3.5

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
62%
would repurchase
3.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

So don't bother buying this unless you have problematic skin as I do. It won't be worth it for you. But if like me you break out with acne and rosacea at the slightest ingredient your skin dislikes then this might be good for you. The texture is a bit weird but it does absorb beautifully. All dryness is gone and my skin is wonderfully prepped for make up. I don't think it does much in terms of anything else but for me something that doesn't make my face erupt is perfect. I will probably buy this again but there are products that are as good for a fraction of the price.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther



3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I got this in a deluxe little pot and it lasted me for one month. A little goes a long way, it is a mousse type quality cream. Texture is lovely and it's not greasy, therefore it is convenient to a combo skin like mine. No breakouts whatsoever so it's a big plus. Goes on nicely. It evens out skin tone but does not do any dramatic change to skin texture. It has acid inside therefore it exfoliates a little your skin. It can be used day or night and does keep skin moisturized. I prefer a night use, as per every skincare that has an exfoliation effect and then sunscreen in the morning is mandatory (this cream can make skin sensitive to the sun). I really hate the smell - smells chemical like ordinary shampoo - like almost all Algenist products. On the con side it is really exepensive at 85£ a pot. Not sure I will buy it in fullsize , as there are far better alternatives on the market for a similar effect.

About reviewer (1019 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Other, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I took the ten day challenge to see if it would erase my wrinkles. While it is great moisturizer, and my skin does appear to like it, my wrinkles are, of course, still here. As well as my large pores. I like the way it feels when it is on, kind of cool and pleasant, but it is probably not going to erase time. The price is very expensive as well.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got a free deluxe sample of this, but I can't say I'm impressed. Everyone seems to be excited about the mousse like texture, but I just see it as a gimmick. Whip a product full of air so people have to use twice as much of it. And then you can charge a ton of money for a cream whipped with air that actually costs you less to make than a non-whipped product. It's genius alright. That being said I don't hate it. The scent with a hint of vanilla is nice, and it does a nice job moisturizing my combination skin in winter without going too overboard. Doesn't break me out and absorbs, so it does tick off a few boxes. Thankfully though I have many other options, which I'll be buying over this one for much better value. Also, can't say I saw any kind of significant improvements of my skin.

About reviewer (147 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

i got a sample size of this moisturizer in a skincare set and loved it. it's moisturizing but not greasy. it absorbed wonderfully into my skin instead of sitting on top like many other moisturizers. it works great alone (even during the drier winter months) as well as under sunscreen. i'm not sure of its anti-aging claim, but my skin did look and feel great while using this. the only 2 cons are that it's so expensive and that it comes in a jar. i don't think i can stomach repurchasing this on its own since it's so pricey, but i would definitely repurchase this in a kit.

About reviewer (208 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I use this strictly as an eye cream. I am acne prone & oily, so I know this would break my pizza face out like a volcano if I applied it everywhere. With that being said - I like it. The formula is very moisturizing. Some eye creams have actually dried my under-eye area out, but when I wake up the morning after wearing this all night - my skin is supple there. Additionally, it doesn't irritate my sensitive eyes. That's all wonderful, but I'm going to be completely honest here for the sake of others considering this product. As I write this review, I'm 24 years old. I shouldn't have aging problems yet. Thus I mainly use this eye cream as a preventative measure and not as a damage eraser. I have 3 tubs left to use up of Algenist Genius Ultimate Anti-Aging Cream (don't ask). These are expensive at nearly $100 each. Since I only need moisture, I will probably just opt for a cheap barrier cream next (from Walmart). Sunscreen is already a religious part of my regime. But for those of you that are dealing with actual damage, I still wouldn't recommend this product. Yes, it is nice and moisturizing. And the ingredient list is full of beneficial ingredients for your skin. *However* I do not believe in anti-aging miracle products. It will always be easier in my opinion to prevent wrinkles than it is to get rid of them. The best thing you can do for your skin right now is to prevent further damage with sunscreen, moisturize to soften the fine lines, and for those of you with tough skin - give Retin A a shot (review in my profile). It is more effective and less expensive to go that route in my opinion.

About reviewer (515 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I been using this face cream for almost two weeks now and i feel it's time to write a review. I had not known this brand until a sephora associate presented it to me and gave me a sample of it (that lasted me almost two weeks). I must say I am very pleased and surprised with this one. I am constantly on the search for anti aging moisturizers as I am 33 now and my skin needs different care now. Although I am blessed with no problematic skin some times I do experience redness (not rosacea) and sensitivity. I have tried lots of brands in the last year , But this one is really something. I love the consistency of it (it is rich but non oily on my skin). My skin drinks it up in 5 minutes. The good thing is you can use it day and night. My skin looks plumper, healthy, moisturized with a subtle glow. The only cons is that it does not have SPF. Also it is very pricey….

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

By far the best scented product from this brand that I have tried (kinda like yummy rice pudding) I probably will purchase again , but then again, it is very $$$$. No earth shattering results seen, and I am to the bottom of the jar.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

The only thing Genius about this product is that someone came up with a brilliant way to market it to suckers like me. It is expensive, and marginal at best. I don't normally pay much attention to the packaging, however, since this is in a jar I gave it a low rating for that as well.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Received a nice deluxe sample for this facial creme. I find that in the winter my combination skin needs a little extra moisture. This creme is great, no dry flake on my skin in my dry zones and no blemishes on my oily acne prone areas. This cream does have a nice mousse whip consistency. A little amount is necessary to cover one's face. I tad a small amount, rub it in my palms than apply to my face. Pleasant scent, that I like...although if you like fragrance free I'd avoid. I have used this x 1 month (that's how long my little sample lasted) and pleased with the moisture I have obtained. I can't comment on wrinkles or fine lines as I don't have any (yet) but I feel my complexion is more even. This product does not have SPF, but my primer does, so I don't mine it.

About reviewer (654 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue