4.3

Created with Sketch.
127 reviews
85%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have used these for years to smooth out and stop sleep wrinkles forming on my forehead whilst i sleep and they work really well ! I wet them with tap water after cleansing & toning my face and then leave it on overnight and peel it off in the morning and stay wrinkle free !

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBlack

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Like a previous reviewer, I bought Frownies to fight 11's in my sleep. I must say it works, especially if I cut the triangle into smaller parts and place it directly on my elevens. I frown both during the day and at night and Frownies seriously diminished wrinkle appearance just in a month of every night wear. Frownies are made from thick almost cardboard like paper. One side has an adhesive that is activated by water. They come in very sturdy and really well-made cardboard package 144 pieces in a pack. I use tap water and my sensitive rosacea prone skin has no issues with using Frownies whatsoever. I find the adhesive to be very very strong (that's why I think the Frownies work so well). Sometimes I need to put my forehead under the tap for about a minute to properly wet Frownie for removal. My skin is rather dry, I always use Frownies over my skincare and I've noticed that the more products I use underneath, the easier the removal, but in any case, it never pops out, I need to spend the time to make the Frownie properly wet to loosen adhesive. Unfortunately, I suffer from external compression headaches. I can't wear anything that gives some pressure to my head (hats, headbands, hair clips, etc.) and Frownies give me severe pressure and bad headaches. I will not finish my pack but highly recommend Frownies to anyone who does not suffer from external compression headaches and does not want to dive into Botox.

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I started using these because I scowl/frown while sleeping and it left me with 11's in the morning. When I was younger, these lines went away within an hour of waking up. Now, I'm afraid they might be permanent so I've been wearing frownies while sleeping. I know that at some point I will need to get a dermal filler/botox because these won't work but for the time being, I'm satisfied. With that being said, I just don't see how this could truly work for someone who scowls during the day but not while sleeping. I think you'd have to be like me and scrunch up your face while sleeping but not during the day. Or, you work from home and wear them all-day to prevent yourself from frowning/scowling/etc. I use these on top of several layers of serum and a heavy night cream. Sometimes I also put on a sleeping mask and I have no problems with these staying on all night. I just use tap water on them. I also don't find the need to dampen them in the morning before taking them off. I pull them off and it is released quite easily. It does not take off a layer of skin. But this might be because of all the creams I use at night. They might stick more if you use fewer products or less heavy ones. I have known about these for 15 years but when I was younger, I didn't like using them because I was afraid the adhesive was bad for my skin. I haven't noticed the adhesive causes any irritation or acne. I'd like to know more about what goes into the adhesive or would like it infused with some sort of anti-aging serum, though. I feel like they are overpriced for kraft paper but haven't bothered trying to google to see if there is a cheaper, DIY version.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've been using these now for 10 weeks and sadly they do not work, at all.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I understand that this is not a substitute for botox or anything remotely close to the results you would get with laser therapy, but, the effects of this usually lasts maybe 4-5 hours the next day. I am like the previous poster, I use these wanting them to make a difference, then forget about them for a few weeks, then give them another try. Even with repeated nightly use, the effects for me have been moderate to minimal and very temporary. That said, if you have an important day or night, a special occasion, photographs, etc. then these are good for that quick fix. Directions say to wear a minimum of 3 hours, but optimal time of 8 hours. I have not tried to wear them longer than 8 hours to see if the effects last longer. I will try that soon and report back. Experience with these: 1) I did not purchase the Frownies brand rose water spray you are supposed to use with these. I instead tried Andalou Rose Water Toner spray, thinking this would be similar enough to wield the same results. I found very minimal change when using these two products together. On top of that, my forehead where I pile these on broke out after more than 1 night's use of them together. 2) Then I tried just spraying bottled water on the strips. That worked better, but not great. 3) I have been using it recently with Avene Thermal Spring Water spray and find the best results with it. YMMV.

