3.8

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
69%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've been on the search for a new sunscreen & saw this as walmart for a decent price. I was originally using Aveeno Hydrate & Protect but it kept migrating into my eyes like crazy. I do like this sunscreen but my only gripe about it is, I find it incredibly drying- but most products that claim a matte effect usually means it's not hydrating so I can't really fault them on that. I thought though that I would be able to wear a good moisturizer underneath, so I put First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Balm under it, but a few hours later, it feels like all the moisture's been sucked out of my skin leaving it super tight & dry. I personally would recommend this to any oily ladies out there along w/ combo skins. If you're dry I'd highly urge you to have a heavy duty moisturizer underneath it!

About reviewer (54 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

At the age of 25 I'm just now realizing that it's important to wear sunscreen on your face every day. This was the first product I bought in my foray into facial SPF. I read positive reviews on it and this was before I purchased products mindfully, so when I saw it at the store I just picked it up without closely examining the ingredients list or thinking about the ethics of the manufacturer. Now, the positive aspects to this product are as follows: - No white cast. - Affordable (it was around $7 for a sunscreen the same size as ones I was seeing for $50 elsewhere.) - Doesn't break me out or clog my pores, period. - Doesn't leave me feeling greasy (or dry, but it seems greasiness is a more common issue when it comes to sunscreen.) - Contains dimethicone which makes it almost double as a primer. - As a sunscreen, it works. There is a broad spectrum SPF 50 in this product and I wore it out in the sun and didn't get burned. Those are pretty awesome pros. All in all, this product performs well. So what are the cons that knocked off two lippies? They are: - The presence of "aluminum starch" on the ingredients list. Something about putting aluminum on my face doesn't sit well with me. There are sunscreens that don't have this ingredient. From what I can tell it's an extremely cheap way to increase the SPF rating of a product substantially. I've seen studies that say it is fine but putting a heavy metal on my face for a prolonged period of time is not a choice I'd make personally. - Not cruelty-free. No matter how well a product works for me, if it contains heavy metal ingredients or is tested on animals, it's not worth repurchasing (to me.)

About reviewer (75 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Finding a sunscreen that has an SPF over 15 and no white cast is so difficult for me, but this sunscreen is the best I've tried thus far! In Canada we have this product under the name "Coppertone Clearly Sheer". This one has SPF30 and retails at $9.99CDN for 50ml. I have dark skin so I cannot put up with any sort of white cast. This sunscreen doesn't give me any sort of white cast which is miraculous! It feels really nice going on, smooth and silky. It sets to a satin finish with a slightly powdery feel which I completely adore. I'm amazed I found a completely sheer SPF30 that has a satin finish that didn't have alcohol in it!? It doesn't exacerbate my combo-oily skin (it doesn't reduce my oiliness but it doesn't make me any oilier) I've been using this sunscreen for three months and it hasn't made me break out once which is amazing to me. I worked this sunscreen into my routine during the hotter months, so I apply this after my toner, allow it to soak in for fifteen minutes before starting my makeup routine. In my experience, I find this sunscreen makes my foundations just glide on as smoothly as butter. No pilling, no patchiness. It reminds me a bit of a primer in that regard. It smells like regular, inoffensive sunscreen which might bother some people but I really like the smell of sunscreen. It's It reminds me of happy days at the lake. I adore this sunscreen and I'll continue purchasing it. I wish it came in a bigger bottle!

About reviewer (155 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Dark, Neutral

