3.5

Created with Sketch.
36 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Packaging is beautiful but the coverage is really sheer, you could attempt to build the coverage but that's not really an option for me as the shade 'porcelain' is about as far from Porcelain as you could possibly get, its orange straight up and oxidizes even more orange. It's not even an 'I could get away with this when the rest of my makeup is on' product, this makes me look absolutely ridiculous EVEN when I mix it with white foundation yes WHITE I use either Manic Panic Dreamtone or NYX Foundation Mixer this product is still at least 4 shades too dark for me, if you're a pale princess steer well clear.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I LOVE this foundation! beautiful and smooth and stays on most of the day for me! I wear it usually everyday and i have quite bad acne but it has great coverage!

About reviewer (7 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This a lovely foundation, I really enjoy the finish it left and paired with my cheap-o Natural Collection pressed powder it was a beautiful flawless but natural look. Why the low review? The goons working for L'Oreal need to look up the definition of 'porcelain' because my NW10 pale skin looked orange after using this. It's closer to NC20 or perhaps even NC25 as it's even darker than Bourjois CC cream in 31 and suspiciously close to MAC's Face & Body N1, which is super dark for me. So, if any of you are sporting the 'pale + interesting' look then look elsewhere because this was not made for us.

About reviewer (72 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I received this as a gift and put it away as I use Living Nature and like natural makeup but on a whim I tried this and I love it. Goes on so silky smooth and lasts all day. I think it does not make me look older, not going into my wrinkles (what wrinkles !!!!!) Beige rose suits me very well and I would buy this again. Handy little sized bottle to travel with.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is a very good foundation so I was a bit surprised at not very favourable reviews of this but then I looked at the age of users and I think it explains why this product would NOT be much liked by a certain demographic. I am over 35 now, I need a foundation that will just even out the tone without any trace of cakeyness, will last reasonably long throughout the day and will not make me look older or more tired than I already am and is IMPERCEIVABLE - and that product is exactly that! I am about to take it off my face after 8 hours wear so I can give a honest review after I rekindled my passion for it and I am half a bottle (or rather 2) down. I've used more expensive counterparts in the lightweight, evaporating oil foundation category from the L'Oreal Group (so Armani, Lancome, YSL) and also from Chanel. This foundation is not much different from them, I would even dare to say it is very similar. The only gripe I have here is that I need to mix two colours to get my own tone and that the colours are all very pink based (which I did not have to do with any of the above or Dior's foundations, fyi I am 020/20 in Dior & Chanel, BD40 in YSL - all quite yellow based) - so I am mixing 100 Porcelain with a darker but also more pinkish/peachy 110 Ivoire Dore. A bit of a faff, but it is ok, giving the quality vs price. It works perfectly over my current sunscreen (the foundation has spf 18 but I never trust my makeup with my sun protection as I use so little) which I cannot say about 3 times more expensive YSL Encre de Peau. No pilling, just a very smooth application over a double layer of sunscreen (and I always double layer my sunscreens!). It has alcohol like all of the above but I did not see any drying effect on my skin, no blocked pores either. I have not detected any fragrance (unlike Chanel) apart from a very delicate whiff of alcohol. I did not have any reaction to the alcohol either. I love that I can apply it with my fingers and that the bottle does not get messy (hello YSL) plus the bottle, albeit made of glass so not perfect for travelling (if I need to take that kind of foundation to travel with me I'll pack Chanel's Perfection Lumber Velvet) is small, elegant and with it's frosty glass finish, dare I say, quite expensive looking. Then is the look on the skin - as this is what I and others see on my face rather than the name of the brand - people cannot see that one is wearing a Dior foundation - all we care about that it goes on smoothly, does not gather in pores on my nose, has a sheer coverage, is undetectable on the skin. I like setting it in the middle of my face with some loose powder but I would still need to blot 3-4 hours later on my t-zone. Luckily it does not rub off, it still stays pretty much the same on my skin. Mind you - I have a reasonably greasy sunscreen on my face underneath the foundation so I would say it keeps shine at bay for quite a long time and does not look dry and cakey right at the beginning (only Chanel looks so good right from the start, this is 1/3 price of Chanel...), just after application, which I hate. It is a very sheer coverage indeed. It is also weightless, I do not feel it on my face at all. It does not gather in any lines or as I've already mentioned does not go into pores. If you are into full coverage, even-out-everything-so-that-I-have-to-sculpt-my-face-from-scratch foundation try a similar Marc Jacobs foundation (the one with a pipette applicator, will make you look flat like a pancake but any concealing afterwards will be redundant) but I like to use a minimal amount of makeup just to enhance and improve a little not mask my skin completely, as that looks simply awful when you are older. So to recap - with Nude Magique you'll need a concealer but any L'Oreal concealer (especially the brush-with-a-pen ones) will be fine. This foundation also looks good as the hours go by and the oils from my own skin/sunscreen melt with it. It looks like my own skin, only in an improved version. I got exactly the same results from much more expensive brands so if L'Oreal colour selection (especially if you are yellow/olive tone) works for you - go and get it.

