3.6

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

*UPDATE*....... My hair started breaking and became like straw after using after a few times, if it weren't $13 it would go in the garbage!!!!!!! If you want to take a chance with your precious highlights, well good luck! Last time I ever take recommendations from non professionals!!!!!!! Returning and RUNNING AWAY FROM SALLY***************I thought This is (was) magic in a bottle!. My highlights were toned too dark by stylist. Then re toned by stylist, which did not last. The brassy overtones were zapped away (((((((along with some of my hair and the vibrant life!)))))) with this product! I shampooed my hair with goldwell rich repair shampoo). Rinsed. I applied with color bottle to crown area first. After a few minutes applied to my partial highlights on top and sides of my hair. Waited another 2-3 minutes and rinsed. Followed with goldwell rich repair conditioner. And a leave in conditioner. My hair is curly. Amazing first time results (((((( the only time!)))))). Much brighter and less brass hue. The front of my hair grabbed the toner fast ( in a good way). I will apply to brassy areas first at the scalp mostly in the crown. My highlights are foils with bleach and olaplex. Thankfully my hair is in very good condition and I'm (((NOT EVEN))))))))):;(((((((( glad a BRUNETTE Sally Beauty EMPLOYEE recommended this product. SAVE YOUR $ and time with something else.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The shade "Ash Blonds" is GREAT for correcting brassiness in Dark Blond, Medium Brown, and even Dark Brown hair. You always hear: Blondes should use purple shampoo to combat brassiness. But what if you are medium blonde, light brown, or even dark brown? I used this product in the shade "Ash Blonds" on my Medium Blond hair. It's a mix of purple AND blue. Blue corrects orange, and purple corrects yellow. I apply this product to my roots, and then regular shampoo on my very blonde ends. After waiting a couple of minutes, I'll work this downward to mix with the lather of the regular shampoo. Wait a little bit more, then rinse. This "Ash Blonds" shade can darken light blond hair (temporarily) quite a bit, so be careful (Blond Brilliance offers a lighter shade for light blondes). Anyway, my friend was talking about how brassy her dark brown hair was. She gets it lightened from black to dark brown, and it was a little brassy. I bought her this shade "Ash Blonds", and her hair was corrected after just one wash. Pretty cool. And so inexpensive. Note: You can condition your hair normally after this shampoo and the color deposit still stays. Also, if your hair is really dirty, shampoo with regular shampoo first, THEN this product. It lathers but it is not as cleansing as a regular shampoo. It does not dry out my hair, but then again, I only really use it on my roots.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've decided I can't live without this stuff. I've used just about every brand of purple tone-correcting shampoo out there. Naissant, Matrix, Jouco, Schwarzkopf (I loved Schwarzkopf So Silver or many years) then I found this, and I've repurchased it several times. It's cheap at $9, accessible at Sallys and it works better most I've used. I hate brassiness. You should shampoo with your regular shampoo first to clear away the dirt and product buildup, then apply this and leave it on while you do your usual shower stuff like shave, etc. Follow with a good conditioner or mask and you've got perfectly toned hair. It doesn't strip like shimmer lights. It's not drying at all. I'm so glad I found it!

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Tried so far: naissant perla beige Blond Brilliance John Frieda My hair was bleached at the salon from level 6 to 9 with olaplex and is dry but ok. This shampoo was followed with an Argan Oil jasmine repair treatment and Aussie 3 minute moist. The shampoo was left in 17 min, the conditioner was left in an hour. My hair doesn't feel dry, and is noticeably cooler. The John Frieda brand was left in a full hour on level 9 cuticle-blown-open hair and did absolutely nothing. It was 3 dollars more than this product, which looks like it'll give me a purple ash blonde if I use it one more time soon. It does not get 5 stars because the tone is workable but not the lovely shade I achieved with naissant perla beige, which I had researched and ordered on Amazon. Both products are deeply pigmented which indicate strong likelihood of results.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Update edit: So about halfway through the bottle I've decided that it does in fact lather. But the lather is very gentle. I don't know how to describe it other than this stuff doesn't strip my hair the way Shimmer Lights did. Added tip: If you REALLY want to get the most out of using this, let it sit on your hair for a few minutes. 1 moment of contact with the hair isn't going to tone much. If your hair seems to have a hard time taking the pigment, use a blow dryer to add some heat. This will open the hair cuticle similar to how developer opens it when using a "real" toner. The heat sort of locks it in. Last but not least, make sure you're applying a generous amount. Keep in mind that the water in your hair is diluting the shampoo...and the shampoo's color. ------------------- Blond Brilliance has had some god awful products (I'm not kidding...check out my reviews for their powder lightener and toners...). But this product is a hit! So many have raved and recommended it to me. I know a girl with the most gorgeous white-blonde hair I've ever seen. She told me she does not use a real toner after bleaching and this is what keeps the brass away. My first thoughts on Blond Brilliance Lathering Toner were, oh god, why isn't it lathering for me? I mean it. This "lathering toner" is like a runny conditioner. I love that though as most of the purple shampoos I've tried are really stripping to my hair. It was as though this actually added moisture back in. The only downside to this is I will have to use a lot more of it to coat all of my hair. A few people have told me they've had the same experience with it not lathering, while others claim it definitely lathers. I don't know what to think of this. I will have to use a real shampoo before using this because it clearly isn't strong enough to remove my silicone hair leave in products. Now... my second thought focused on the color of the formula. This is a dark violet. I am not a fan of Shimmer Lights as it did very little for me. Blond Brilliance's version is so much stronger and superior. This toned my hair! I was left with very cool-toned, ashy, blonde hair. In my experience this does not wash right out in the next shower the way others warn you it will. I actually followed up with a harsh shampoo just to see how true those claims were. After shampooing twice with a clarifying shampoo, I could still see the cool tones. I believe I could get away using this once a week. I love that this doesn't require developer, olaplex, hours of my time, $$$, ect. It's a lot more convenient than a "real" traditional hair toner. Will this be replacing my Wella toners? I wish. I feel like the Wella toners give me a much more even base. Unfortunately since the Lathering Toner is a contact dye, it "picks and chooses" where to visibly deposit pigment. If I could get my blonde hair to be one dimensional in color and porosity, then I'd ditch the Wella for Blond Brilliance in a heartbeat. I think most of the people giving this low lippie ratings most likely have hair that is too dark for this product's purpose. You do have to have light blonde hair in order for this to work. Color (meaning the purple pigment in this) can't lift your hair's color. It can only deposit pigment and if your hair is dark blonde/orangey, it's not going to work out for you. NO, this does not mean it didn't do it's job. I have no doubt this "lathering toner" did in fact deposit purple onto your hair... but your hair is just too dark for it to show. Hopefully that makes sense to you all. Make sure your hair is about a level 8 and above to use this. It's a good product, but not a miracle worker.