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I can't believe I haven't ever reviewed these, because I've been using them for 10+ years. I don't use them every night. I tend to go through stages of using them, (then forgetting about them for months). Then I look in the mirror and see the lines, and out come the Frownies. When I use these on my "11s" at night, my face is crease-free in the morning. The smoothed look lasts for hours, and sometimes it even lasts all day. You're not supposed to put lotion on under these because it can counteract the adhesive, however, there are serums (like Vitamin C/ Ferulic) that have never interfered with the stickiness for me. I have also successfully used Frownies with Snoxin on my skin, and the Frownies didn't budge. After I stick on the Frownie, I take a damp washcloth and press it on the paper for a few seconds. This seems to set the adhesive so the pad does not slide off. The pad is basically skin color, so it's not glaringly scary in bed. I think there is a tiny bit of menthol in the adhesive, because the stickiness smells a little minty when I dampen it. I feel a little coolness on my skin upon application, which also leads me to suspect there's menthol or some other mint in the adhesive. For those of you who remember postage stamps...Frownies are basically postage stamps that you dampen with a sponge, a droplet of water, or toner spray. You stick them on your skin, over your most lined areas, and they keep that skin flattened while you sleep. Every time you try to wrinkle your forehead during your dreams, your skin can't crease with the muscle movement. The more the skin relaxes, the less the depth of the creases. This is the same idea ,but the opposite method of how botox works. Botox freezes your muscles so they don't move your skin. Frownies glue your skin in place so your skin doesn't move with the muscle contractions. These are ingenious and they really work!

About reviewer (825 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

A couple of years ago, when I was only 28, I started developing a vertical line between my eyebrows (just the right 1 of an 11). Oh no, I'm too young for this! It was mostly the result of frowning at idiots I encounter in my everyday life, but also from unknowingly frowning while trying to problem-solve at work. I decided to give Frownies a try. They actually kinda work! It's superficial and temporary, but it does make a noticeable difference the next day after wearing them overnight. Cheaper and more natural than Botox (though perhaps Botox can do more in terms of 'prevention'?). And bonus, they kinda peel off with skin gunk the same way biore nose strips' do (which my skin can handle). The annoying thing is, of course, remembering to wear them consistently and not feeling like a weirdo with patches on your face. I'm single so it's no problem now, I would have to date a man who's ok going to bed with a girl who wears patches on her face occasionally. To avoid frowning, I've also tried to care less about what idiots say and do, and try not to make facial expressions when I'm working hard on something - I just stick to swearing under my breath with a neutral face instead. Frownies is part of a multi-pronged approach.

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love Frownies! I've been using them off and on for a couple of years (when I remember). Here's a suggestion for when you start using them to keep the 11s away most of the day: Right after removing the Frownie, while your forehead is still smooth, dab a little Peter Thomas Roth Instant Firm-X on your 11 area. You can't really put foundation or cream over the Firm-X, but if you can go without, it'll help keep the 11s from oozing back into place. You'll also notice if you start to frown during the day; the Firm-X is tight enough that it pulls a little when you scowl. Bye-bye 11s!

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have deep 11 lines. I've had 11s since I was a kid, all that worrying and anxiety I deal with. At 42, while my face looks overall youthful and firm, the 11s give me a "frazzled, tired, stressed" look. I wanted Botox, desperately. A girl at work (a mere 30) gets it and it gives her this odd look. I wasn't sure if it was for me. Thankfully I found Frownies at my local Harmons. All I have to do it gently spritz the shiny part of the brown triangle with my makeup setting spray or any rosewater and then smooth out the 11s with my fingers. I press the triangle to the area and go to sleep. I am single so nobody has a clue. My 11s are visibly relaxed in the morning. I guess these are simply retraining my stubborn muscles. Believe me, if it is these over Botox, I am taking these! Great product and a bix will last ages!

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I can't believe something so simple actually works. To soften the 11 between my brows, I use 1 triangle every night. Each morning the lines are smoothed. True, the effect is temporary, but with continued use, the muscles between my eyebrows become more relaxed. Basically, those muscles aren't getting a good workout because I'm using the Frownies. But here's the catch: If I stop using them, the lines come back and the muscles toughen up again. So it's worth it to me to stick a patch of brown paper to my face every night. I have no problem removing the patch in the morning. I dab water around the edges, wait a minute, then loosen the patch. It usually comes off easily. The only issue I DO have is an occasional clogged pore which leads to a small bump, but those go away with acne spot treatment.

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us