HairBlack, Kinky, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

The formulation Im reviewing is the (2 oz) Clearly Sheer Faces SPF 50... it's a newer formulation so please don't lump it together with others that have similar packaging... Coppertone seems to have a bad habit of giving products nearly identical packaging. :\ I picked this up after spending about 30 minutes in a walmart aisle comparing ingredients. I had seen it before several times but passed on trying it. Asian sunscreens are far superior to anything I could pick up there... but for a cheap thrill, I decided to try it anyways. I liked the idea of it being sheer and the protection looked adequate. Nothing in the ingredient list stood out to me as bad news. This is pretty sheer. I liked how easy it was to blend into my skin. The whitecast is next to none. And it did not burn my skin. Some chemical sunscreens burn my skin like fire. So that was a relief. I had no negative reactions to applying this (which by the way - few days prior I applied a neutrogena sport face SS to a different section and it's still red). I don't like the sweet scent of this sunscreen as I have rosacea and prefer fragrance-free. However I'm thankful Coppertone didn't add in citrus essence like a lot of companies do, because *that* fragrance is my biggest flare up trigger. I always go with SPF45 and above. This being an SPF50, drugstore priced, with a decent formula is almost unheard of. I can still feel that it's moisturizing my skin; just not sitting on top. But I do have one issue with it - the dry down. This does dry down to a satin finish but getting it set to matte with powder is a difficult task. :( Is it super greasy like most sunscreens in drugstores? No. But I need the matte finish most asian brands offer. As for my matte make up... this did not ball up when I went to apply foundation. It actually made my make up glide on. Overall, I'm pretty thrilled with this product. Is it holy grail worthy? Not for my pizzaface. But if you have normal - dry skin you might LOVE this. I'll be keeping a bottle in my beauty cabinet for days in winter when my face is dried out from either the weather or chemical exfoliators.

About reviewer (515 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I use the Clearly Sheer for Faces 50 spf version. I like that this spf has an expiration date--i won't buy an spf if it doesn't have a clearly marked expiration date. The 2 oz Face versions of this spf are only about $6 at my local Walmart Market, BUT FYI PEOPLE: the big bottle beach versions of this spf have the exact same ingredients, so you could get more for your $$$ by buying the bigger bottle. I actually like the smaller bottle though, because it has a pump that squirts out the perfect amount for your face. The texture is very light and slightly moisturizing. I'd say it's about as thick as a light facial lotion, so it's not a liquid SPF. It doesn't provide a matte finish. If you have oily skin you might find this too moisturizing and shiny for you and if you have dry skin you're still gonna need a moisturizer. Even if you don't use a moisturizer you should probably put something with at least some antioxidants in it on your skin before you apply this stuff. According to Paula Begoin's "expert" review this spf IS stable though (i checked cause Coppertone isn't always reliable when it comes to their formulas). Anyways, I have combo skin (currently on the oilier side) and I'm having issues with this stuff making my makeup less matte and prone to smearing, but I seem to have issues with most spfs (if it's not one thing it's another). It seems like decent spfs are hard to come by so this one seems worth trying if you're looking for one.

About reviewer (119 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Other, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I use the spf 50 clearly for the face in the blue bottle and it is the best stuff ever!!! Does not irritate my skin or turn white and greasy, it is like a light lotion. Works much better than my 50.00 dollar sunscreen I bought from my dermatologist. This stuff is a miracle!!!!!

About reviewer (271 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This provides a moisturizing (not greasy) sun protection for general usage. If I'm going to the pool, I wear something more heavy duty w/ a higher spf (this is spf 30), but for daily usage, this works great. This is one of the few non-physical SS that doesn't allow my melasma to worsen. The small spray bottle and the larger bottle are the same (same ingredients in the same order) = cheaper to purchase the larger bottle. The larger bottle does need to be shaken prior to usage. No breakouts, no exacerbation of rosacea or melasma, enough moisture for me to use in winter too :) Yup - will continue to use this stuff :) 03/07/17 - of course since I love this stuff, it has been D/C. However, the blue label version also spf 30 is an almost EXACT dupe as far as texture, wearability, nice under MU. Will do separate review.

About reviewer (624 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Overall a good product. I didn't use it on my body rather than my face. Good moisture, a bit of white cast due to the mineral sunscreen.

About reviewer (184 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

LOVE this facial sunscreen!!! Finally found a SS for my face that won't break me out, not oily, not drying and won't break the bank! I'm seeing ppl complain about the smell. Well, I have one helluva sniffer and this isn't that bad IMO. Goes away in seconds! I love the feel of this lotion! I wish I could find a night time moisturizer with this same texture for my combo skin. Wears extremely well under my Youngblood loose mineral powder foundation without causing it to break up at all. I've tried many HE & LE SS, although there are many I really liked, so many have the ingredient SODIUM CHLORIDE in them and that breaks me out badly!!! Gonna buy the SPF 50 version of this today as well ;) ~EDIT~ Sadly, I did start breaking out. Skin cleared after I stop using this.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairSilver, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I'm taking this back. When I wash my face it feels raw and red. Does not burn going on, only in conjunction with my cleanser. I don't think it made me break out but it also has a super strong sunscreen smell. Not a fan.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us