About reviewer (515 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

As a professional I am always looking for exciting new products to get the results I am after. I see that many assume this BB Lathering toner to be a shampoo and conditioner but it is definitely NOT that. It is in the colour isle for a reason, it is a toner NOT a shampoo or conditioner although it goes on the hair with ease and no premixing. A bonus feature for sure!! It has far more pigment added than a purple shampoo does and this can be used to actually correct tones without lifting further. It is designed for those who are very close to the blond they are looking for. If you require a little further lifting or more correction then their peroxide activated toners may be a better choice. You can get an additional level of lift using a 15 vol with their lilac or platinum toner for a whiter blond. Remember that pre lightened hair is super porous as a result of the bleach and often takes pigment far more than you think, so give this Lathering TONER and Conditioning TONER a try as a duo before subjecting your hair to more stress. At worst you can use it to maintain blond as a purple correction mask once in a while in between lightenings. If you're a blond it is so worth trying; it's an innovative product that doesn't fit the normal categories. That's what makes it special!! It's about using the right product for the scenario you find yourself in to get the best results. Happy Blonding

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I am surprised by the mixed reviews, as well. If your lightened hair has gone brassy or yellowy and you want to neutralize it, this does an excellent job. It's very powerful, takes five minutes, and if you follow with a conditioner afterwards you shouldn't have any more dryness problems than usual. I have not tried the 'warm' tones, only the cool purple toner.

About reviewer (133 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is not your mother's purple shampoo! I found this in the toner section of Sally's but I think it actually is really just a concentrated purple/color depositing shampoo. When I got home and realized this I was worried it would be like Clairol Shimmer Lights, which turned my hair quite lavender. Anyway, after using this as a regular shampoo followed by my conditioner (I do not find it necessary to pre-shampoo my hair personally), I got very nice results. I have long, hair with a partial highlight. It had had gotten brassy partly because I am in between treatments and partly because my stylist screwed up last time. After applying a good amount of this and working it up to a rich lather especially in the areas which were particularly gold, then leaving it on for 5 minutes, my hair looked noticeably cooler and less brassy. No purple/gray weirdness. Do not follow up with your regular shampoo or you will rinse your results away. I sometimes mix a few drops into my regular shampoo though for a less dramatic tone and this is good too if you are really struggling with going back and forth between brassy to ashy. I haven't tried the conditioner of this and probably won't because I am pretty happy with these results. I don't find it particularly drying, though this is nothing that a good conditioning treatment would't fix for someone who does. Excellent product to tide you over between visits to your colorist. Very reasonably priced at around $8.00 for a very large bottle at Sally's.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was surprised by the mixed review here. I think this product is great. I use the Cool Blonde tone. While I find it a little bit drying, its nothing my conditioner afterwards doesn't immediately fix. My hair is a little damaged from lightening so I usually co-wash. I use it in place of shampoo and get a great lather, then condition or sometimes just mix it with my conditioner. Its not designed as a shampoo or to be mixed with conditioner, this just works for me. You wont get the same good lather if mixed with conditioner though, but the toning is the same. I have light blonde hair that can get very yellowy. This works exceptionally well to tone that out. Will definitely keep using this!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Well, this is cr*p! I bought the one for cool blondes, because my hair was getting a bit too yellow and I wanted more of an ash hue. I used it twice, and left it on for 5-7 minutes each time, and there was absolutely NO change to my hair. Actually upon closer look, it may look even MORE yellow/brassy! I was hoping to get amazing results with this, but my purple shampoos (especially Fudge) give me wayyyy more toning than this thing. It us also pretty drying. I now have an almost new bottle that needs to go in the trash can. I won't be trying any more products from this line.

About reviewer (193 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us