4.4

Created with Sketch.
100 reviews
79%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range
$68.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I really wanted to love this with all the rave reviews, however the bronzer barely shows up on my NC30 skintone, which is odd because my complexion is not that dark. I have light- light medium skin tone, with yellow under tones. The bronzer barely shows up. I think if you have a lighter skin tone this could be lovely. CT does make another bronze and glow set for darker skin tones, but that one is too dark. She needs something in the middle. The highlighter is nice, but I like her contour wand better.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I have the shade Light To Medium. The bronzer is neutral toned so it works for both contouring and bronzing on fair skin. The highlighter has a satin finish, it's not very intense but it looks smooth on the skin and doesn't emphasize texture. Both powders are finely milled and blend easily, they don't look patchy at all. I really enjoy this product.

About reviewer (197 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinVery Dry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Pricey - yes, but it's worth it! There are lots of reviews for this online in the 'medium/light' but not as many for the 'medium/dark', so here's my take... Firstly the bronzer is a medium-brown with warm undertones and a slightly gold hue to it. Honestly for me it's a game changer, it's so smooth and unlike the vast majority of bronzers I've used before, the quality is just in a league of its own. Also it's not super-pigmented meaning I can apply lightly and build-up as needed - just as good for day wear as it is building it up for a dramatic evening look. The highlighter here is a beautiful orange-gold slightly shimmery shade and again the quality is fantastic, you can actually see the difference in both when comparing to an averagely-priced highlighter or bronzer. Great for highlighting cheekbones, under brow area and also inner eyes. Time-wise I get around 7-8 hours from both the bronze and the highlighter before they start to fade. I can see this lasting a long time. For reference I'm nowhere near the bottom of the pan yet, despite having this in heavy rotation (almost daily use). Would be fantastic if this could be brought out in more shades as I feel it would appeal to a much bigger audience. For example my work colleague (roughly NC35) who got me onto this doesn't use it in winter when she is at her most palest, as she falls somewhere between the 'dark/medium' and 'medium/light' but not squarely into either. For me dark/medium is just perfect all year round and once (and IF) I run out I will be repurchasing. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Teeth Whitening Treatment - 'Any Brand' - Activated Charcoal Powder 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Athletes Foot Treatment: 'Margaret Dabbs' - Foot Hygiene Cream 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Foot File/Callus/Heel Treatment - 'Microplane' - Colossal Pedicure Rasp Foot File 9. Ingrown Hair Treatment - 'Priva Shave' - Post Hair Removal Treatment 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (566 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I SO wanted to love this after reading many, MANY positive reviews. However, I think this product is slightly overrated, especially since it is so freakin' pricey! On my NC25 skintone, the bronzer does not really show up, which means I have to layer it over and over again to make the bronzer noticeble. I do love the undertone, which is not too cool or warm. The highlighter was a disappointmet for me as well. I did not really notice it, so I think it is more of a highlighter that you apply on top of a liquid highlighter.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Olive

HairBrown

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

This was among my first Charlotte Tilbury purchases because if anything one has to have the iconic Filmstar Bronze & Glow, right? Not so sure. First of all the Old Hollywood glamour packaging is amazing, I wish all products had such a beautiful appearance. Also it's rather practical to have bronzer and highlighter in one case for ease of use. The bronzer has some luminosity to it which I find rather flattering, doesn't translate as shine on the skin. I'm happy with it. The highlighter doesn't really show on first swipe but if I'm not careful I look like tin man upon the second swipe, it's rather tricky to find the fine line. Overall I can't say it's my favorite bronzer or even less my favorite highlighter but I can work with it. It's just too much to spend on a product that's not holy grail. From now on I'll stick to my Tom Ford Terra bronzer - which might not be that much more expensive per gram - and the BECCA Moonstone liquid highlighter that look best on me.

About reviewer (952 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The bronze shade is really pretty on my very fair skin (I’m an NC10 in MAC and I’m between the 0 and 1 in Charlotte’s Magic Foundation - the 0 is better tone wise, but the 1 has a better undertone for me). It’s not too dark, does not pull at all orange, and looks very natural. The problem is the highlighter. It’s not workable on me. It’s just too dark and too gold and does not look natural. For this alone I probably wouldn’t repurchase because I can find equally nice bronzers without having to pay for a highlighter I can’t use (the Hourglass Bronze Light is very similar if anyone else is looking for something else that would work for fair skin). The Kevin Aucoin contour light is also really good for more of a contour instead of a bronzer.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I have been using this product for contouring since it was first released and it is perfect for my pale NW-10 coloring ..... what I appreciate is that it does not turn orange or look dirty .... I use the bronzer to make my cheekbones look sharper and it also blends nicely with my blushes (I only use Charlotte Tilbury blushes as they are my HG.) Unfortunately I do not use the highlighter portion, but still worth for me to purchase as the bronzer does make a wonderful contour.

About reviewer (457 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I just love this stuff. I don't understand how it works to make my face look both thinner and more glowing, but it does (I just followed the instructions on where to place it). It smells divine and refined and the packaging is worthy of a jewelry box.

About reviewer (34 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Curly, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I'm a big fan of Charlotte Tillbury's line, and this is probably my favorite out of all her products. Filmstar Bronze & Glow has a stunning retro rose gold case and contains a tawny caramel bronzer on one side and a champagne highlighter on the other. The bronzer is not entirely matte; it has a beautiful satin finish. The highlighter is pigmented and shimmery, but not overly frosty. Both powders are finely milled and super blendable, with an almost creamy texture. My skin tone is around MAC NC40 and I can use the bronze side with a bit of a heavy hand as a super natural bronzer/ contour for day to day, or apply both for a night out. I apply this using the Chikuhodo Takumi T-5 highlight brush, but any tapered brush would do.

About reviewer (279 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Tan, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love a lot of CT products and mostly think they're worth the splurge. This one, not so much. I chose the Fair/Medium shade for my NW20 skin because the Medium/Dark would be too dark. This doesn't do much bronzing or glowing me. The bronzer gives a subtle glow, but nothing amazing or unique relative to other bronzers. And the lighter shade doesn't really brighten or glow, at least against my skin tone. I tried it as a setting powder in the hopes of making it work but it doesn't really have any benefit there. The powder itself is finely milled and lovely, and of course the packaging is elegant and glamorous. I wanted it to work but it just falls flat for me.

About reviewer (140 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us