About reviewer (218 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I am very fair skinned with a yellow undertone but I fake tan so I bought the darkest shade. It was a lot darker than I thought it would be even when I swatched it but aside from that its a fairly good foundation in terms of wear and the finish of it is really lovely however I'm not a huge fan of powdery finishes (still thought id try it) which is what it gives. I was expecting it to be powdery like the Maybelline fluid touch foundation which it is but it doesn't dry as fast and it has more coverage than the maybelline one. I might try it again one day in a lighter shade but if you have dry but acne prone skin which is what I have I probably wouldn't wear it too often as it can cling to dry patches or accentuate eye bags.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this! I never used to wear foundation much but this product changed everything for me because it's super easy to apply, light to wear and looks great. I literally pour it into my hand, pat it over my face then smooth it over with my fingers and I'm DONE, it needs barely any blending! It's watery so it's really easy to spread. It only provides light coverage but that's all I need. I have super oily acne-prone skin so I hate the feeling of oily/cakey make up as I can just feel the pimples brewing underneath. This works perfectly for me as it isn't at all oily and it feels like wearing nothing. It starts to wear off a bit during the day so I pat some Rimmel Stay Matte powder over the top in the afternoon.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I recommend this foundation to those with oily skin and those who require only small coverage as this foundation is light and sheer, but is enough to provide a light layer of coverage. Moisturize and exfoliate beforehand as dry patches will show up, overall awesome foundation and totally recommend, hence the messy and runny application.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have oily skin so this is not good for me to use during the summer as it slides off within minutes but it works really well in the winter. Easily to blend with fingers and sponge, slightly streaky with brush. Will not purchase again as it is tested on animals, otherwise the product is okay.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I recently purchased this foundation as id heard so much about it, and was intrigued by the great reviews vs the bad reviews. I wanted to try something that was a little lighter coverage for Spring and Summer, and thought this would be a lot like my Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation (which i have recently run out of), plus it was on offer for £5 at my local Superdrug store. I have a strange skin type - dry-combination, very oily forehead, acne prone, sensitive, with redness - and I'm very pale. I'm an NW15 in Mac, so chose Porcelain, as porcelain always suits me perfectly. Oh how i was wrong! first off, the colour was very orange for my skin. Not just a little off, but way off - nowhere near porcelain at all! it was at least 3 shades too dark for my skin. The formula was very strange. You had to tip it upside down with you finger over the cap, and then place it on your face with your finger. They recommend you rub it in with your hands, but it didn't work for me. Even a brush was just not good. When applied, I had to use over 8 drops on half of my face for one layer, and it didn't cover anything at all - when you think that you get 10ml less than the standard foundation and its super watery, you'd expect it to work with only a couple of drops! 3 layers and it still didn't cover any redness or acne and my pores looked bigger than normal. When i looked through the photos after I finished my makeup, i had to edit them a lot! my skin was horrible and so dark. Even with using my Rimmel WMU Foundation, which is also light coverage, covers up my redness and neutralises my acne and the photos look so good! When the foundation wore off (after about 3 hours) i had absolutely none on my forehead and it came off in blotches. it just didn't look good at all and i really didn't feel confident wearing it. I definitely wouldn't recommend this foundation unless you have perfect skin. Just didn't do anything for me. I'll keep sticking to my Rimmel Foundation from now on. Check out my review and subscribe to my Youtube Channel! http://youtu.be/O3DBLkWkBBg

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairRed, Kinky, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us