some serious TLC and my hair comes out moisturizer, soft to the touch, shiny, and weightless. The frizz is still there but I have come to terms with it. About every two weeks or so I'll use a clarifying shampoo and mix this masque with my Eden Body Works deep conditioner and due my hair having zero residue or hard water deposits from clarifying the combo of these two transforms my hair and will keep the frizz at bay(or a day or two lol)

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

The smell is awful. I don't care how well it conditions, it gave me a headache the first and only time I used it. So chemically and unnatural. Yuck!

About reviewer (231 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I very rarely post reviews...I am so incredibly lazy and I tend to find one product and stick to it religiously. However, my hair sucked. I had been bleaching it for the past year and I blowdry/straighten it once or twice a week. My hair is naturally thick, curly and quite frizzy but since bleaching it's been brittle, stringy, frizzy and strands were just snapping off when I ran my fingers through it (despite doing coconut oil masks once per week). I use the Macadamia oil serum and the leave-in conditioner post shower but my hair desperately needed some pre-shower moisture surge...this blew me away. The Shea Moisture range kept catching my eye so I thought I'd give this one a go as I was getting desperate (I was so unhappy with my hair). I put this on dry hair and slept in it. I woke up and washed it out and I've been asking people to touch/smell my hair all day. It smells wonderful...my hair looks amazing...it's like I've had a new haircut or something...so pleased. 1000% my new holy grail.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This product does NOT deserve the $$$ tag. It's super affordable - $13 for the tub. Anyhow, after having a crappy experience with Smooth & Repair masque, I decided to exchange it for this masque. So glad I did! I have the SuperFruit conditioner and was hooked on the first try. Same goes for this masque. I clarified with an ACV rinse, co-washed with Trader Joe's Tea Tree conditioner and then applied two heaping handfuls of this on to my hair. I finger combed it through thoroughly and let it sit on my hair, without additional heat, for 8 minutes. Hot damn! This product gives a great deal of slip - which I love! My hair was soft, shiny, moisturized, but not at all weighed down. My curls had some awesome definition to them which only improved on day 2. When your day 2 hair looks even better than your day 1 hair, you should keep doing whatever it is you're doing and in my case, that was this masque. I am officially hooked on this treatment and will definitely repurchase. The smell is amazing, the ingredients are CG girl's dream, and the line is almost always on BOGO @ ULTA (and ULTA will allow you to use their coupons on this line).

About reviewer (299 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was lucky enough to find a family-size jar of this stuff on sale for a whopping 5 bucks. This stuff is super thick - I actually had to spread it around on my palms before I was able to apply it to my hair. Considering the name, I wish it had smelled like fruit but it doesn't. It smells exactly like an old Schwarzkopf Bonacure mask I had years ago; it doesn't smell BAD but it's nothing great. I know that Shea Moisture products are pretty heavy for my hair type (fine, thin) so I was careful not to overdo it. I put a light coating on my hair with a little bit more focused on the ends, covered with a shower cap for 10 minutes then rinsed thoroughly. Right after rinsing, my hair felt unbelievably silky; even more so than when I use silicone conditioners. It dried very soft, untangled and easy to comb through. It was a slight bit weighed down but not noticeably so. It did also leave a bit of a coating but one that's similar to when I use something like coconut oil and not the artificial sticky-feeling that more "commercial" products can sometimes give you. So, overall I really like this product a lot. It contains great ingredients and truly does moisturize and give a "deep" conditioning. I will probably only use it about once a month just because my hair doesn't need something this heavy very often, but I highly recommend checking it out no matter what your hair type is.

About reviewer (257 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Wavy, Other

EyesOther