2.4

Created with Sketch.
11 reviews
18%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Thick and chalky. Chalkier than my foundation, which surprised me because I thought BB creams were supposed to be lighter than foundation. Smells chemically. Average coverage and spreadability. Packaging is not recyclable, which makes me sad that this will sit in a landfill for 500 years when it wasn't that good of a product.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

When I started using this, it seemed perfect for summer -- it was a dead-on match for my skin, evened things out nicely, gave a nice, natural-looking finish, stayed on reasonably well. So when I went on vacation, packing light, it was the only foundation-type product I took along. I wound up with a face full of zits, at least 1 new one every day, despite using salicylic acid moisturizer. Rarely have I had a product break me out so thoroughly -- and I'm hardly a kid; I'll be 60 in October. I shouldn't have to worry about wrinkles and zits simultaneously. Back to Physician's Formula.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I got this product in a sample kit for a half marathon I ran this year. I thought the concept was a great idea, as it provides a bit of cover, fast to apply, spf15 and moisturizes. After 2 days of applying this product on my face, I started breaking out. I couldn't use this product anymore as I kept breaking out so I threw it out. I hate throwing out products as I believe in using everything till it's end. This product did not work good on my skin, it made it worst. I would not apply this on my skin. This product may affect you differently. Cheers,

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was looking for a moisturizing BB cream that would help me cover some red spots i have from previous acne while protecting my skin from the sun. I´ve had great experience using Neutrogena products so I decided to buy this one considering it was well priced. I found it did nothing to cover my scarring or any imperfections I have, actually it seemed to enhance them. It made my skin extremely oily, even when I applied powder afterwards it didn´t seem to stay for longer than two hours so I had to constantly reapply. It stained anything my skin would touch and didn´t do anything to cover or better my skin. I would definitely would not recommend this product or repurchase. Mybe it could work for dry skin but my oily T-zone really didn´t benefit from using it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

The number one complaint I have with this product is the scent. Amazingly over-fragranced. Decent color balancing, but little coverage. This product cause large painful zits to form on my skin which I NEVER experience.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am on the fence over this product. I would give it 3.5 stars if possible. First off, I am fair skinned and have issues with redness, tend to have patches of acne on certain spots, and am 21 y/o. Oily/combination skin. I was using the Garnier BB cream for a while but it was so runny I decided to try this BB cream. PRO: I was first attracted to this BB because it has SPF 30, and many of the other creams only have 15. However, it also tends to apply just like sunscreen. CON: Application is difficult. It is the complete opposite of runny and is very thick. I would NOT say that it is cakey at all, but it is not easy to blend. If you don't mind spending two minutes trying to get the layering done perfectly on your face, you will probably love this product, as the end result is very nice. PRO: It leaves a very dewy complexion, which I thoroughly enjoy. CON: It is also relatively sheer, which was surprising since it was so thick. The sheerness/dewyness of the product left my skin very shiny and my zits popping out instead of covering them. I applied some loose powder on the t-zone areas, my chin, and my cheeks, and the shininess definitely calmed down. However, the redness of my zits did not go away. I give it 3.5 stars because the end result could be wonderful for someone without severe redness or patches of very red acne on the skin. If you have that, go with the Garnier. The end result was quite nice everywhere (after powder) except for the acne splotch I have.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Wow. I'm surprised at the negative comments about this product. Of all the BB creams I've tried (and I've tried almost everything out there, drugstore and dept. store), this is the only one I love. I have NW20 sensitive skin, and this gives me just enough coverage to even my complexion. Yes, it's thick, but it melts right into my skin. I use just a touch of moisturizer before applying, but that's more habit than anything. There are no shiny "flecks" here. It has just enough glow to give a subtle, luminous finish. At my age, the last thing I want is a shiny face. The scent is pleasant, and it disappears as soon as I finish applying. I don't use powder but I do use cream blush. Considering the price, this is a home run for me. Will definitely repurchase when I run out. Update: 12/18/2014. I have a new love: Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer. I've done a review on it.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I like this product! I have Neutrogena brand loyalty, so I decided to try this out. It's a thick, shimmery formula that goes on almost like a paste. It does have a sunscreen smell, but that goes away after applying. I massage it into my skin like I would any moisturizer and then let it dry for a few minutes due to the tacky, wet paint feel it has. Then I set with a lightweight (Neutrogena!) powder and I look slightly dewy, and glowy and like I'm not wearing anything! It stays in place for hours too. It does triple duty as a moisturizer, sunscreen, and light coverage for imperfections. Perfect for the lazy makeup wearer. I don't recommend this formula for those who have dry skin, or would say to moisturize first, wait 10 minutes and then apply it. Definitely wouldn't recommend to those with oily skin either - due to the shine factor. It won't hide your zits or any dark scars, so be prepared to use a concealer with it or choose another formula.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

My skin: Combo and sensitive to many fragrance ingredients and essential oils. NC30ish, warm yellow and olive undertones. I thought this might be right for me - light coverage, slightly dewy, spf etc, but it didn't work out at all. The first thing I noticed about this BB cream was the strong scent. . then my skin felt uncomfortable and slightly itchy. I use various scented products with no issues, including some by Neutrogena, but this was just too strong. I could smell it for hours and it wasn't pleasant either. If you have sensitive skin or are sensitive to scent in general - beware of this product. It also contains chemical sunscreens ingredients which can be irritating, and this is only made worse by the overpowering perfume. In addition it contains methylisothiazolinone, a preservative that can be irritating. I don't know for sure which of these ingredients (fragrance, preservative, sunscreens) made my skin react - but regardless, I stopped using it. Besides the scent and irritation/reaction, I found this to be more oily rather than dewy and also difficult to blend. It's literally like putting on a thin greasy sunscreen. I tried the Light-Medium shade and it was very peachy pink and didn't look natural at all. Since it is sheer it may work for some skintones, but on me it just oxidised and looked like orange lines, not an attractive look. I found it dragged on my skin and looked cakey despite being so sheer. And yes, the shimmer is also odd - it barely covers anything just adds shimmer? I just don't know what Neutrogena was thinking. My skin is good and I only need something to even out some mild redness around my nose and this only draws attention to any flaws. I really can't think of anything good to say about the actual BB cream itself - the packaging is nice and sanitary though - but that's it.

About reviewer (399 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

For my skin, this bb cream (it seems more like just a tinted moisturizer) wasn't suitable. It has shimmer flecks(!), it doesn't cover much (other bb creams do help cover my acne scars, while this one doesn't), and it was shiny (not good for my already shiny oily skin, but maybe good for dull, dry skin). The light to medium shade was pretty accurate in color. Overall, just like an average tinted moisturizer to me.

About reviewer (23 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us